Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: boating - what a depressing hobby.

Re: boating - what a depressing hobby.

I have just discovered that the "Right Boat" has now become available again.

I'm a little suspicious.

Why do you buy a boat in November of 2006, then have it for sale again in the yard you bought it from, only 4 months later?

What was wrong with the boat?

The Minister of finance is still happy with the original "Right boat".

It is a Tri-hull custom ally plate. 18' with 100 HP yammie 4 Banger on the rump.

I suspect that the buyer may have found that it goes like a submarine and is trying to offload it to some other poor bugger. But I suppose the proof of the pudding is in the eating. I may have to throw a refundable deposit on it and take it for a test run.

Just in reviewing the new pics of the boat I noticed that the trailer rego is still NSW. The boat yard originally said that the boat was sold to a bloke from either Townsville or Cairns. One would assume that you would have the boat and trailer regos put into your own name in 4 to 5 Months.

Something smells a bit fishy here........

Pics below - Opinions?
    Last edited by Sea-Dog; 09-04-2007 at 05:00 PM.

I see several members here have a Minister of Finance..methinks you need a bloodless coup and become a dictator in residence.

Hey Pinhead, I asked the boss if I was allowed to do that.

She just gave me a withering look.

It dedfinately seems a bit suss to me. I would tell them i am interested and i want it for a day to test it. If they don't let you i would go elsewhere. A mate of mine bought a plate boat without a test ride and it is a very wet boat, maybe if he had of tested it first he may not have bought it.
    Marty.

Sea dog,

The owner of that boat is the owner of this site www.spearfishing.net.au
    He recently found out after buying the boat he can no longer dive due to his ear.

Just thought id let ya know.

Quote Originally Posted by Luke G View Post
    Sea dog,

The owner of that boat is the owner of this site www.spearfishing.net.au
    He recently found out after buying the boat he can no longer dive due to his ear.

Just thought id let ya know.
    Thanks Luke, I have left a post on that site asking Ryan to contact me.

I assume that Ryan is the one - correct?

Cheers, Ross

Yeah mate.

Reading the beginning of the email reminds me of my neighbour. Exactly the same kind of hassles for months until the one fine day dawns perfectly. Not a breeze in the air, the boat is fixed, the car is working ...... the man is going fishing with the whole family and everybody will have fun......

So the wife, the kids, the dog, just about everything is thrown onto the boat and it is hooked behind the 4wd. It is at that point that the one wheel hub seperates from the axle due to the excessive weight placed on it. (plus it wa srusted but we will not go in to detail now)

When I came around the corner, the neighbour was standing next to the boat in the driveway busy doing up the bbq. The kids, the wife and the dog was stuck in the boat sitting on dry land and still in his drive way. Today was the day he was going to have a nice time on the boat - even if it means that water is an optional extra.

Dad wanted the family to have fun in the boat and today they will have fun in that boat. They had lunch in the boat that afternoon and apparently they had a good time.

The boat was sold the next day as is and where is.

To this day I do not dare mention that event to him or his family.

Wessel

When my wife complains, I tell her "Fine, I'll sell the boat & fishing gear and take up smoking, drinking and pokies"

Boat is cheaper and healthier.

Nice bit of psychology there, Luc! Must make note to self........
    Interested to know how the Samurai goes Sea-Dog, rather liked the look of that one myself!
    Damn shame for the previous owner, like a bit of spearfishing myself, would be a very bitter pill to swallow, having to give up an activity you love passionately. Best of luck to him.
    So many trueisms in this thread, sometimes I think, the more I think I know, the less I actually know!
    Cheers to all.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I could list what I spend a year on boating but that may depress me...better you are depressed than me.
    I think the cost of fuel in a trip in your boat would run mine for the next 2 years, am I getting close ?

It's only money
    Peter :cool:

It's not that bad Peter...a day down the pin usually runs out somewhere between $50 and $100, obviously dependent on how much I travel.

boat - bring on another thousand..... or 10

Someone told me years ago a boat was a MONEY PIT.
    And agree with former. If its not one thing its another.
    If its not something wrong with the boat its the weather and so on and so on.

We all need to whinge about something and it may as well be our boats.

Have fun everyone while you're out fishing in your money pit--- we wouldn't be anywhere else.

LOL
    Ronnie

I race drag bikes now as well as the boat, all of a sudden boating looks cheap. Leigh
    Last edited by lee8sec; 10-04-2007 at 10:02 AM.