Thread: First timer - Bass and Yellowbelly - need to invest in a brag mat

First timer - Bass and Yellowbelly - need to invest in a brag mat

G'day Ausfishers!

With the bay blowing up for the week we needed to get some sort of fishing action so we decided to give fresh water fishing a go. Off I trundled to the local tackle shop to buy an assortment of lures. I ended up with a bunch of Tungsten Vibes, an assortment of spinner baits and one Jackall (at $25 I could only afford one). With all of the lures and my trusty Shimano Squidgy Spin and Shimano Sienn 2500FB loaded with 8lb braid combo I headed off to my local freshwater spot just before sunrise. When we got to the waters edge my wife cast out a Vibe and BANG! After a bit of a fight she had landed the first bass of the day, first cast! A few quick pics and back in the water he went. A short time later and she is on again. Another bass quickly admired and released. Meanwhile, I am casting and casting, trying all different Vibes and Spinners, wth nothing. Time to break out the Jackall! Five casts later and BANG!!! ZZZZZZzzzzZZZZZzzzz- TWINK! That feeling of the line going totally slack is sickening. One brand new Jackall is now swimming around somewhere in the gob of a big fish. We decided to give it away for the morning as the sun had gotten high and the fish off the bight.
    Day 2 - Again at the water just before sunrise. A bit slow to start off with nothing happening for the first 20 minutes or so until my rod bent over and after a brief fight I had my first ever bass. Unfortunately we forgot the camera this trip so we got a couple of photos with the mobile phone and the fish was duely released. Another 10 minutes go by and BANG! ZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzz!! This is a brute of a fish! With a bit of splashing surface action I realise this is no bass!! After a minute or so I have a big yellowbelly up on the bank. Boy was I pleased! It had absolutely inhaled the lure (Tungsten Vibe), so after a very delicate lure extraction not to hurt the fish, and a few quick photos, back in the water he went. I was so stoked to see him disappear into the depths with a few powerful strokes of his big tail.
    All in all a very enjoyable entry into the world of freshwater fishing, even if I did lose a few lures to snags and that one that got away!

Lunatic

Re: First timer - Bass and Yellowbelly - need to invest in a brag mat

nice fish lunatic, would be good fun on that setup

nice work mate,
    seems as though North Pine is still producing the goods.

Good work for your first go!!! I've fished fresh water all my life (nearly all) and still haven't got a yella. Good work again.

"It's not a sport if the other team doesn't want to play"

F.R.

Brisbane Roar 2010/2011 Champions!!

great report and pics mate shame about the jackall it does hurt but just part of fishing. wish they weren`t so good.

cheers john
    Work to live
    Live to fish

nice session mate with some top fish thrown in. Losing the lures hurts but no point buying 'em if we didn't risk losing them to a decent fish - thats the way it goes

G'day Ausfishers!

Bdowdy - You're not wrong mate! Top fun on light gear!

Yellahunter - Very observent mate! North Pine is producing, but it is a pity about the state of the bank, with rubbish and crap left everywhere. I wouldn't mind getting some of us Ausfishers together to do a bit of an emu walk and cleaning it up a bit. I know next time I go out there I am going to take a garbage bag and pick up the rubbish that I come across.

Sarg - I am fully stoked with the Yella. What a little ripper!

Silver19 - Yeah, it does hurt losing the Jackall. I don't think I will get another one as I reckon the Tungsten Vibes are just as good, for half the price.

Murph77 - You hit the nail right on the head there mate! That's fishing! But I guess losing lures gives me an excuse to go to the tackle shop

Cheers for all your comments fellas. We are probably going heading out again in the morning so if you see us stop and say g'day.

Lunatic

First timer or not thats a nice session mate! Some excellent fish caught. I bet there'll be plenty more freshwater reports coming fom you now

Tim.