Thread: Threadfin in brekky creek

Threadfin in brekky creek

Caught this fella near the mouth of brekky creek on saturday night.
    Measured 65cm and weighed 3kg.... only a little bloke compared to the 2 monsters sharkbaithoohaha picked up! But he still made a pretty good account of himself on 6lb mono line. Believe it or not he took a crusty bit of frozen surf worm (leftover from a previous trip) which i just had out sitting on the bottom while i was flicking plastics on the other rod.

Re: Threadfin in brekky creek

Nice threadie Steve. Looks like a few showing up. Would have been good sport on the light outfit. Cheers,

Richie

not having a go at you mate but has anyone noticed the increasing amount of people throwing these guys straight in the esky

now i wouldnt mind a feed of salmon but there isnt even bag limits on them qld wide only region specific

Do many get caught on plastics in the Brissy River?

Quote Originally Posted by oztrav View Post
    not having a go at you mate but has anyone noticed the increasing amount of people throwing these guys straight in the esky

now i wouldnt mind a feed of salmon but there isnt even bag limits on them qld wide only region specific
    Mate in the scheme of things there aren't that many actually caught.I can tell you for a fact that there is no chance of fishing these guy's out,another reason I don't give too much away in regards to where they're caught.I have a friend who visited a certain fish market around the vicinity of the Gateway,where he saw 32 bin's of these fish.The average weight of each bin was 32kg and each bin had 3 fish.I have been catching a lot of juvenile fish also which indicates that they are breeding in our river also.
    I for one love the taste of thes fish and eat most of what I catch.What I don't keep goes to my relatives.Of the 3 I got last week I only have 3kg left in the freezer.I have no problems if they bring in bag limits as they are there for a reason.The fact there aren't any may be due to the fact that they are NOT under threat.This sis just my opinion.Cheers.

Still a nice slamon there mate, i bet he went pretty hard on the light string. Top eating too

nice threadie mate, any on 6lb is a good effort