Big bass on my b-day - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Big bass on my b-day

Re: Big bass on my b-day

Quote Originally Posted by sarg View Post
    P.S Agree with the others though about not giving the location of the dam, and blacking photos seems to be a growing trend.
    I agree with the guysdoing this on secret land based spots ie: a favourit jack haunt.
    but doing it for a boat location in an impoundment is silly, as i said before the bass move around anyways and the dams are so big that one would struggle to find the exact spot the fish was caught in anyways,

the other thing is that most bass are released thus its not a big problem, jacks on the other hand especially down here on the GC are a bit of a prized catch so telling every killk and grill idiot where the spot is would be detrimental. I see heaps of these yobbbos every night when i fish down here at currumbin, all bait fishos and everything
    goes into the bucket.

anyways good fish, maybe next time share a dam or location

I guess each to their own Yellahunter, but I also don't see the need for secrecy when fishing impoundment. If everyone adopted the attitude of not sharing info, this website would become less helpful. I always try to provide as much detail as possible except exact location and believe in supporting fellow aushfishos.

Mods: Perhaps this thread should be moved to freshwater fishing photos, as no report or information is given, apart from a few butchered photos?
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

thanks 4 the comments, I might as well give the location away, its Baroon-Pocket dam, a local dam to the sunny coast.

God some of u guys can get up tight, it really spoils the moment.

fair go some of you guys, if someone wants to keep their location a bit hush hush then so be it, no need to slay him. i know plenty of fisho's who have given up posting reports here altogether because of what basically is the harrasment they receive over where and how....

We all have spots we don't wish to share... right? The 'Who sahres wins' philosophy in fishing needn't apply to location...

Happy Birthday champ. Some good fish in that lot!

Theo
    TT

Leigh77, Why is it a waste?

It's perfectly legal to KILL a bass or two. It's only a waste if the fish ends up in the bin.

When I'm camping at a dam, I regulary keep bass for the table.

PS great capture. My PB is 59 cms also from a dam.
    Last edited by Luc; 05-04-2007 at 09:38 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

Happy birthday mate. Nothing wrong with keeping impoundment bass of any size thats what we pay sip's for and don't let anyone tell you otherwise and this is coming from a c&r fisherman. Massive fish, but a decent photo on a brag matt or another legible measure is worth a thousand words when your making a claim to have landed a fish at the pinnacle of their maximum length. Also when you hold fish try to keep your elbows tucked into your sides as it helps to put it into perspective.

Some of you blokes need to take a step back and have a look at yourself, there is no need to take it so seriously. No one likes being told what they can and can't do. Maybe you should make positive suggestions and let the kid form his own opinions rather than ramming yours down his throat.

Hi scoocer,
    Looks like ya got a top present.Congrats m8.Fish of that size don't come along very often.

I reckon you've been given an bit of a hideing on this thread that is not warranted.As you've done nothing wrong.

When I first arrived here I also enjoyed sharing my experiences (As you do) with others.I had first hand experience with getting alot of PM's with regards to people wanting information,As wheezer mentions.Infromation I worked VERY hard for.Fending off critters,Fishless trips,And walking ALOT of kilometers,Not to mention the precious time,To find those elusive honey holes.

Why should I do all the hard work ,Then have old m8 turn up and reap the rewards of my effort without doing a single thing to source it on his/her own.He/she dosen't wanna walk 5kms in blistering heat through the bush,Pulling out ticks and leeches,Only to find there's no suitable water on the other side.He just wants ta turn on the puta,Type a few words,And turn up to spot X.

It got to a point where I asked the moderators to remove my posts.I was warned by another Ausfish member who had also experienced this.It made me realise how nieve I was.

I post now only on locations I visit.Locations that I have no problem sharing info on.You must remember :- Ausfish is about sharing info.If it's stuff ya don't want people to know.Simply don't post.I don't post my regular haunts for the above reasons.This is a decision that we are all entitled to.(Post what we want) Within Ausfish guidelines.

I have enjoyed reading your posts,And seeing your smiling face.Keep em coming,Just remember this thread.

I was able to work out where you were,Even with the blackouts.Not the exact spot.But the dam.Yes.As a regular reader your posts,I was able to narrow it down quite quickly.Every word you type is being read by LOTS of people.And your past words/posts always remain.

I advise you to take on board what has happened in this thread.I think it will build character in you..........Keep ya head up m8..........Regards.
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.

Double post.

Thought I'd make use of this wasted space.

To emphasise the why some spots are kept secret...Today Kyle and I walked around 10km to check out some water we thought had the goods...I walked until my feet were literally bleeding...And as every step was taken,A pain that couldn't avoided,Was rammed home...It's amazing what the Australian Bass can make a passionant angler do...

As we began the long walk back.The pain was eased by the great session we just experienced,But it couldn't be ignored.Maybe I should get some decent footwear?

We earned this spot today...The old fashioned way...With blood,Sweat and tears...Maybe not the later,But the first two were definantly present.It's a great feeling to be rewarded for hard work.And I can't wait to tap this spots true potential.
    Today another X was put on the map .
    Last edited by Hardb8; 06-04-2007 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Double post.
    The underlying spirit of angling,Is that the skill of the angler,Is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish,And that the latter is entitled to an even chance for his life. Regards, Hardb8.Kickin tails and razin scales since 1979.

Mate I ment no offence about you keeping your place secret just commented that it is a growing trend. I've read your posts before and knew what dam you often fished . Keep posting mate don't get bummed out.

Last edited by sarg; 06-04-2007 at 07:14 AM.
    "It's not a sport if the other team doesn't want to play"

F.R.

Brisbane Roar 2010/2011 Champions!!

Ausfish Platinum Member darylive's Avatar

.............. dam hey? Well I am glad that ....... dam is producing good fish. So good it doesn't need any sponsorship?

I agree ausfish is about sharing information, but i think alot of people have been very hard on this kid!! Clearly he was very excited he has just caught his biggest bass on his birthday and you all slam him for not giving you any information. Pull ya head in guys, let him enjoy his fish. if you wanted any more inforamtion then send him a PM thats what its therfore.

Quote Originally Posted by Luc View Post
    Leigh77, Why is it a waste?

It's perfectly legal to KILL a bass or two. It's only a waste if the fish ends up in the bin.

When I'm camping at a dam, I regulary keep bass for the table.

PS great capture. My PB is 59 cms also from a dam.
    As said on this forum many times...its ok for people to have their own opinion, and that is mine. Fish like that (and I DO believe the young fella in regards to the size) are far too rare, and deserve the chance to swim again.

As for eating them, well once again (only my opinion) I do consider this a waste as why would you want to eat one of them when there is 2 juicy pieces of rump steak waiting back at camp. Theres better things on the menu then Bass.

nice fish mate,, was it taken in the upper reaches of one of the rivers?

Murray