Thread: NO TFPQ stand at Tinny & Tackle Show

NO TFPQ stand at Tinny & Tackle Show

I went to the Tinny and Tackle Show at RNA Show Grounds yesterday I didn't the see a stand for The Fishing Party QLD. EPA and GBRMPA were there along with and the rest of anti-lifestyle environmentalists!

For the last 5 months I have sat back and Bit my tongue and watched all the good work done by Shane Boese and all the Team members of Brisbane South Branch and Committee members apparently going slowly down the drain. During this time we have missed heaps of opportunities to input on issues affecting the Rec Anglers in our region.

The Brisbane South Branch had a great team of people and now it seems to have all gone to waste - You would be hard pressed to find a team of more dedicated people to the cause and under the current leadership there seems to be a loss of direction.

I have since been advised that from the time of the resignation of Shane Boese, Jeremy and Myself late last year, there have been NO meetings of the Brisbane South Branch of TFPQ! It appears that all the new Chairman of Brisbane South Branch can do is have his name written into Party prepared media releases and bitch on Ausfish (not to mention call a poll about the closure of the branch!) There is a bigger community out there other than Ausfish – How many SE QLD Fishing party members have been asked about or invited to meetings to discuss their concerns over the prospect of changes to our local fisheries and bay management – I know I haven’t and neither have other members I have spoken to!

Then there are the press releases on other web sites and in the local papers - but too slack even call a meeting of the Branch! What happened to the Annual General Meeting of Brisbane South Branch which was due in February - another missed opportunity to keep The Fishing Party members informed and motivated and have them feel part of the team.

At the show yesterday I was astounded at the number of People that would stop to talk Shane and myself and ask what’s going on with the Fishing Party Queensland because they have received nothing or heard nothing since late last year. Gee what a coincidence! And those people were not just fishermen, they were also Corporate and Business people who are and have been supporters of TFPQ and the challenges faced locally in Moreton Bay.

Here we are with the biggest things happening in Moreton Bay with the Marine Park Review as well as the Inshore Fin Fish Review coming out later this year. Due to the recent inaction of the Brisbane South Branch and lack of exposure by its Chairman, the MBAA has taken over from the Fishing Party here in Brisbane in championing the cause of the average rec fisherman. Not a good look for the TFPQ!

MBAA wouldn't even been born if it wasn't for couple of TFPQ people who got out and promoted the issue of Moreton Bay Marine Park, put it in the spot light and got the public pumped up over the Greens wanting to propose 30 to 50 percent closures of Fishing in the Bay.

I think the Fishing Party QLD only cares about what's happening in the North Queensland and doesn’t care in what's happen in South Queensland region unless there are votes in it.

To the Chairman of the Brisbane South of The Fishing Party - you have had your poll – do we still have a local Branch, and if we do when is it likely to start doing something!

Dissapointment doesn't even comes close to how I feel
    Mitch
    In life, start off wrong and you'll finish wrong. Put just one skeleton in the closet and you'll have to put another one in to hide the first, and so it goes.
    But start off right and you'll finish right. There's no comeback when you stick to the truth - and no skeletons!

Re: NO TFPQ stand at Tinny & Tackle Show

Mitch...I do not think anyone from Ausfish is interested in TFP after the slanging matches that went on here and it appears may be about to re-ignite. If you feel that strongly, why don't you stand for the position.

I am still interested, the principle is sound, if they fall down we have no hope.

I'm still interested too, and there's plenty of Ausfisher's who would support a political fishing representative in SEQ, if there was one.
    The Tinnie & Tackle was very well attended by the public, I thought for sure TFPQ would have been there. The exposure with an election due, and the timing with the MBMP review underway, it would have been a great opportunity.
    Are the MBAA the only ones carrying the flag for fishers in SEQ? will they be enough?

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    Mitch...I do not think anyone from Ausfish is interested in TFP after the slanging matches that went on here and it appears may be about to re-ignite. If you feel that strongly, why don't you stand for the position.
    Pinhead, you are correct in that there have been some recent posts on ausfish which have not put TFP in a good light. This is unfortunate and is now in the past. You are not a member of TFPQ (by your own admission). I have seen nothing positive written by you regarding the political process. All you have done is criticise others. I suggest you either get involved yourself, or stop your criticism of others.

TFP still has a mojor role to play in the political decision making process involved with issues at the State and Federal government level which may greatly influence our fishing right in the future. There are some major issues going on right now in SEQ which TPFQ should be involved in. If it is not involved, then it will have little relevance to the fishers of SEQ and might as well be renamed TPFNQ.

If it takes some prodding and poking to get something happening in SEQ, then so be it. There has not been much, if any, initiative come out of the South Brisbane branch since Shane's resignation. There has been very little information, no publicity. I think the members of TPFQ which reside in SEQ have a right to know how their interests are being represented. What is being done to promote our interests?

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Fair dinkum Mitch, threads like this must have the anti-fishing green groups claping their hands with glee. If you have a grievance, take it up with the Fishing Party leadership.

IMO, public airings like this & previous similar threads tend to white-ant the good work being done by TFPQ. What it's doing to all those uncommited rec fishers out there is anybody's guess - at a time, with a forthcoming election, we should all be pulling together.

I agree with FNQ - if TFPQ goes down or isn't supported, our great sport of fishing has no hope.

Cheers - Lou
    Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!

I think it is a far question to ask.

Why was there nothing at the show ? The marine park authority was there. The alliance was there, why no Fishing Party ?

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy View Post
    Pinhead, you are correct in that there have been some recent posts on ausfish which have not put TFP in a good light. This is unfortunate and is now in the past. You are not a member of TFPQ (by your own admission). I have seen nothing positive written by you regarding the political process. All you have done is criticise others. I suggest you either get involved yourself, or stop your criticism of others.

TFP still has a mojor role to play in the political decision making process involved with issues at the State and Federal government level which may greatly influence our fishing right in the future. There are some major issues going on right now in SEQ which TPFQ should be involved in. If it is not involved, then it will have little relevance to the fishers of SEQ and might as well be renamed TPFNQ.

If it takes some prodding and poking to get something happening in SEQ, then so be it. There has not been much, if any, initiative come out of the South Brisbane branch since Shane's resignation. There has been very little information, no publicity. I think the members of TPFQ which reside in SEQ have a right to know how their interests are being represented. What is being done to promote our interests?

Jeremy..if people want to get involved in a political party,...good luck to them but don't expect not to be criticised..does that mean that no one can criticise Beattie unless they are a member of the ALP or Howard unless they are a member of the Liberal Party...not bloody likely. If people want to come on a public forum and write about their political beliefs and internal squabbles then I will make comment as I see fit..without permission from you or anyone else. I would not join any single issue party..as a matter of fact..I would not join ANY political party.

My belief is that the MBAA has a far better chance in achieving anything in the Moreton Bay issue than TFP. If TFP is not open to any form of criticism then perhaps its members should refrain from posting on a public forum.

Whoooo Hoooo Greg running for P.M. ????

LOL...that will be the Honorable Mr Greg to you thanks.

not likely..I have this dislike of pollies of all persuasions..must be from the 2 years I spent working in Parliament House.

Would take more then a couple of stiches in the side of the head to make your Look Honourable heheheh

I have the stitches out now..certainly did detract from my boyish good looks.

Jeremy, I couldn't agree more.

why this political infighting stuff constantly gets aired on a fishing forum beats me, Shouldnt this stuff be aired in the forum it needs too? like the party in question internal forums?

personally im interested in hearing about the Fishing Party position on various issues, but not interested in seeing all their dirty linen aired like this but if you guys insist on airing it in a public forum then dont expect not get criticised, agree with Pinhead. That last thread on chairmanship was a brain fart and this is another one.

With what goes on here i wonder what really would happen if the Fishing Party ever got someone elected for real, I suspect it would be eaten alive by the big party political machines as it cant even deal with an apolitical forum responsibly like ausfish,

Just waiting for the next brain fart to happen,

mike

Just back off the plane..after 3 days in Brisbane.attending, among other things, the tackle & tinny show.

Spent quite some time with the MBAA guys and appreciate and support the direction they are heading.

Also ran into Dr Fernades(GBRMPA) at the MBAA and later the GBRMPA stand. What she was happy to acknowledge is the great difference in the bay rezoning compared to the GBR rezoning...to whit....fishing groups are being involved, and allowed to be involved in the early stages of planning. Anyone think this is just a coincidence?

Mitch is quite right to point out the efforts of Shane and his team and just the plain hard work involved, not to mention cost. Airfares, accom etc are all private expenses, which I am happy to pay for but as to being able to fund and man a stand, this needs a lot of help.

We also had very productive meetings with several of the board of the Outboards Manufacturers association and the conveener of a major political party so all, in all, a pretty busy couple of days.

As to why no stand>>>> No money!!

Efforts at present are about raising sufficent financial resources so we can do the job effectively come October....all the chest banging in the world is going to achieve nothing if we can't back it up with mainstream press come election time.

TFPQ is currently working on a major newsletter which will be hard mailed to every member....this alone is a $2000 exercise...anyone want to tip in??

Lots going on, lots to do and a focus on the end game....the election.

In the meantime, as I have said before, MBAA are the best vehicle for communicating your thoughts on the bay. They are a lobby group and they are involved in the process and have resources and knowledge, use it.

TFPQ's job this year is to gather votes and these votes will in turn empower our lobby groups.

KC

PS : Great show, lots to drool over and having never seen a proper bream comp weigh in it was an eye-opener