Thread: 680SF QLD Rego HF680Q?

Question 680SF QLD Rego HF680Q?

Does anybody know the history of a Haines Hunter 680SF with QLD Registration HF680Q that is for sale at John Crawford Marine?

My old man is still hunting around to buy a boat and has his eye on this one, but he is in Rockhampton and is trying to dig up some information before he makes a trip to Brisbane.

The boat has what looks like black Ausfish stickers on it, so I am hoping somebody here traded it in and can give us some background information.

The rig looks like it is in top condition, but he is worried about a couple of things;

1. The head looks like it is plumbed into the boat. Is it just plumbed to pump straight overboard, or is there a holding tank?

2. What is the history of the engine? It is listed as an 'Evinrude 200Hp V6 2 stroke' but says nothing else about engine hours, but it does say it has had a replacement power pack. What does this mean? Any idea on fuel economy? The engione is his biggest worry actually.

3. This is one of the original 680SF hulls that has the engine pod that doesn't form part of the bottom of the hull. What is the difference between this and later models as far as ride etc. goes?

Anything else worth considering with this boat? Any idea why it has sat so long at the dealer? I am thinking because of the engine.

The unit looks to be in very good condition and he is keen to get to Brisbane to look at it, but is chasing some unbiased information first and with the Ausfish stickers on the boat I am hoping somebody here can help out. Thanks.

Re: 680SF QLD Rego HF680Q?

HAve you asked Crawfords to either fax or email the stat sheet on it to you?

Quote Originally Posted by Marlin_Mike View Post
    HAve you asked Crawfords to either fax or email the stat sheet on it to you?
    No, because he wants some impartial background information before contacting them. Not saying that what he gets from the dealer will be wrong, but given the Ausfish sticker he thought he might get some information here first before speaking to the dealer.

dear rat catcher l have a 93 680sf, had the pod filled in years ago lifted boat over an inch at the back at rest makes the boat over 7mts long

Mate check your pm.

Mate give me a call on 0427031480

what about haines 585 ..????????????????

Not sure if this will work ?

There should be an attachment of the boat off the John Crawford Web Site .
    Searaider 2

Interesting trailer

That boats gotta be over 2 tonne Maybe the picture is cropped and doesn't show the breakaway system.

Looks like it has electric brakes Greg ...... You can see a battery behind the jockey wheel.

Rat Catcher, I also have a 93 model 680. Good solid hulls and will handle pretty ordinary conditions and never put a foot wrong. The pod set up is better in the latter model where it goes all the way to the water line. This gives it better buoyancy at rest and more stern lift underway. To counteract this in the older 680, trim tabs are a must and make them a great boat underway. Still suffer from being a little arse heavy at rest, so you have to watch your weight distribution or you get wet feet through the self drainers.

I also had a 200 evinrude ..... they are a very thirsty engine. Plan on using at least 60litres an hour at cruising speeds. Mine averages about 1.5litres per kilometer. Replaced my 200 evinrude with a 225 4 stroke about 3 years ago and have not looked back, and now get about 0.9litres per kilometer. I replaced the evinrude after blowing the Power Pack and Stator for the second time, so maybe they have a habit of doing those.

They are a great boat, but check the engine carefully and also have a good look at the trailer, cause those electric brakes just don't work with salt water. Expect it to weigh around 2.5 tonne all up.

rat catcher what sea saw says about needing trim tabs is right hanies put the fuel in back of boat in the early models so check it ,also the engine are thirsty on fuel they just tend to go bang if rev over 5000rpm alot.Weigh can very on models mine go's aprox 2.95t when full.

G'day Ratcatcher,

John Crawford Marine has a very good reputation for honesty and selling good quality boats.

Everything is tested, including motor compressions, and if it isn't up to speed they expect you to either fix it, or declare it.

Always be careful when buying second hand, but at JCM you will know exactly what you are buying.

I'd second Grand Marlin,

I've had a bit to do with Matt over the years and bought my outsider off him a few boats back.

They're generally straight up, and the boys are trying hard to only keep quality stock.

Chat to the mechanic down the back for any goss on the motor, he will have tested it.

C.J.

Quote Originally Posted by bj View Post
    Mate check your pm.
    Not sure where the PM went, but I didn't get it!

Quote Originally Posted by Searaider 2 View Post
    Not sure if this will work ?

There should be an attachment of the boat off the John Crawford Web Site .
    Yes that worked. Same pics as what are on Boatpoint. Have seen them thanks.