Thread: First Boat First Post

First Boat First Post

G'day All

After a few months of searching new and used boats we decided to go for a new boat. I just put an order in for a Freedom Escape 530 with a 90HP E-tec, Bimini and side clears.

It will be used id say 50% family boat to entertain the two kids 7 and 5 and 45% moreton bay fishing and ,maybe 5% offshore fishing when I get some experience.

It is our first boat so i hope it will do what we need.

We were looking at some 4.8m boats but now and glad we decided on the bigger 5.3 as I think we would out grow a 4.8 fairly quickly

I am hoping to pick the boat up in 4 weeks will post some pics when she is in the water !!!!!

so much to do in so little time now...licence and need to do some retaining wall and build a carport for the new boat !!!

Re: First Boat First Post

Gday striking welcome mate. Sounds like a good size boat for the family.

Look forward to seeing the pics and reading your reports (good or bad).

If ya mates want to go fishing with you i think you need to get them round to your place for a working bee.

Avast ye matey!

thanks a good call RE the working bee.... its so crazy it might just work... will let the boys know how it is

Should be an excellent first boat. Good size and reasonably priced for what you get. I've got the 6.4m version. Have Fun.

mirage,

The 6.4's are a nice boat wish I could of stretched the budget but 5.3 is probably big enough for my first boat

what is it like sleeping in the smaller boats overnight? because I can fit inside the cabin the i'd imagine it would be quite uncomfortable with all the swaying side to side ?

Hi striking,

Congratulations on you new boat. I've heard great things about the Freedom Escape. So much boat for a very reasonable price.

You do get used to sleeping onboard. I hear that most people have trouble getting used to the sound of water lapping against the hull moreso than the rocking.

While it's nice having the option to sleep onboard, you may find that you seldom do. The kids, on the other hand, will get heaps of use from it. It can get very hot and stuffy for the kids having a nap though. If you're at anchor, prop the front hatch open a few inches and a breeze will flow through to keep the little ones comfy.

Enjoy it mate - it will change your life.

Regards, Brad.

Striking,
    I had it up at Mackay and the Whitsundays Sept last year. Weather was very average so we only slept on it one night in a sheltered bay on North side of Hook Island. Was absolutely fantastic for the kids but as Brad says the slapping of water on the hull is very difficult to get used to. The missus didn't enjoy it much (sleeping on the boat that is). I just had another few Bourbon sleeping pills and nodded off! There was 4 of us too so I slept down the back on a swag.

I think you will find you will use it more for shelter from the elements on day trips. If you were anchored off shore I reckon you'd have to be an old sea dog to get any sleep. However the occasional overnight at say Tangalooma or in Pummestone(?) Passage would be a big winner with the kids.

Mirage,

Did you tow it all the way to mackay ?? if so how was the trip?

as for sleeping overnight I'da say it would just be the occasional one ouside tangalooma wrecks

I can't wait to burn over to the islands man i'm looking forward to it!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by striking View Post
    Mirage,

as for sleeping overnight I'da say it would just be the occasional one ouside tangalooma wrecks

I can't wait to burn over to the islands man i'm looking forward to it!!!!!!!!
    I hope you mean "inside" tangalooma wrecks not "inside" the wrecks themselves but inside the sheltered bay they provide

Welcome to the site mate. May you enjoy many hours of pleasure..........pick your days though as the kids can be easily put off by a bumpy ride and the bay is not kind.

Yeah, the lapping of the water is more annoying (to me) than the rocking of the boat. Trouble is, as skipper you can't take a drink to help you sleep. The deckie has a licence but she's one of those wives who won't let you drink unless she is....that way we'd both be drunk in charge Best bet is to fish till you're dead beat and that way you get to sleep easier.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Yeh, towed it from Sunshine Coast to Mackay. Trip was OK just used heaps of fuel in the Pajero but it was worth it.
    As Kingtin says, pick your days. It gets very nasty on the bay. Don't want to scare the wife and the tin lids.
    Enjoy.

Trip was OK just used heaps of fuel in the Pajero but it was worth it.
    Mirage,
    Just curious to see what kmtrs to the litre you got? I towed a savage 540 from Canberra to Airlie last year and averaged 2 and a half k's to the litre. (series 60 Deisel)

Ta

Quote Originally Posted by WHALEOIL View Post
    Mirage,
    Just curious to see what kmtrs to the litre you got? I towed a savage 540 from Canberra to Airlie last year and averaged 2 and a half k's to the litre. (series 60 Deisel)

Ta
    Seems excessive? My Whittley sea legend 650 (2.1 TON) pulled by a prado 360 gets 5km to the litre. That's at a steady 90kph in 4th gear.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Seems excessive? My Whittley sea legend 650 (2.1 TON) pulled by a prado 360 gets 5km to the litre. That's at a steady 90kph in 4th gear.
    Yeah. I thought so Kingtin. I had a strong headwind from Parkes to Miles which didn't help. I might have to get some thing with a bit more power. as I plan to head up that way again shortly.

thanks