Thread: Tweed River Fishos

Tweed River Fishos

Going to Tweed River this weekend (Friday through to Monday). Off shore chartetr trip planned for Sat (hope its not blowing) and then the rest of the time fishing the rock walls etc. Staying at the Homestead Caravan Park as is usual in our camper trailer (no boat this time) and just wondering if there is much happening at the moment with bream, flatties and the like from the the rock walls.
    Any info appreciated.
    If nothing happening it doesn't matter because it doesn't get much better than siitting on the rock walls on dusk with a feed of fresh seafood, a red and the deckie with the lines in "just in case".
    Coffee and a port later and who knows what might (there is sooooo many things I could say but I won't) happen.
    Last edited by Raesen; 27-03-2007 at 07:44 PM. Reason: addition

Re: Tweed River Fishos

Have a good time mate.

Won't belong now before I'm camping next door at the Hacienda.........first time for me and looking forward to there just being the 4 of us instead of the heap of kids I normally have in tow.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Kev
    Your first time heh - wont be your last - It is the best.
    We go there regularly and mate its heaven on a stick.
    Enjoy yourselves when you go and good fishing.

Pete,

The Tweed used to be my old hunting ground, although I always fished it from my canoe or my other boat.

Should you get the chance, try a live bait just up and around from the servo on the old highway at chinderah, you will see the remains of the old bridge. Good spot for jewies at night as well a bream.

hope you get a good few days fishing.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Thanks Roz I'll give it a go.

Mate if your into using hard bodies and not scared of an early start (4am) give me a yell. I'll be heading down to hastings point to hunt jews off the rocks on the Sunday morning if the seas go down
    Aussiefool

I really do appreciate the offer. However.
    The early start is not a problem. Hard bodies not my go but not a problem. Rocks at Hastings Point is a problem. I have a crook back (broken) and my idea of rock fishing is on the grass verge behind the wall in a folding chair.
    If I went with you you would not need lures or bait because you would spend the morning directing the helicopter where to pick me up from the wall or in the drink.
    I'll be at the Chinderah pub at lunchtime and if you are there I will gladly shout you a couple of beers. Just look for me and I'm sure you will see someone with a crook back - thats me. It's no drama as there are people a lot worse of than me. Thanks again and I DO appreciate the offer.
    Hope you catch what you are after and have a great morning. Cheers Pete
    Last edited by Raesen; 28-03-2007 at 03:00 PM. Reason: correction

Quote Originally Posted by Raesen View Post
    I really do appreciate the offer. However.
    The early start is not a problem. Hard bodies not my go but not a problem. Rocks at Hastings Point is a problem. I have a crook back (broken) and my idea of rock fishing is on the grass verge behind the wall in a folding chair.
    If I went with you you would not need lures or bait because you would spend the morning directing the helicopter where to pick me up from the wall or in the drink.
    I'll be at the Chinderah pub at lunchtime and if you are there I will gladly shout you a couple of beers. Just look for me and I'm sure you will see someone with a crook back - thats me. It's no drama as there are people a lot worse of than me. Thanks again and I DO appreciate the offer.
    Hope you catch what you are after and have a great morning. Cheers Pete
    No drama Pete,
    In that case may I subjest the rock wall between the pub and the place that you are staying at with live bait, or as Roz said the 1/2 bridge across from the servo or even down streem a bit on the sand banks
    As for dropping into the pub for a drink sorry I'll pass as I no longer drink and they would charge way to much just for a glass of water

Quote Originally Posted by aussiefool View Post
    Mate if your into using hard bodies and not scared of an early start (4am) give me a yell. I'll be heading down to hastings point to hunt jews off the rocks on the Sunday morning if the seas go down
    Aussiefool
    would you mind if i tagged along. i live at cabarita and know the rocks at hastings back to front

Some nice fish to be caught from the tweed river. Monster whiting up to 50cm lurk that river good luck
    It's all part of the fishing experience

Quote Originally Posted by charlie bouy View Post
    would you mind if i tagged along. i live at cabarita and know the rocks at hastings back to front
    Sure thing mate, pm me your Phone number and I'll give you a bell and we can workout the details. Just gotta hope this wind drops in the next few days
    Aussiefool

Hi there
    We will be at Noosa North Shores for the long week-end in May, and I am sure the boat will be following us. Can you tell me where Hasting Point is and do you have any suggestions on where to go with the boat?

Sandra
    sandyd

Hastings used to be my favourite location for spinning off the rocks but i'll be buggered if i can get a spot there anymore no matter what time i get up.
    Sandyd youre at the other coast, hastings is south of brissie.

Went to the tweed a fews weeks ago fished the end of the seaway early mornings and for the first hour caught a few tailor land based and a few bream.
    *** What realy gave me the sh ts is that after the first hour a spear fisherman jumped in at the end of the seaway and drifted up and down along the seaway right in front of me stoping and looking up. And yes the fish went of the bite straight away. He did this on two of the mornings i fished there NO CONSIDERATION FOR OTHERS AND I WAS PRAYING TO SEE A SHARK .

lifestyle, i have had a few sessions spoiled by those blokes.My big rule when going fishing at night is to not shine lights on it at all and then once you have berleyed up a bit and are starting to get a few interested the divers come along.
    It does p**s me off but i guess they have just as much right as us to be there.