• Show
Clear All
  • philip_thomson
    • May 2004

Noosa River Trevally

Have come back from a week up at noosa

the fish were in the woods bay but there was a lot of water between them

armed with a stradic 2500 loaded with 8lb superbraid and 16lb sunline Rock flurocarbon leader on the t curve 7ft 2-5kg stick

i went and gave it a shot

the fish were only hitting speratically and they were very hard to get to take a squidgy stealth prawn

eventually i got slammed just as stumps were going to be pulled

the fish took us from 1 end of the bay to the other and after a good 10minute struggle

the fish was in the boat

went 69cm 3kg

Cheers Phil

anyone know the exact species?
    Bring on the Marlin!!!
  • ffejsmada

• Dec 2006

Re: Noosa River Trevally

Mate that'a a great fish. I don't know what specie that one is but it's a bloody beauty!!

I was fishing Woods Bay sat arvo, same thing, fish boiling everywhere, no takers but eventually hooked a huge trevally, after ten minutes, pulled the bloody hooks.

Went out sunday arvo, not as much action but picked up a 54cm Broad Barred.

There's been Queenies, Tailor, a few species of Trevally, and of course Broad Barred Mackerel around the Noosa River the last week or two.

Comment

• ffejsmada

• Dec 2006

Phil,
      Can you post anymore photos of that fish?
      It's hard to tell what it is with it's mouth like that.

Comment

• imnotoriginal
        • Aug 2003

Cale cale trevally perhaps? It's got the shimmer of a diamond but not really the shape. I think they have another name, can't remember what it was though. Would have been great fun I'm sure.
        Joel
        sigpic
        Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Comment

• ffejsmada

• Dec 2006

Yeah I reckon you're right Joel, I heard there was a good one caught last week.

Comment

• frankgrimes

• Nov 2006

Longrakered Trev?(Did lower jaw stick out?) - Bloody great fish whatever it is! Well done!

Comment

• bludog
              • Oct 2006

Thats a great fish. What time did you catch it???

Bludog

Comment

• theVan
                • Jul 2005

good fish.....just shows....persistance counts!
                Dont Blame me....... I voted for Johnny!
                GO THE BORG!

Comment

• jackextracter
                  Ausfish Gold Member
                  • Nov 2005

looks like an adult diamond trevally if you had another photo could help.

Comment

• imnotoriginal
                    • Aug 2003

Longraked trev was the other name for a cale cale, cheers frankgrimes.

I think it's either that or a long-nose trevally

Joel
                    Last edited by imnotoriginal; 26-03-2007, 07:42 PM.
                    sigpic
                    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Comment

• mickstar001
                      Ausfish Gold Member
                      • Dec 2005

I know what its called.....................a beauty!

Mickstar

Comment

• philip_thomson
                        • May 2004

here is another photo of it

it was hooked about 6pm
                        Bring on the Marlin!!!

Comment

• BAR UP
                          Ausfish Gold Member

• Aug 2006

Hey philip, well done lad. Go the Bunnies 2 on the hop.
                          "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
                          "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
                          Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Comment

• jackextracter
                            Ausfish Gold Member
                            • Nov 2005

Originally posted by philip_thomson View Post
                            here is another photo of it

it was hooked about 6pm
                            Na mate not a diamond trevally its a cale cale trevally i think.

Comment

• ffejsmada

• Dec 2006

Yep, not a Longnose, definitely a Cale Cale.

Comment

Working...
                              X