Noosa River Trevally
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Noosa River Trevally

Noosa River Trevally

Have come back from a week up at noosa

the fish were in the woods bay but there was a lot of water between them

armed with a stradic 2500 loaded with 8lb superbraid and 16lb sunline Rock flurocarbon leader on the t curve 7ft 2-5kg stick

i went and gave it a shot

the fish were only hitting speratically and they were very hard to get to take a squidgy stealth prawn

eventually i got slammed just as stumps were going to be pulled

the fish took us from 1 end of the bay to the other and after a good 10minute struggle

the fish was in the boat

went 69cm 3kg

Cheers Phil

anyone know the exact species?

Ausfish Platinum Member ffejsmada's Avatar

Re: Noosa River Trevally

Mate that'a a great fish. I don't know what specie that one is but it's a bloody beauty!!

I was fishing Woods Bay sat arvo, same thing, fish boiling everywhere, no takers but eventually hooked a huge trevally, after ten minutes, pulled the bloody hooks.

Went out sunday arvo, not as much action but picked up a 54cm Broad Barred.

There's been Queenies, Tailor, a few species of Trevally, and of course Broad Barred Mackerel around the Noosa River the last week or two.

Phil,
    Can you post anymore photos of that fish?
    It's hard to tell what it is with it's mouth like that.

Cale cale trevally perhaps? It's got the shimmer of a diamond but not really the shape. I think they have another name, can't remember what it was though. Would have been great fun I'm sure.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Yeah I reckon you're right Joel, I heard there was a good one caught last week.

Longrakered Trev?(Did lower jaw stick out?) - Bloody great fish whatever it is! Well done!

Thats a great fish. What time did you catch it???

Bludog

good fish.....just shows....persistance counts!
    Dont Blame me....... I voted for Johnny!
    GO THE BORG!

looks like an adult diamond trevally if you had another photo could help.

Longraked trev was the other name for a cale cale, cheers frankgrimes.
    http://www.amonline.net.au/FISHES/fi.../umentalis.htm
    I think it's either that or a long-nose trevally
    http://www.amonline.net.au/FISHES/fi...h/cchrysop.htm
    Joel
    Last edited by imnotoriginal; 26-03-2007 at 07:42 PM.
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

I know what its called.....................a beauty!

Mickstar

here is another photo of it

it was hooked about 6pm
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

Hey philip, well done lad. Go the Bunnies 2 on the hop.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Quote Originally Posted by philip_thomson View Post
    here is another photo of it

it was hooked about 6pm
    Na mate not a diamond trevally its a cale cale trevally i think.

Yep, not a Longnose, definitely a Cale Cale.