Thread: Best freshwater lure...... Ever!!!

Re: Best freshwater lure...... Ever!!!

G'day, I reckon the best freshwater lure ever, that I have used, Is the old Eddy Dambuster when they used to have metal bibs and decent trebles. Very rugged with a big action and reliable on big cod. I used to fish the slopes and plains and western areas of NSW and caught and released thousands of cod on this lure in yellow and black back in the days when catch and release was frowned upon. Best effort was 28 cod up to 15kg in the severn one morning on this lure. These days this lure is off my list cause of the quality of the bib and fittings. As far as redfin go (excellent table fish) We used to go behind Pindari dam years ago with a bare hook with tin foil wrapped around it and catch fish around the1kg mark( by the time the ranger discovered we were there and kicked us out we had some good keepers. ha ha)
    Cheers, Steve.

Hi Steve

Sound like happy days mate. I saw a post on another forum that says there are no Reddies in Pindari dam and Copeton anymore!! It was posted in December last year, these guys reckon they used to catch millions but one of 'em reckons he hasn't seen a Reddie for 5 years in there.
    Good news for all the purists I suppose.

Regards Bri

Hi Brian, Yeah that was back in the 1980's when reddies were thicker than most people would believe. Catches in Copeton and Pindari were counted in hundreds and the size was between 5oogms up to 2kg. I was out at Copeton recently and the locals say there are still a few Redfin about but numerous other species such as the Bobby cod (bobbies) are taking over and will grab a bait before anything else gets to it. No doubt the Redfin will have their day again in the future. cheers, Steve.

Hi again Steve

The Reddies will come back, they have cycles and thrive on neglect, so anywhere that gets ignored for a few years that used to produce big ones will produce them again, all of a sudden someone will go on a warter and hit a shoal, then everyone goes on that water and the whole cycle starts again.
    Angling pressure - decline - neglect - recovery - angling pressure.....

The trick is to anticipate when the right time to get back on a water is going to be...

... and get on there first

chat later Dude