Thread: Best freshwater lure...... Ever!!!

Best freshwater lure...... Ever!!!

Thanks for helping a Pom out with info regarding reddies in Aus.

In return I thought I might point some of you guys in the right direction regarding the best freshwater lure ever made for big predators.

Bearing in mind Bass, Perch etc all have a liking for similar habitats and also share similar feeding habits.. Ambush, pursuit over short ditances.

In my opinion ( this is backed up by some tremendous predator captures in the UK) The ONDEX spinner in sizes 4 and 5 is an absolute 'killer' . Although this lure is only light weight, it can be retrieved at almost a standstill and the 'thud' from the blade is absolutely incedible, it has a red wool tag covering the single treble, they are available in plain gold/ silver or gold / silver with black/ red bars.
    I don't think they are available in Aus but try some of the English supliers on the net (Harris angling are good for lures). there are some inferiour copies on the market, the originals have 'rublex' stamped on the blade.

First one on them cleans up!!! I kid you not.

Tight lines dudes, let me know how you get on.

Bri

Re: Best freshwater lure...... Ever!!!

Used the ondex and celtas, both in red, for the redfin in NSW, also made a few divers that worked well on the fish. However, the majority of fishos go for the murray cod, bass, yellowbelly, silver perch and barramundi. In the SE of Australia, the fishos like the reddies due to the fact that that they are easy to catch and are, for a freshwater fish, reasonable eating.
    With the native fish, most of the blokes use diving lures, such as oar gees, jackalls and smaller gaden lures. The murray cod and barra lures are in the 5'' to 7" range and there is a growing trend to use soft plastics.

The Ondex used to available in Australia and was a good lure but overshadowed by the Celta; anything with a bit a red is good for reddies
    Minnow lure are good but I heaps of old spinners and spoon and they still produce if people bother to use them, the you can be cast a long way and let sink guarantees some good fish.

Ha !!! best FRESHWATER lure ever. Made for big predators. Please show us some pics.
    wamjam

eddy wasp green and gold

eddy wasp is a bloody good lure i agree, but i say purple silver and black

Ive had a look at the Eddy wasp,they look pretty good, I'll buy some and give them a go, dunno about green and gold tho! my favourite colours are red, white and blue....

Thanks for the pointer mate.

Brian

My favorite Redfin lure would have to be a Kokoda SpinKing in Rainbow Trout pattern! Try SPs too as i've had some good success on em'!
    Cheers Lachlan (Wyld Fisher)
    ><))))*> ><))))*>

Thanks for that Dude, what sizes of reddies come to these lures, as I know from experience what ussually tempts the little un's sometimes faills to interest the biggie's

Cheers mate

This is only my oppinion,these two lures work best for me in my erea, at certain times of the year [spring&autum] caught cod,yellowbelly silerperch,and redfin take these lure. Different dams different lures,different times of the year different lures,the first one is the deception lure,the second is the bennet mcgath lure, my favorite, caught heaps of diferent types of fishon these lure, are very old and are not made any more, ill try to upload these pics,the third pic is cod country, some nice cod have been taken out of this hole plus big yellas.I was trying to put one photo up at a time and leave some info,but wouldnt seem to do it, any how every body have a good wekend hope you caught some fish CHEERS

heres the third pic dont know what happened there

another go

You are hard pressed to beat a masked jackal for bass & Yellas in SEQ.

there's an interesting thing? After four years I am still a new member?

Anyway Jackal masked Vibes in blue or gold

4 years is a long time to be a new member mate!! Dunno how it works but you must have to live to a good age to become a Gold member I reckon.

Does anyone know how it works coz I've been a member a couple of weeks and still haven't been upgraded either

You catch any Reddies in Queensland Dude?