Thread: Where can i take the boat camping for easter

Where can i take the boat camping for easter

Hey guys,

I have a 4.0m quintrex hornet and was thinking of going somwhere to camp over the easter weekend.. im located in southeast Qld.. and only had my boat for 3 months now so im still getting to know my way around..
    Can anyone suggest a good place to go camping? i was thinking south strady but not sure exactly where to go..

And 2ndly how would i go about securing my boat overnight?
    and how safe would my boat be?

If anyone could help.. .it would be muchly appreciated.. as im new to this and need to get organised by the long weekend

Thanks guys

Re: Where can i take the boat camping for easter

Up around the bedrooms near jacobs well is a good spot. Anywhere alond south straddy you will find good camping spots. Some you have to book and pay, I'm not sure about the spots that aren't designated camping sites. Jump on the epa website, or do a search on the web for south straddy. Haven't camped there but have anchored a houseboat there a couple of times and might be anchoring the inlaws baot up that way for easter, cause the wife isn't keen on moreton this easter anymore.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Ample opportunity at the Pin. Do you want to "rough it" or do you want a site with toilets etc?

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

its just the boys so we will just rough it..
    can i camp anywhere.. or only in camping areas?

Designated areas at straddie but the islands at the Pin are fair game but no dogs.

Mate, If you've got a Beacon to Beacon (worth their weight in gold) look along the North side of Crusoe and you should get a spot. None of the rabble that you get at public camp sites and less concern about your stuff getting nicked. You can fish off the beach or anywhere in the area and still have your camp site in view.

Anchor your tinny nose out to break the wash of the bigger boats going past and leave enough slack to allow it to rise and move with the tide but not enough so it beaches on the ebb. You'll see/feel the drop off and should aim to have your rig sitting over the edge of that when at anchor. With practice over time, you can get it so the stern is grounded at low but the bow remains in water to facilitate a push off. If you're worried about the transducer when you get a big wash from passing rigs, then anchor a little further out. That said, many rigs your size simply beach themselves. If you do that, still put an anchor down 'cause the night tides rise higher than the days.

Launch at Rudy Maas to keep your trailer safe.

Click on thumbnail for camping location.

Last edited by kingtin; 26-03-2007 at 08:30 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

The little island on the eastern end of Tiger Mullet isn't bad either but is popular and can become a little crowded plus you will be entertained by yachties bringing their little white fluffy dogs ashore by day and night. However, at night is should provide a bit of fishing and is great for catching bull sharks near the top of the night tide.

Just to the east of the huts on the southern side of Crusoe is also very good but is also very popular with limited space. North shore of Crusoe is okay as Kingtin has suggested. I don't camp there anymore because of my fear of spiders. There are really big ones there that look like small mud crabs.

I suspect that the bedrooms would be good but will also be crowded and because of the low day time tides will hamper moverment around the flats and Pandanus Island.

The north and south end of Millionaire's row(along South Stradbroke to the north of the bedroom) have some good places as does the east side of Short Island.

Wherever you decide try to be early - I think it will be crowded no matter which area you select.

Take wood if you want a camp fire. Finding something to burn is almost impossible.

Can I suggest an exploratory trip to scout out the areas? I guess that you will have to be quick. Easter is almost upon us.

I would also suggest (as per Kingtin) that you use Maas Marina to leave your verhicle and trailer - that way you will be able to relax and not worry about the security.

Hi,

Have a search under my posts for previous postings about camping on South Straddie Island. Some good detailed information there. I have never had a problem with my trailer at Jacobs Well. I will be across at the southern end of what I now know to be 'millionaires row' right trough the Easter break. So if you see a 4.2m Savage Kestrel with a black bimini, then come and say good day..

Quote Originally Posted by bootyinblue View Post
    Hi,

Have a search under my posts for previous postings about camping on South Straddie Island. Some good detailed information there. I have never had a problem with my trailer at Jacobs Well.

Mate, on no less than 3 occasions in less than a one year period I came across folk who had winches or rollers nicked overnight at Jacob's. Word has it that it's "bored locals" who get their kicks watching you try to trailer your rig without a winch, after being out all night. Having a pub next door probably doesn't help. OTOH, I reckon it's too busy a place for that kind of thing to happen in daylight but for the sake of a few bucks, why risk the heartache?

Kangaroo Island is another spot similar to what the guys before have said. Deep watera access and can fish of bank at night if the guys have a few too many xxxx for boating. Fire wood a must and I'm with Kev - Ruddy Marrs for car and trailer parking. Never left my outfit at Jacobs Well so don't know but have heard plenty that have had problems there. Enjoy the trip.

Will cop the tip about parking at Jacobs Well for extended periods then, and just count myself lucky up untill now.

Did a bit of a search on the work computer and if its as prolific as what some people make out, then they are not reporting it to the Police.

More incidences = more patrols... So make sure they are reported!!

Quote Originally Posted by bootyinblue View Post
    Will cop the tip about parking at Jacobs Well for extended periods then, and just count myself lucky up untill now.

Did a bit of a search on the work computer and if its as prolific as what some people make out, then they are not reporting it to the Police.

More incidences = more patrols... So make sure they are reported!!
    That's the problem.............lack of reporting. I have been trying to get action at Deepwater Bend, but as far as the Police and Local Councillor are concerned, there is no problem...........purely because the problem is going unreported. seems like boaties are their own worst enemy

One look at the windscreen glass strewn around the parking lot would tell the local councillor that there's a problem, but if it's going unreported then she ain't to blame and neither are the police

Problem is it can take up to a half a day to do the report. You have to go into a station (if you can find one open) and fill out the paper work.

It can be hard finding a station open outside work hours, but you're right. If you don't report it then they don't know.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Brett... Not sure when or what you last reported lost or stolen at a Police Station but half a day seems a bit of a stretch. There is no paperwork for you to fill out as the Police complete the form (technically as it contains the contemporonious notes made by them at the time of the report). Go in with all the information you have at hand inclusing, registration numberss hull numbers, Microdot numbers, photos, insurance company details and the average report shouldnt take longer than about 20 mins.

It was the Nerang station, I just won't go there again by what you've said about time booty. Hopefully I won't have to do it again, but chances are I will at some stage.

However, I have never had a problem at the Jacobs Well boat ramp.