Hey instead of shooting them which will cost a couple of dollars why not stab them to death or we could just beat them to death, maybe we could use it as a fund raiser for fisheries $1 a stab or 50c for a punch or kick. Who wants to go first?
This is exactly why we need a US style Coast Guard. I'd be willing to pay a fishing license if it helped fund such an organization. Today the navy has around 10 patrol boats operational - when during the 80's it was closer to 30.
Our defense is grossly underfunded.
Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool
Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
The big problem is our government is too weak. The countries where these illegal "fisherman" come from probably would sink the illegal fishers boat and then put them on trial whereas our government put them into a detention centre before deportation( bloody hotel and a free flight home). We need to toughen up to protect what our forefathers fought for which is the way of life we are accustomed to and enjoy every single day and to pass it on to our children.
Not wrong Shane!!
Mate, the way I see it if I don't offend at least one person a day I'm not doing my job
This country has had too many politically correct "wowsers" at the helm for too long, bring back the people who will "call a spade a spade" as far as I'm concerned.
How may times have we got to warn these idiots before they get the message?
i agree , but we dont have to pay for it ourselves, we could stop giving money to these countries, who by the way hate us anyway, and we could stop wasting money in our own country,giving grants and throwing money away ie sport ,arts ,and some others that cant be named?????for fear of upsetting people. would have enough to build a fence all the way round, and enough for 40-50 ships. bob h
This thread has restored my faith in humanity. I knew I liked your country.
Of course, you know what would happen if you sunk them right? Your naval captain would be jailed and called murderer, your country would be "asked to pay reparations to the pirates' surviving family members, your UN representative would be making "sincerest appologies" for the "reckless actions" of the naval commander (they'd scapegoat him big time), and they'd probably condemn you for contributing to GLOBAL WARMING due to the fact that the machine guns used to sink them gave off heat!!!
You don't even have to sink them. What should happen should be what you guys already have suggested. Confiscate their boats and their catch and sell them. Proceeds go to your navy or whatever and the bad guys get sent back home empty handed-- after performing community service in Australia to pay back to your country what they've STOLEN. Pick up trash along the roads, etc.
It will never happen of course. For some reason, treating bad guys like bad guys is condemned. Even calling bad guys, bad guys is not acceptable anymore.
You can always pay protection money, I suppose. You know, bribe them to stay away from your waters. The international community loves that sort of thing. You'd get the full support of the UN. They'd still tresspass and steal your fish but at least you could say you've done something about it---even though you haven't.
Sure is refreshing to read that there are still some of us left in the world. I'm going to buy something Australian today. Probably more Bundaberg ginger beer. That stuff is GOOD!
A spade is a spade. I say we start our own UN. We'll meet on a fishing boat and solve everything drinking ginger beer.
"When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"
G'day All,
The catch is kept as evidence, then disposed of.
The boats are stripped, then destroyed,
The skipper / company is charged and fined (normally just a pittance - the deterrant is losing their boat)
Nothing is sold from the boats, just destroyed. (this I dont agree with, but apparantly it is a quarantine thing for disease)
The indonesian are $hit scared of their navy, as if their own navy catches them, they literally beat the crap out of them.
They get treated with respect by our navy.
Keep in mind that most of them are actually pretty good blokes ... just doing a job ... albeit in our waters illegally.
Our navy does have the power to fire on these vessels to disable a rudder or engine - this is only a recent allowable act to stop the vessels from "doing a runner" which a lot of them do.
Most of the illegal fisherman have excellent electronics and they "tag" the navy patrol boats on the radar. If the boat comes towards them, they run for cover outside the exclusion zones.
When on patrol (northern australia, the navy boat sees heaps of these illegal fishing boats sitting right on the exclusion zone line ... again, just waiting for the navy to go - then start fishing. Apparantly a lot of the reefs they fish are just inside the exclusion zone.
Clever little buggers ....
All clever little buggers come unstuck eventually. When they get to thinking they're particularly clever, that's when they slip up on the simplest of things.
But I agree with you Pete, most of them (crew) are just trying to survive. It's the skippers and owners who should take a hammering.
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
I recently watched a show on Fox about piracy, in particular in the Mallacca straights, and I would suggest to all of you the reason why the Indonesian navy doesn't get involved in stopping illegal activities like this, or people smuggling, is because they are often behind it.. They are an extremely corrupt mob, right through to their government.
The show saaid that often it is the Navy who tips off the pirates of valuable cargo's going through the straights, so perhaps they are behind the illegal fishing too, maybe they want these blokes to come back with full cargo's so they get a cut of the proceeds ?
By the way, their Navy is r@@ted, probably 50+% of their boats are out of service or beyond repair.
Russell
Typical of the wasteful attitude of our government, where taxpayer money grows on trees and they want for nothing. Why not give the fish, after proper testing to ensure it is safe for human consumption, to the many organisations that feed the homeless and less fortunate in this country? What is so hard about sinking the ship in a place where it will make a nice recreational fishing reef?
Oops, my mistake, had a moment of common sense. I'll be right after a few hours of reading the Hansard of parliament question time to get my head together.
Great idea JewseeTHAT! I'm sure the homeless shelters could use it. Kill three birds with one stone too. 1. stop the crime, 2. improve the environment and fishery and 3. feed the needy. Very smart! You should run for mayor--of Chicago! I'd vote for you.
"When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"