Where's the water coming from?? - Page 4
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Thread: Where's the water coming from??

Re: Where's the water coming from??

Well I have finally got around to doing the REAL report.
    But bugger me Brian must have got to the camera because the video is gone and only one picture is left...and that's a picture of his blushing bride Lesley.
    Well I went around and Brian was actually amased I turn up....ye of little faith..

After I cracked the first light stubbie I told Brian we better get into it.
    So out we all went.
    The 2 girls were aimed with the soapy water spray bottles, Lesley with the stills camera and myself with the video

Brian....Didn't you make something to screw into the bunghole for me to blow into??
    Me....NO!!
    Brian...why did you want to know the bung hole size then??
    Me....To see if your gob could fit over the hole...dah.
    Brian...So I have to get down and blow in the hole??
    Me...Yep. Kiss the bum of your boat and blow.
    Brian....grunt...groan (as he gets on all fours in front of the bung hole)
    Brian.... Poooof...Pooooof...Pooof....wheeze.
    Lesley (to me)...your loving this aren't you??
    Me...yep.
    Lesley...Did you make something for him to blow into??
    Me...yep
    Brian....Poooof....pooof (whilst the girls are kinda giggling and puffing soapy water about).
    Me...Hey Brian will this make it easier.(pulling an adapter to screw into the bunghole so at least Brian isn't kissing the transom).
    Brain...screw, screw....pooof....pooof...wheeze
    Me (after about 5 minutes)...Brian, I've had enough of this caper. Follow me down to Wally. (if you know Brian's driveway you'd understand when I say down)
    Brian....You bugger. You've got something else haven't you (whilst puffing and kinda wheezing).
    A couple of minutes later we get the compressor and another gismo I made up the driveway.
    So after we get everything set up it took about 3 minutes to find the leak. We didn't need the soapy water. Brian just had to follow the noise (the noise was a bit like Brian's wheezing )

I made a gismo that will plug into the compressor, screw into the hull as well as tell how much pressure is in the hull.
    The well being of the hull was a priority so I put a pressure regulator on it so we could start at 1psi and work our way up (if we had too) and also a fail safe just incase (actually that was a 1/4" hole Brian had to hold his finger over.
    As it turned out the leak was so bad it couldn't hold 1 psi.
    Here's the gismo

I'm really peeved the video and pictures are gone because it was really funny watching Brian trying to blow his boat up.
    I'm sure everybody else would have thought so too.
    Last edited by finga; 12-04-2007 at 06:43 PM.

So where was the leak??

They never sealed the bunghole for the floor when they put a new transom and floor in.
    Water was going down between the fiberglass and the timber in the transom where they drilled the hole.
    Poor form really.
    Last edited by finga; 12-04-2007 at 09:13 PM.

Thats just lovely that is.

hahahaha ya gotta find that video and post it Finga..................... thats ****ing hilarious.......

priceless is probable an understatement. Got a good mental pic

The visuals I am having are unbelievable

I just wished there were more people and some more beer to witness it.
    Mike, the visual aids are gone.
    Thinking back Brian DID bring my cameras to me at the end. :huh:
    I forgot to mention...In all it was only a 3 stubby job.
    It's a shame I don't drink very much because I could have turned it into easily a slab job. As it was I drank Brian's stubby whilst he was wheezing.
    Sssh...Don't tell him though

PS it was a nice afternoon...for me
    Last edited by finga; 13-04-2007 at 06:21 AM.

By the way, I did go with Brian last weekend to catch some prawns and he was mighty pleased when we got the boat out of the water and I undid the bottom bung and she was bone dry in there. Just means that the old Mustang will do him for a bit longer and his dearest wifey can breathe easier knowing that she doesn't have to authorize the new boat just yet.

there must be some IT guys out there that can restore the file - I thought only the 1st character of the file was changed and you could restore it in an instant with the right software

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    there must be some IT guys out there that can restore the file - I thought only the 1st character of the file was changed and you could restore it in an instant with the right software
    Sorry mate. The cooks into that IT mumbo-jumbo and it's gooone

how about a reconstruction - give you a chance to sink a few more beers - especially if you have do retake after retake

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    how about a reconstruction - give you a chance to sink a few more beers - especially if you have do retake after retake
    I'd love nothing more then to be able to do that.
    But alas, I think Brian has cottoned onto the idea that I was taking the mickey out of him and he was my amusement for the arvo.
    Lucky we don't take life very seriously eh Brian
    Who else has a leaky boat??

Hi Finga
    Mine little tinnie leaks, gets water in it. Has no floor so the water is easily seen. Problem being it only seems to happen when it p*sses down with rain. Now I'm sure with your expertise with making gadgets, between us we could nearly have the brains to work out where its getting in, most likely take an ale or 3 to lubricate the brain to get it to funtion at its full potential

Blaze mate, for that you'd better bring the tinny and I'll supply the ale.
    Might take a while but I reckon the problem could be nutted out
    Air fares are cheep to Tassie ATM. I just slip down in a couple of weeks and sort it for you eh