Thread: Anyone been fishing the dams around Mackay lately?

Anyone been fishing the dams around Mackay lately?

Hello all, Chris here,
    well I've not been online for a while busy time of the school term at the moment (marking and all that type of thing). I was just wondering if anyone has been fishing the local impoundments around Mackay after the recent rains. I just checked the Sunwater site and see that Teemburra is up to 53% and that Eungella is up to around 58%, so I'm keen to find out if it is worth heading up to one of the dams in the next week or two, anyone got any news if the fish are active or if they've shut down after the influx of fresh?

Re: Anyone been fishing the dams around Mackay lately?

G'day mate, been too windy and wet for me. Have not heard anything about how the dams are fishing. Last january the barra were biting well at Kinchant, when it was down to 79% but the dam is at 100% now, so I reckon the cooler water will have put the fish down.

G'day Bob,
    hey by the way are you the same Bob I chatted to on Fishnet a couple of times , you live up Ball Bay way from memory? Anyway, I was thinking that all the fresh might shut the fish down but in the back of my mind was the thought that it may also stir the buggers up a little, I don't know, suppose I'll just head up and try my luck. Went up to Kinchant in January but didn't get a touch, although when my mate and I packed up and decided to head home a big bugger free jump not far from the boat (talk about bloody frustrating). Well I've been doing ok up the river round the rocks leading up to Dumbleton, in the last 2 weeks I've taken home a 41 cm Jack (my first from the Pioneer) and a 67cm Barra (both fish caught on a Rapala Rattlin' Spot), I've also caught and released 7 other barra ranging from 52cm up to 73cm so I've been having a bit of fun (all fish have been caught at dusk, right on dusk).

Anyway Cheers mate

Yep, same old far...far....bloke.
    Mate, don't tell everyone how good Dumbleton is, they will all want to come up here.

Im going to head to Kinchant tues and wed for the first time have you got any tips for me topcat

Yeah mate, don't do what I did! (lol). Seriously though I have only fished it the once, but I have been told to fish a 4-5m troll run in front of the dam wall. I hope that is some help mate, oh yeah, and at dusk throw some poppers around the weed beds you might draw a strike.