Hi Poodroo
How long since you have pump and injectors done, that would make a lot of difference if they are a little tired
Hi Poodroo
How long since you have pump and injectors done, that would make a lot of difference if they are a little tired
I would save your dollars, drive it till it dies and go and get something newer and better.
Ok i spoke to my mate at Mitsu today.
He said there is no requirement to touch your computer to do engine mods like cam and heads. (as i suspected)
He also reinforced what myself and others have said about good exhaust and snorkel. (make the engine breath)
He gave over this example: breath with your mouth open then try and breath through a straw.![]()
Saying this just doing your original engine is saving you even more money. if you where to put a different motor in it you would lose all that money already spent.
neil
Nice thought but missing the point. I did say I no longer wanted to get into the debt cycle with cars and mentioned that it is cheaper to maintain the current vehicle and keep it on the road and besides, Mitsubishi's never die.![]()
![]()
Thanks for asking your friend on my behalf HONKY DORY. I am relieved that I don't have to consider doing anything to the computer by doing some engine mods. Will be kind of exciting to see the end result after doing the mods to it.
Now to think of what cam to get![]()
![]()
the choices will boggle.
heres just a few. Larger lobes (make the valves more open), change the duration of the valves (stay open longer), make the valves open earlier.
I've got a few other questions.. When does the torque range start now??
How much are you looking at spending on the rebuild???
In my BAJA i got it to come in 500rmp earlier and it feels like a whole new car.
The only problem now is i use more fuel.![]()
Just because i give it more curry![]()
![]()
Seriously i did notice it uses less fuel (normal driving). It makes sense really i don't need as much foot to make it go.
G'day again HONKY DORY. I was thinking that 7k would probably cover the rebuid hopefully. If I could get more low down torque to come in 500 rpm earlier I'd be totally wrapped in that result. Starting this thread has given me more insight into it and I will at least be better prepared for it when the time comes. Thanks again for the advice.
The longer duration lobes that hold the exhaust open longer is what gives you more torque.
I was faced with a similar decision.. Had a 2.4ltr turbo diesel Hilux Surf and the engine was on its way out. Drove to Tassie and did some touring etc and 12 litres of oil in 7000ks made my decision easy.
So when I got back, out came the donk and manual gearbox and in went a 3.8ltr fully reco commodore engine and commodore automatic gearbox behind it (turbo 700 gearbox matched to a VR series 2 engine). Marks adapters in Vic made the job easy.
After the heart transplant, was able to go around black duck and the park down at tenterfield (cant remember the name) easily and a lot of the time in 2wd.
I also changed the transfer case to cope with the added power.
was fantastic but at 20l per 100ks started to hit me at the wallet.
Could change diff ratios etc to fix that but was absolutely fantastic off road.
Total cost including buying absolutely everything custom exhaust, Full recondition of motor and gearbox and paying someone to do the transplant about $8k
if you want more info on what can be done to a paj. go to www.outerlimits4x4.com and they have a mitsubishi section.
When you get closer give me a PM
I'll try and help with parts and even a engine rebuilder.
Poodroo,
I just got a quote for a mate who has a V6 Pajero.
His motor is a 6G72 with the symptoms of lack of power towing and blowing blue smoke on start up.
The quote i got was for a full rebuild including things like heads shaved, inlet valves reground and reseated, exhaust valve replaced, re boring/rehoneing of barrels, replacement of things like pistons, rings, bearings, plus remove and replace motor.
The whole quote come to 3000 to 3500.
Which from memory was around what i thought it would be.![]()
The only thing that this quote does not cover is if the crank or cam needs attention such as regrind or replacement.
I hope this helps in your budgeting for when yours comes closer.
neil
Thanks heaps Neil. That is way better than I originally thought. My poor old Pajero has now crossed the 370,000 klms mark and still not showing signs of blowing smoke or loss of power. Just how many more k's it is going to give me is anyone's guess but I am sure that I will just end up rebuilding it when the time comes. Thanks again for the info.