-
use of snap links
I was thinking of trying out snap links to attach to end of my leader so i can quickly change jighead and plastic or popper etc without redoing the knot. i will use a quality brand like mustad or similar. Anyone using snap links and having fish still take lures ok? thanks
-
Re: use of snap links
oh yeah i didn't mention.... i'm looking at snap links without the swivel.
-
I've asked this question before and the answer i got was "the lure will be restricted"
-
Mate I use snap links with or without swivwls on a regular basis.
Have had no problems, lure action not 'restricted'.
Just make certain the snaps are not too easy to open and the end where the lure sits has a nice smooth circular bent.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
50lb+ jigging is the only fishing I do where I don't use a snap or clip and have never had a failure. I use a big range to suite al types of fishing. With Mid to Lge lures it no problem but small [-8lb] lures and especially SP's it's a bit harder, you have to use lite low profile clips and for SP's you need it to fit them in the eye of the hook. I use fas-snap fly clips and Decoy snaps for the liteweights on which I have caught Golden Trev's to 2.5kg no problem.
Last edited by GPB; 22-03-2007 at 07:22 PM.
-
G'day ak,
I always use snaps as I like to change lures whenever I feel the need. I reckon the hassle of re-tying the leader at each lure change inhibits the amount or timing of lure changes - "aahh, I'll give this one a few more casts."
I use coastlock snaps rated at 55lb which are quite small & IMO don't adversly effect the lure action. I suppose the proof of the pud is that I usually out-fish many of my fishing mates who tie direct onto their lure. I have a habit of 'eyeballing' the snap every few casts to make sure the bloody thing hasn't opened but I must admit that would be such an extremely rare event as to be virtually non-existant.
As with most aspects of fishing - what you are personally comfortable with & gives you reasonable results, then mate, that's the way to go.
Cheers - Lou
Timber lures - just bung 'em in the water mate & hang on !!!
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Lost a metre plus Barra when he turned on me and opened the snaps...............also losta shark the same way. Use your pliers to make sure it does not open. It can prevent some serious heart ache after losing a good catch
-
thanks for your replies all