Thread: marine carpet

Re: marine carpet

Hi tassie

I picked up some more of the odour kill / detergent cleaner the other day and Mark at Rudd's in Bundall will look after you price wise if you want to try it. Its not that expensive anyway especially at the rates you use it at. Mention the site. First lot I got was a free sample bottle that lasted a fair while anyway.

Apparently they have another odour killer detergent with pyrethrim in it too. I suppose you could use it to clean up insects and jenz (if your slack) and the flies get to it before you clean up.

What could go wrong.......................

Quote Originally Posted by Chimo View Post
    Hi tassie

I picked up some more of the odour kill / detergent cleaner the other day and Mark at Rudd's in Bundall will look after you price wise if you want to try it. Its not that expensive anyway especially at the rates you use it at. Mention the site. First lot I got was a free sample bottle that lasted a fair while anyway.

Apparently they have another odour killer detergent with pyrethrim in it too. I suppose you could use it to clean up insects and jenz (if your slack) and the flies get to it before you clean up.

thanks mate i might have to pay a visit to him

Hi,

My feeling re carpet are similar to a previous response - mackerel blood and guts dried into it, hooks and lures stuck in it.

My new boat is now fitted with a non skid grey rubbery covering which I purchased from Bunnings for $19 metre. I think from memory it was about 1.8m wide. The only problem I had with it was that whilst towing the boat, it tended to lift a bit, so I have attached it to the floor using half a dozen stainless steel press studs and aluminium rivets, with devcon to stop corrosion ( if your boat is aluminium).. It is easy to clean, easy on your feet, and well priced. It does get a bit hot though in the tropical mid day sun. Pic attached.

Any boat fitted with even one rod holder should never have the carpet glued down but it should be fitted with press studs or some other means to allow it to be taken out when one is going fishing. Whats so hard about that?

In the mean time, as I couldn't afford to buy new< I got what someone else wanted ie glued in carpet so I have to clean it and get the fish smell out so it can double as a family boat too. At least this Odour Kill / Detergent is cheap and lets me do that so there is no way I'm going to rip the glued in carpet out if I don't have to.

What could go wrong.......................