Thread: watch your crab pots

watch your crab pots

hey guys.
    went out on the weekend to st helena hoping to catch some sandies. Ended up with 1 sandie , 1 coral bream and about 15 whiting. I did happen to catch 2 blokes pulling up my pots and checking them. From now i'll be keeping a close eye on them.

Re: watch your crab pots

Jeez that sux mate !!!

Is there boat still floating ???

What did they have to say for themselves ???

next time it wont. i stopped them and they had nothin to say then they took off

The scurge of society... Why can't people respect others property

I reckon a chinin would have been in order. Can you give us a description of this ###### so we can keep a lookout for him. Why dont ausfishers get like a neighbourhood watch on the water so if shit like this happens all the rest of us come to the rescue?
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

personally i would have taken their rego number and radiod through to the police, and pressed charges, only way to stop them is the big fines, also once the police have their number they can pay special attention to them in the future

get a pick of there boat next time and put it up here

Quote Originally Posted by robsue View Post
    personally i would have taken their rego number and radiod through to the police, and pressed charges, only way to stop them is the big fines, also once the police have their number they can pay special attention to them in the future
    I totally agree but what would be the real likelyhood of anything actually happening?
    how do you prove it even with photos?
    these scum are not worried by the person who put the traps there as a huge % of fishos would do nothing more than tell them where to go.
    Is a crab trap worth getting smacked around or going through all the paperwork to do something about it? I guess the thieves rely on this mentality to keep knocking of crabs and traps.

just my thougts on how these scum work

I have not yet busted anyone with my traps and honestly don't know what I would do. I suppose it would depend on how you sus the situation at the time

I have lost quite a few traps over the years and not happy Jan

Cheers Murf

Personally I think we should organize Ausfish group fishing sessions and be in contact via radio and if any lowlife attempts crabpot theiving we'll all merge in on them from all directions and scare the bajeeba's out of them.

fish hooks on the rope can help or at least hinder these scum, better than nothing.

Have to agree with you crab (pot) theives are the lowest beings.Why dont they just throw their own pots out.Love the idea of all bearing down on them at once in our boats.

Hmmmmmmmm. Yeh, I reckon I'd know what I would do.

Richie

I agree with robsue, if the police had the resources to chase these pepole, lumox makes a good point too. A picture on the site would be good, these sorts of people wouldn't know how to maintain the outboards that they probably stole and would be looking for a tow in at some stage. If an Ausfish member picks them up we could tow them to harbour the long way via the bar. Who knows the rope could slip in the break zone.

Karma has a way of dealing with them.

It's lucky you were in close proximity.

Glenn