Thread: Deepwater Jigging

Deepwater Jigging

Im looking at trying my hand at deepwater jigging with the knife style jigs however my knowledge on this style of fishing is fairly limited having never tried it before. I was after some basic information such as what are some decent brands of jigs and what range of weights and coulors should I purchase as a beginner? Any other information such as how to atach the jigs correctly and suitable jigging techniques would also be greatly appreciated.

Scotty

Re: Deepwater Jigging

Mate if the fish are down there they will hit on almost any knife jig so long as the action in retrieving it is right. I know someone who makes his own moulds and paints and decorates them all himself and he does well with them. Apparently total cost works out at about $4-5 per jig which is crazy cheap comparing to bought ones around $30 each. I lost three of my uncle's bought ones when I went out with him last because the AJ's were HUGE and outclassing his 80lb line on the day.

Last edited by Poodroo; 20-03-2007 at 06:48 PM.

Hi Scotty,

Try these websites.

www.gtfishing.com

www.deepjigging.com

It's awesome fun!

Kerrin and Cy Taylor
    Whitsundays Qld

Scottym.... GET A TORIUM they are 6.2:1 and are great we were using them on a boat i was working on outta southport at the 50's and they exceeded all epectations... kingies and sambos ohh you wont be disapointed.... go well with a live fibre 7' one piece 15 or 24 kg and 50lb braid.... Happy days.. also get some strong mono leader like 100lb jenkai or penn 10x

hey,I have mentioned this before! we used to make our own jigs out of Stainless round bar, simple as, you can make them any diametre and length you like, we also used flat bar, but round was best, just drill a hole in one end (use a slow speed) and you can drill the other end as well if you want to use the hook at one end, attach other end system, we used to get a bigger drill and sort of 'counter sink" the hole to make it easier to connect the split ring or snap swivel, you can paint them if you like, but I found the best was to leave as is, kind of a dull shine of Stainless, they work out at less than $3-00 each, and almost free if you can "scab" some Stainless rod.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    hey,I have mentioned this before! we used to make our own jigs out of Stainless round bar, simple as, you can make them any diametre and length you like, we also used flat bar, but round was best, just drill a hole in one end (use a slow speed) and you can drill the other end as well if you want to use the hook at one end, attach other end system, we used to get a bigger drill and sort of 'counter sink" the hole to make it easier to connect the split ring or snap swivel, you can paint them if you like, but I found the best was to leave as is, kind of a dull shine of Stainless, they work out at less than $3-00 each, and almost free if you can "scab" some Stainless rod.
    Gday Noelm

are you talking about 10mm SS bar at 300mm long or so?

I would be interested to see some photos

Do you have the link for what you have posted before?

Cheers Murf

I'd like to see this as well. Just curious how it is done. Do you paint them, or put eyes on them?

After doing a little bit of Kingy fishing this way I cant tell you how much fun it can be. Sometimes a fair indicator of how your day will be.

Im with Murph. If there is a cheap way I want in. Nothing worse than donating $20 to oversized Kingies.

Especially if it works.
    Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?

hi all, I do not have any pictures, but I might be able to dig something up for anyone interested, you can use any size bar you want to give you the weight you need, we ised for deeper water 12mm and thinner for shallow, 6mm makes a really good garfish imitation, works a treat for all garfish eaters, and we found the best of all was not painted, just left "natural" easy to drill holes, but you need a good drill and go slow with the speed, the counter sinking with a bigger drill was used to make installing the split rings or swivel easier, some had eyes and stuff painted when we were feeling a tad "artistic" but most were just cut, drilled and used, I will see if I have any photos hanging around, but is a very cheap way to make good strong jigs.

thanks Noelm

I am on my way next door to dads shed to sniff out some SS bar

Cheers Murf

top stuff, I found one piece of 10mm 1.5m long

will 250mm long sections do the trick? as it is bent at 90deg @500mm CTRs

Cheers Murf

Dont know bout the answer Murf. But I reckon weigh it then divide by what size you normally use. I guess measure to weigh the bigger ones at 250-400g's. We usually use 300g knifes and they seem heavy enough. Sometimes use 400's but I wouldnt go any bigger.

Many Macks about yet?
    Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?

Gday RC

not many consistant macs around yet, one day get a few next get none. I have not put a mac in my boat yet water is looking good now though

busy packing to go to Wooli for the M&G on the weekend, hoping the weather holds out.

I will have to wait a week to go further with the jigs as I going to Pebbly beach on Monday for a week sounds like the go though making your own

Cheers Murf