Thread: Gold Coast Canal GT

Gold Coast Canal GT

Went for a flick at a little spot as the tide was coming in. Trying the SP thing again during smoko. 5th or 6th cast and BUMP BUMP ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ
    Damn thing nearly spooled me more than once. Thought queenie, but no jumping. Jack?? Didn't go to structure. Flathead?? Nah, fighting too hard. Had to follow him about 100m along the canal, along peoples back yards!! After about ten - fifteen minutes we stopped the you take some - I retreive some and he settled into a pattern of left to right and I could feel the slow tail kicks, thump thump thump. AAAHHH, must be a trevor!! 25 minutes after that first run I see the colour of a 63cm canal GT !!!!!! YYYYYYAAAAAAYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!

Netted him, and the shaft broke!!

Dropped to the ground and grabbed what was left of the net and got him back for a photo.

What an awesome smoko. Caught him on a Strudwick sic stik 2 - 4kg rod, Abu cardinal 1000F with 8lb braid and 10lb platipus platinum mono leader. 3inch Berkley Powerbait minow in walleye, 1/16 oz jighead. The hook broke trying to remove it from the fish, thank god it held for the fight.

Unfortunately, the fish was too stuffed to return to the water. I tried for about 5 minutes to revive it (No tunaman, I didn't give it mouth to mouth) but to no avail. The little asian guy who was fishing beside me was VERY happy when I handed the fish over to him.

Last edited by Brett1907; 20-03-2007 at 01:00 PM.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Re: Gold Coast Canal GT

Great story and excellent catch

The strongest fighting fish around

Top trev brett, good to see your FINALLY getting a report up,and what a great one at that to. Well done boss.
    P.S. now i know what you do on your smoko,did you see what i got on my smoko?hehehe
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

great stuff that
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

Nice fish brett, well done. I think you need a bigger spool.

30 ins for smoko? The benefits of being the boss, haha.

Thats a great Trav there Brett, well done. Mate your heart must ave been pumping so fast! haha.

Mick.

solid chunk of trevally.

Quality Trev there mate - They certainly give a great account of themselves!

Good report Brett...........quality fish and good on yer for trying to revive it.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Top trev mate. Bad boys like that are always tough (especially when you're getting paid to do it!)

Hell yes, fantastic fish and great effort on light line. I wish I could do that on my break, but I don't think the people at sunshine plaza would fancy me casting near them though
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Thanks guys, I was sad that the trev didn't revive. Would have liked to catch him again when he got bigger. What I didn't post up there was that all but one or two fences were only about 30cm from the retaining wall lining the canal. Was not easy walking that fighting this fish and carrying my landing net!!

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Nice trev mate have to be happy with that one, were do you work are you building a house or somthing.

nice one mate i wish i could go fishing on a lunch break

I own a Geotechnical Testing company. We supervise and test bulk earthworks, roadworks, trench backfilling, embankment construction etc. I am able to get a flick in every now and then if the tides match a half hour I can have to myself. I find that with the stress of owning a business, you have to take time out or you will go mad. My father gave it away (he now works for a consultant engineer) at 50 cause he reckons he would have been dead from the stress within a year. He's up in Mission Beach and loving life again.