r.i.p chug bug

Thread: r.i.p chug bug

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

r.i.p chug bug

i went out to twin waters on saturday for a flick but did not land a thing. i spent most of the time i had lobbing a mid size eddeys popper around with no luck but i did have a huge look, then a big swurl under the popper . it turned my legs to jelly what ever it was, it was huge. i changed poppers and put on a storm saltwater chug bug. thinking the thinner profile and flash on the tail might triger a strike. i cast back out landing just in front of the whurl pool the weir makes, i then made two quick pops then BANG i was SMASHED what ever it was it was not stopping, it pulled the 8kg braid of my bait caster even with the locked up drag and sh-t loads of thum pressure striaght in to the weir and then it was over with a big crack as the braid parted on the oysters. i wish new what it was but im guessing it was a big gt . im going to give it another crack this saturday coming so hopefuly i can hook that fish and get my popper back. i will be there from 2pm onwards so if ya wanna come down and have a flick and a chat just look for the fella chuging a popper with a shimano hat on
    figjam :wink:

Re: r.i.p chug bug

Quote Originally Posted by nuggstar View Post

just look for the fella chuging a popper with a shimano hat on
    How do you fit a shimano hat onto a popper?

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

verry carefuly hehe

Thats one big popper...

BUGGER! There's always next time mate, and chances are I'll be there with you! What way was the current going, in or out?
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

going out but the fish still kept busting up on the inside section

Strange, you'd think it'd be on the outside, cause the water flwing out that way would be bringing more food toward them.... Do you have permission from the ball and chain for fishing this weekend?
    Joel

yes yes yes yes

yes yes yes yes yes

where's twin waters?

Sunshine Coast, northern side of the maroochy river
    Joel

Hi nuggstar, those chug bugs definatley get those fish going I reckon you go out & buy another or two. I have been chuggin for about 8 years & 90% of my most memorable catches have been on a cug bug. Sorry you lost that fish but tie another one on & they will be back.

PETE MATE

your a ledgen PETE that was my last one i had and the third popper i have lost to a fish this year and its sending me broke

I might catch ya down there , wat time ya goin? i have to work inthe middle of the day, butmightbe up for a late arvo sesh. btw ive movedto blibli, so niceand close m8

joel and i will be there at 1.30 pm saturday till late arvo