Thread: rockhampton ????

rockhampton ????

might be moving to rocky for 6 months for work and cant remember ever seeing a report or anything from there.......anyone with any info on the place ????
    would be gratefully appreciated as i dont have a clue about it.....

Maxi

Re: rockhampton ????

Do you have a boat? Do you want to fish rivers/creeks, dams or offshore? It's all available close to Rocky.

I know there are a few blokes on here from rocky who would able to give you a bit more advice thatn I can. The fitzroy river does produce some good fish but Ive done most of my fishing out of yeppoon in waterpark creek and crio bay. Recently posted some pics in the salwater pictures section of when I was up there last. We had good success working the beaches in corio bay with poppers, prawnstars and soft plastics and also did well working the rockbars and snags in waterpark creek. If you have a boat up there than you will be laughing.

Hey Maxi,
    Rockhampton and the surrounding areas have got the lot!! For a start the Fitzroy River delta is the most under rated natural barra fishery in Qld, as well there are a number of creeks and inlets in the area that have a healthy supply of barra including all the other noteable tropical species. Travelling 2.5hrs from rocky and you have some fine barra impoundment fisheries like Awoonga and Callide, just a further 2hrs and your fishing Cania for bass, saratoga, yellowbelly. If its offshore fishing you want then try Yeppoon just a 40min drive from rocky, 10kms offshore you have the Keppel Island group of islands, where you can catch pelagics such as Spanish Mackerel, Cobia, tuna, Trevally etc. All the well known reef species are present such as Red Emporer, Red Jew, Jobfish, Coral Trout.
    Iam assuming that you have a boat but if you havent there are a number of land based sites worth fishing as well, if you pop in to one of the local tackle stores such as Barra Jacks or Bluefin they could hitch you up with a local that has a boat. There are a number of A grade guides in the area as well,
    Hope this has been some help,
    Cheers Nomad62

thanks very much guys ...i do have a boat but i wont be taking it..( probably a dumb move ).......the info that you blokes have given me has me excited.....some new species and new territory to explore has me goin !!...
    the delta especially !!!....
    when i know exactly what im doing i will post here again and maybe catch up with an ausfisher up there who is willing to show me around........much appreciated info......thanks heaps....

maxi

well its a done deal..im going....be there this weekend......

hope i can catch up with someone to show me around the waters...

cheers Maxi

You might look at contacting the Keppel Bay Sportfishing club.

thanks luc ..ill do that

maxi

Max you gotta get your boat up there mate, fair dinkum its a must, you will only touch about 5% of the areas potential without it.

Organise to get your boat up there and give me a pm, would be glad to give you some hot tips !!!!

the boats coming with me......i have a motor prob but will get that taken care of up there.........i had decided to take it hooknose but your urging sealed the deal ...will pm you........

Maxi

What size boat do you have? Unless it's a small tinnie, you should have no problems accessing the reef and pelagic fishing around the Keppel Islands. The furtherest island that I fish would be Barren, and its only about 30 k's out. There are plenty of others that are closer and from what I have seen in my few trips out, the fishing is pretty good. I only realy target the reefies, but many fish for mackerel and seem to do allright.

i have a 4.3 mt savage glassy with a 25 johnson......bit undergunned i know.had it outside before down here, but up there is a different ballgame due to the reef...easier eh ??......
    paul

Should be OK on any of the better days up here. There are plenty of productive spots within 15km's of the harbour. It will also allow you to fish up the river and in the creeks. Could even take it to Awoonga for a crack at some of the monster Barra they are getting lately. You won't regret bringing it with you, unless of course the weather keeps to the same pattern it has been following for the last month or two, wind followed by more wind.

On exceptional days (ie FLAT), I been over to divided in my 13fter.

Also heard of people going out to barren in similar sized tinnys but to me, thats pushing the friendship

You will find that the water clarity around rockhampton and yeppoon area is not generally not great in close to the shore because of the fitzroy river discharge (MUCH better around keppels though). The upside to this however, is that Rocky is one of the few places wherer there is NO water restrictions

no water restrictions is great...dont have any here either.......was wondering about the boat washing scenario.......cant wait to get sorted now ......have to get boat prob sorted first....some stupid electrical thing i suspect.....breaks down under load.....oh well..that will happen sooner or later...have been given the heads up in boating forum as to who to see up there..

thanks again you guys.......much appreciated info !!!!

paul