Sight casting placcies to Sharks and the one that got away!!

Thread: Sight casting placcies to Sharks and the one that got away!!

Sight casting placcies to Sharks and the one that got away!!

Now normally I would keep this story to myself - because no-ones going to believe me anyway - but as I have a witness, I thought - what the hey! See if anyone else has experienced the same thing:

All the conditions looked good for an early morning Wello assault so oldmate GES and I headed out only to find Wello shut down tighter than a frogs butt. There weren't any bait schools and no fish on the sounder and even with 2 metres of tidal flow we were pretty much staying in the one spot. So after trying various locations made the move to the ledges off Green. There was plenty of bait there and the occasion squire showing up but most were undersize.

So before we headed in tried one more spot x - all I can say about this spot is its off Cleveland Point in 3-5 metres (somewhere). Its a fall back position which usually produces something.

After a couple of unsuccessful drifts, we could see the occasional splash and a small fin as sharks cruised the shallows. A little while later and a chopper tailor hits the placcie and then the esky - followed close behind him was a small "grey suit" so with the shark circling out the back I casted the placcie towards him and jigged it back - Wham I'm on... and after a good tussle, one of those little whalers with the black tips comes aboard. Yum!

A short while after and George lands a 41cm squire and shortly after that my rod goes off and I'm also on to a squire - only just legal at around 36ish cms but about 5 ft from the boat the grey suits are back and they take a small bite - normally I'd let small ones go - but this fella was bleeding and the sharks were cruising beneath us - so better in my tummy than theirs.

So with this action as the backdrop and after having hooked another shark on plastic and my line bitten off I resort to a small metal spinner - which I hoped would either hook another tailor or a shark.

A little while later I thought I saw the sharks again and placed the spinner just in front of one - before I even started to wind the "shark" dived for the lure and I'm on... whoohoo - shark on a metal lure and didnt he pour on the speed... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz (just for you T) - then he jumped at that point GES started to say - are you sure thats a shark? Just then he jumps again This time we both chorused - QUEENIE and what a monster!!

It was around a metre long (same size as the sharks) and probably 30cms deep - so it was a solid fish a couple more jumps as it got closer to the boat enabled us to really get a good look. Finally I had it close to the boat with GES standing by with his oversized barra net ready, when it makes one final jump only 5 ft from the boat and spat the hooks.

I was speechless... except for one word which shouldnt be said in front of small children.

I have never heard of Queenies that big this far south and in 3.5 metres of murky water. I've caught them up to 50cms in the Seaway but they were livebait compared to this one. Has anyone else encountered big queenies around here?

By the way - now that I scan my memory - there were two together - because I thought the other one was a shark when it went for the hooked fish - so it wasnt just one stray fish.

Anyway - thats my story about the one that got away - If I wasnt there - I wouldnt believe it either!

All up we only just scraped a feed with 3 squire up to 41cms, a tailor and the Shark. But it was a great day to be out on the bay - came back in glassy conditions.

No photos sorry - after losing the queenie I couldnt be bothered taking photos of small squire and a shark

Adam

Re: Sight casting placcies to Sharks and the one that got away!!

Good story Adamy. I think that it must be the year for Queenfish. I caught an 80cm model on a live prawn that was meant for a bream up around the Donnybrook area about 4 weeks ago. Really good fun. Revived it and let it go. I am just about to head out the door now and I think that I will try and catch a couple sharks out near Mud this morning what type of plastics were you using on the sharks?

great fishing sounds like plenty of action

I've caught little ones in the canals at Cleveland, all under 50cms. That sounded like a great fish Adam, bad luck mate.

At least you got some tucker.

Good read Adam and sounds like you had a great time out there. Damn shame about losing the queenie but with one of those black tipped fellas in the esky you got a brilliant feed anyway. Still one of the nicest eating fish in the ocean in my books. Well done!!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Very interesting read Adamy. I reckon you'd get the odd one at that size around. Possibly residents. 1 that big certainly pull hard.
    As said by Barnsey, we get em around Cleveland. Not too sure about any migration patterns though. Anyone with more knowledge than me please fell free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Rich

Thanks guys... Bogus - My fav placcie for the sharks is 5 inch jerk shad in nuclear chicken colour - must be the red in it cause they really nail them - but I suppose any placcie might work. They go hard on 6lb main and 12lb leader - so did the Queenie though I think pound for pound the queenie was the quicker of the two.

Adam

Good read mate and especially interesting regarding the queenie. Nice to see you nailed a shark on placcies.

My little fellers recent report on Woody Point failed to mention that I was chucking placcies at 'em. The sharks were ripping into hardyheads so I was using 3 & 4" chatreuse shad as they were the nearest thing to hardy heads that I had. I could drop the placcie right in front of their nose and they simply shied away. All up we caught about 14 but they were all on bait. Disappointing, as the chatreuse shads have been my most successful placcie to date and as the shark seemed to be in a freezing frenzy I would've thought they'd take anything.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

3 squire a tailor and a shark and you only scraped a feed? Geez you must be feeding a army i prefer my fish fresh

Still managed a feed adam well done mate. Pitty about the one that got away!

mickstar

Don't worry my friend, i've got some zzzzzzz for you.... Report to come once I get pics from TINN!! Thanks for leaving the fish at Wello for me too!!!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Oztrav: That catch was split between GES and me... Squire that small dont go far (I have 4 kids) and yeh - I like it fresh too!

Mick... While it was on - I was counting my chickens before they hatched and thinking how good the photo would look up here on the boards... REAL Pity!!!

T: Yup left them there with your name on them mate.

Kingtin: Next time try something with red in it - I also had a clear placcie out - they didnt touch it and George had a punkinseed and a greyish one - they didnt touch that either. But then again - I wouldnt know - thats only whats worked for me in that one area.

Adam

Good story adamy.
    I have caught some nice queenies here at Noosa in the river probably not quite a metre but a good 80cm.
    Shame you lost him

great read Adamy, last year at green ,i had two cruising the burley trail at the back of the boat. I remember thinking , am i seeing things.Couldn't believe my eyes. Thanks for that mate ,enjoyed the read