Thread: Landing larger table fish

Landing larger table fish

Guys, just after your opinions on landing larger table fish. When I say larger I am refering to 6+kg fish like Snapper, Red Emeperor and large Pearlies ect. Do you generally net them, gaff them with a long handle gaff or do you use the hand held short hook style of gaff? I know with pelagic fish the gaff is the most obvious but what about first class table fish (not that some dont call pelagics first class).

Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Ausfish Platinum Member - R.I.P. October 2015 dayoo's Avatar

Re: Landing larger table fish

Lee

I have been catching reef fish for over 40 years and never use a gaff. Most times it is wise to use a large landing net especially on large pearlies (4kg+) as they are usually hooked in the soft membrane around the mouth and often the hooks pull out when lifting. Red Emperor and large snapper can be lifted if they have swallowed the hooks (snood rig) but landing net is much safer.
    I have lost many large bone head snapper on top of the water (broken 7/0 hooks or frayed 80lb line).

If it's long and thin + 6kg ie Wahoo and mackerel use a gaff 80-100 mm gape on 1.2-1.5 m handle ,over 15kg two gaffs 100 and 150 mm gape, on spotties use a multi hook head ( 6 x 10/0's on the end of a broom handle) never misses. For snapper, pearlies, lippers etc a big landing net is the only thing to use. That way you can let the snapper over 6kg go as the 2-4 kg range is far better eating.

Kingie

G'day Lee,

We uUse a large fine mesh net for most of our reefies even the larger variety 10kg plus reds, snapper, tuskies, large mouth nannies, pearlies...doesn't damage the scales if we decide to catch and release. Use the gaff for pelagics that we decide are keepers

look forward to seeing you at Fraser!

I use a large landing net.

The 15kg jew shown below was landed with a net. I was buggered after the fight and so was he and once having got him into the net, I just sat there with the net half-way in the water whilst I caught my breath - but at least I had him safely.

A big landing net can be a nuisance in a small boat - always getting in the way - but I can live with that.

Thanks guys, looks like the net is definately the go. Will stick with it.
    Rhys, yes mate Fraser is getting closer pretty quickly now, will catch up for a drink. Lets hope the weather and fish both play the game again.

Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    G'day Lee,

We uUse a large fine mesh net for most of our reefies even the larger variety 10kg plus reds, snapper, tuskies, large mouth nannies, pearlies...doesn't damage the scales if we decide to catch and release. Use the gaff for pelagics that we decide are keepers

look forward to seeing you at Fraser!

Welcome back Rhys, I reckon you've been busy with your good works. Nice to see you still around.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Thanks for missing me KEv, yeah, its been a crazy 6mths...doesn't look like easing up in the short term, will have to stop for Fraser though...could be a 3 cuppa discussion next time I'm in your neighborhood!

Even the boat might get a fright next time it sees water!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by revs57 View Post
    Thanks for missing me KEv, yeah, its been a crazy 6mths...doesn't look like easing up in the short term, will have to stop for Fraser though...could be a 3 cuppa discussion next time I'm in your neighborhood!

Even the boat might get a fright next time it sees water!!!!

Look forward to seeing you mate. Remember, charity begins at home, find time for you and yours.

Peace

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.