Boating and Fishing Codes
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boating and Fishing Codes

Boating and Fishing Codes

Hi All

Having recently discovered an unwritten “Code” which I, admittedly and mistakenly broke, I started thinking about all the other boating etiquettes that I am aware of, but other fishos seem unaware.

My “confession” was taking a fish home that I was unaware of what species it was, because I had never caught one before. Some of you had seen Poodroos’ and my post about the giant herring we caught. The “Code” we had broken was “never take a fish home if you don’t know what it is” Ros recently started the thread Shamatures which is actually endorsed by law which prohibits non licensed fisher people from taking money for their catch – a good thread Ros and all who contributed.

Here are a few more that may add to the “ Boating Code Of Conduct.” Some may deserve publishing, some not, but at least if we debate or come to some master list, we will all become more aware in some way, which has to be better for everybody. Some are obvious too, but some are not ( or at least that’s how it appears based on repeat offences)
    • People with hand held GPS’s should never presume their right to punch in a GPS fishing coordinate upon arriving there, without the express consent of the captain of the vessel ( or a very long swim home might result)
    • Always stop to offer help when you see a boat with oars out, motor trimmed up
    • Don’t choose to start a conversation about a non-essential subject while your Captain is preparing to launch the boat. Choose appropriate times to discuss your weight loss program or the fact your dog has fleas, but not right now!! You may be blamed for the forgotten bungs or the bait which was left in the car, back at the ramp.
    • 1 or 2 knots below planing speed for your vessel kicks up more wash than if you were on the plane. Slow down or speed up if it’s legal to do so. The guy in the canoe 20 mtrs away will appreciate it!!
    • When arriving at a school of active pelagics the captain of the boat gets the choice of 1st cast. The same applies when lure casting for bream in quiet waters, under pontoons etc
    • Never rig up your boat at the ramp which blocks others from using it – No brainer you say? That’s too obvious? From what I have seen recently, not so obvious.
    • If I catch a fish on my side of the boat, that’s how it shall remain, MY SIDE!!!
    There’s a heap more, but that’s a start. Anyone got any more? I can think of 4WD'ing codes too, Lucky Phil loves using his snatch strap to pull others out of a bog, don't you Phil??

Last edited by Scalem; 13-03-2007 at 11:54 PM.

Re: Boating and Fishing Codes

Good call Scalem, unfortunately with the number of yahoo's on the water these days I am suprised by acts of common sense or kindness, which is a shame!

Here is a few more.

At ramps, offer lifts to those who are going to get their trailer, particularly those with steep climbs and the parking lot is a long way away (Awoonga anyone!)

Offer a hand at ramps when people are in trouble, not Abuse

No rules of kindness apply to ski boat or jet ski users! (Sorry had to toss it in!)

Great thread Scalem, IMO.

Only thing I can add -
    - when under way in close proximity to the ramp, limit your speed/bow wave as much as possible if others are launching/retrieving their craft.

As a solo operator, it's a real pain when the jet ski brigade decide to display their high speed manouvres 30 metres away while I'm trying to retrieve! Also goes for those in vessels doing speed trails en-route to their destination while passing the ramp! Also a potentially dangerous situation if kids are near the boat being launched/retrieved, they may not be aware of how the boat will react when hit by an on-coming bow wave.

Cheers, I'm going to enjoy reading the replies to this thread, I'm sure I'll learn something useful.

'If you need new rollers for your trailer dont take them from some other bastards trailer whilst he is out on the water' .. I lost 2 rokllers in 2 weeks at Manly and Wynnum Creek

And as for the helping someone rowing with motor trimmed up, it appears fishing is more important to most people. I rowed my way through the wello point boat park back toward the ramp , when I was nearly at the shore and a guy and his lady towed me back in, a big thankyou to you If you read this PM me and it's my shout for some beer. I spoent a few hours on the side of the ramp that day waiting for the mrs to return with the trailer, and it was amazing how many people screw around like old women on the ramp.

great thread, Lets make it really simple

Do to others as you have them do unto you

Quote Originally Posted by nigelr View Post
    Great thread Scalem, IMO.

Cheers, I'm going to enjoy reading the replies to this thread, I'm sure I'll learn something useful.
    Me too, I will enjoy seeing other replies. I guess I am showing that I can be a grumpy buggar on the water, and I like things to happen a certain way ... that is until I talk to other boaters and find that they share the same sentiments as me.

Here's another couple

• During bream season, when you find a place to anchor amoungst a hoard of other boats, and you decide to deploy the anchor, DO IT QUIETLY. Bream can go off the bite very quickly
    • When beach fishing, try and match the weight you are using to others fishing for tailor to minimise crossed lines, and wait to cast your line, not over the top of the guy standing next to you!!
    • And if you want to test the patience of other beach fishos in a huddle of a school of Tailor, throw out a lure. That will get a reaction, you can bet on it!!

When launching your boat at a ramp and night / early morning, Turn your bloody headlights off / down to parkers only so others can back down the ramp and actually still be able to see.

Rock/Wall fishing.
    Find a good spot, safe level platform, easy access, no others that you can disturb, watch for a while and all your skilss are then rewarded with a couple of fish. Turn around dehook fish and rebait, then back to the ledge. TWO guys same rock, dont know where they came from, hurl into the wild blue yonder.

What do you do??? No you cant push them off (or can you - the judge might be a fisho)!!! No. Pack up go home.

Boating
    How come most drivers DO NOT KNOW which side to pass on when heading towards each other. It gives me the s#*ts. Learn the rules and obey.
    Good read.

Good one Brian,
    My pet hate at boat ramps are people that rig up or down on the ramp.
    Another pet hate are boaties that fly past you at 30 or 40km/hr or faster at a distance of under 4m when your anchored or drifting.
    Next bastard (sorry to the bastard birds out there. I'm sure your all OK) that does that to me is gunna wear a sinker for sure....or more likely a cross word or two out of my gob. Gees they peeve me

Another one is when your 18km off shore and you see a boat do a U-turn and then anchor 5m away...even if your drifting in their direction....find your own bloody spots and stay out of our drift

The easiest way to get some attention if you've broken down and need some help to forget about V sheets and crossing oars.
    Get snagged and make like your got a huge fish on. Boats will come and anchor beside you for sure no matter where you are.

Another for landbased fishing is when you find a nice quite stretch of river frontage you set up camp and then people come use your little piece of heaven as a ski base-camp.....gees have thought
    Last edited by finga; 14-03-2007 at 08:52 AM. Reason: I keep thinking of more things that peeve me

1/When on the bait grounds catching livies there really is no need to park your boat on top of the guy next to you.

2/ When trolling, is there a rule that says people in game boats have the right to cross in front of you so close you have to alter course?? Especially when they have lines out too??? i think not

3/ As above, always give a wide berth when passing the stern of another vessel, by the time you figure out they have lures or livies out it is all too late.

4/ Finally, He knows who he is but probably cant operate a computer to read this, but next time mr w*nker you are doing 40knots 20mtrs off wavebreak island waving and spraying everywhere i will get your rego number and i will report you to the police. You nearly cleaned a swimmer up last time. (does not apply to this site, just needed to vent)

feel better now thanks...................

We can all sit here and write more and more codes but the people who don't follow the codes wont even read this and if they do they will not change. Alot of people tend to do what they when they want and all for themselves and take no care or thought to people around them. Laws are written and enforced by police but people just keep breaking them so I guess we just have to learn to live with these careless people. Pretty much every time I hit the water something will happen that shouldn't but thats life I guess

common sense and paitance, some times they need to go paitance and common sense. all to often they are both missing.

One of the most common blunders (that's the nicest word I can come up with ATM). When the skipper of an approaching vessel doesn't seem to know the correct side on which to pass (boats approaching in opposite directions) which is....
    Navigate to starboard so that vessels pass each other on the port side/larboard, really dodgy in a narrow channels a low tide.

The next one I am not too sure about.

I always waited until an incomming boat had crossed the bar before i headed out, as the navigate to starboard thingo isn't always possible on a breaking bar from my experience.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

unfortunatly codes will only be followed by those who want to
    all you can do is be patient and watchful
    be your own gardian angel
    i always offer help at ramps to people that appear to be struggling even loaded a guys boat once just to get them out of the way most people apperciate a little help though i admitt try to avoid peak times
    be super friendly to others on land especially on a breakwall makes them feel guilty about stealling your spot seen a knife fight once over casting over another person scared the bejesus out of me i had to get past them to get off the wall and had no phone to call the cops
    as for ski boats had a f er come over the top off us once (in 12 ' tinnie) i lost my rod my mate lost his ian miller rod and as we both ducked to avoid getting our heads cut off (thanks to my mate for saving my but) we proceeded to head but each other and i broke his nose so a good days fishing spoiled
    i wont go into how my mate reacted at the boat ramp but he got off with 3months good behavior

but as more people find out boating and fishing are such rewarding and pleasent activities the water ways are going to get more and more crowded
    so
    lord grant me patience but hurry!!!!

here is one that really gives me the Sheets!!

There is no need to pass an anchored boat at full tilt within 5 meters!! Open ocean everywhere and they hook past close...Then they get a funny look on their face when you signal your anoyance Jet ski's are the worst!!!

BilgeBoy