-
What Tackle for Whitsundays?
Going to the Whitsundays in April. Will be on a Yacht what should Tackle should i tacke up, What species should i Target, any ideas or info woulkd be appreciated
-
Re: What Tackle for Whitsundays?
G'day mate. Lotsa brands of fish so, how about a 10-17 lb rod and ABU reel loaded with 20 lb braid for tossing poppers and metals for the pelagics, a 50 lb handline, 6/0 hooks and #10 ball sinkers for the big reefies when at anchor. A few kgs of pillies/squidly/green prawns will be good bait. A few 1/0 hooks for the fusiliers for bait, they are good for the mackerel.
The west side of Hook Island has some great bommies nearer the northern end, for coral trout, sweetlip etc. Just be careful NOT to fish in the 'green zones'.
Pm me if you need more info, hey?
http://www.fishingline.com.au/Queens...hitsundays.htm
Last edited by BobbyJ123; 13-03-2007 at 05:03 PM.
-
Re: What Tackle for Whitsundays?
how you going aus fishers, a 2500 or 3000 size reel on a 6 to 8 kilo rod 10 kilo braid 30 pound leader will stop most critters, vertical jig 3 to 5 inch plackys for trout sweetlip cod and parrot, have heaps of jig heads is my advice, from 1/8 through to 3/8 will be a good start. POPPERS never have too many poppers. A mackeral line too TLD 25(or simalar) 8 to 10 kilo is will suffice 15 kilo if you want, live stripeys or fusilers are the go, live any thing will do. Seem to have better hook up rate with livies bout 6 to 8 inches, saying that don't be shy too throw out a 40 cm sweetlip. hope i helped.
cheers chris.