cobia, spanish and a jack!

Thread: cobia, spanish and a jack!

cobia, spanish and a jack!

jus a quick post
    hit the curtain reef thursday for turn of the tide, burlyed up heaps wich brang the palagics round the boat, had a ball for the next 2 hours!
    end result= cobia 1100, spanish makeral 1300! brute for the bay! and three baracoota wich were realesed. had some big cobe under the boat but wouldnt fall for the pilly, needed livies! great day with a good feed! come across some longtails, wanted to have some fun so using my sp rod ( 2kilo stick loaded with 4 pound braid) flicked a sp right on ones nose! zzzzzzzz x 1000! instantly had to put the chase on as i was into my backing in seconds! 45 minuts later had him near the boat but he jus would not give up all i could do was let him run when he wanted, 10 pound leader. he went dow slowly then zzzzzzzzz like the first run!! snap! gone! my guess is a shark come in for the kill! good fun tho!

next night took a mate out to get his first jack ( narang river) fished with livies till 4am 3 am i got hit hard! just keeping him away from the pylon i won the battle! 55cm jack! a pb for me! so happy with that!

great two days of fishing!
    luke.

Re: cobia, spanish and a jack!

dont no how to get colour any help would be great!

great couple of days fishing. the pics looks awesome in black and white anyhow, something different

nice goin,love your jack.

go out now and buy a lotto ticket.
    Marty

now thats some awesome fish great work
    you did well to keep the red demon out of the snags
    if ya dnt mind me asking what type of livie mullet or herring

cheers Shin

Thats a good looking jack mate. Would love to have a dive at curtain to see what else is down there. Always seems to be kingys and cobes. No doubt a few reef jacks as well.

jack was caught on a snood rig with a 20cm live poddy mullet!

i think i will buy a lotto ticket mate im still in shock!

Ausfish Platinum Member richieboy's Avatar

Impressive fish Luke. Pics don't look that bad, although colour in the Jack would have set it right off. Well done champ.

Richie

PS:What lb line for the Jack. Excuse my curiousity......

hey richieboy, line used was 30lb main line with a 40lb leader.
    i forgot to mension in my report after i caught him we moved to the other side of the bridge and i got smoked! HARD! on that gear so it goes to show you can never fish too heavy when live baiting at night for these brutes!!

luke

Thats a pretty impressive hat trick there Luke

Sounds like a horrible day....
    Wish I was there....

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    Sounds like a horrible day....
    Wish I was there....
    Yeah! Bloody terrible day alright! Wish I had bad days like that too...

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Top effort there mate, tasty fillets off the cobe.

yer great effort nice fish there

cheers dave