Thread: Cudgen Creek, Kingscliff?

Cudgen Creek, Kingscliff?

Hi Guys
    Has anyone got any info on how Cudgen Creek is fishing currently?

Will be heading down this weekend and probably aiming for the far end of the park on the right hand side of the road, immediately before the bridge heading south out of Kingscliff.

Had a quick seach through the posts but there doesn't seem to be anything written recently.

Im land based and will probably be giving both bait and SP a go throughout the session. Ive had limited success over the past couple of months on Squidgy Wrigglers, #3 in the 24 Carat Gold, and #2 in the trout colour for small bream and flatties (very small flatties actually )

Dont care what I catch, just there to enjoy it. Any general info would be greatly appreciated.

Barry

Re: Cudgen Creek, Kingscliff?

Barry,

It's been a while since I've fished there, but I used to get a feed of flathead down stream as well as up stream of the bridge on SPs.

Under the bridge at night is worth a try for Jacks on live bait.

They are all the secrets you are getting off me, the rest depends on your savvy.

good luck roz.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

walk west along the bank untill you hit a rock wall, atm there is a pretty deep chennel there and the rocks are holding bait, some small trev choppiong up on sun morning. keep head along untill come to beach again and theres a good bank for flatties. wouldn't hurt to have a set line out with a small whitting... good chance of a lizzard or a jack.

PS, I have had way more success there on the Berkley GULP range rather than Squidgies , however, Gary Glitter landed a few. But do get a pack of 3" jerk shadsin rainbow or blackshad, or some 4" turtle back worm in pumpkin seed

Thanks for the info guys

Roz - I hope I'm up to the challenge!

Charlie Bouy - Thanks for the info - I'll add some GULPs to my ever expanding SP collection.

Happy fishing

Barry

Barry T ,Sounds like youve got the good oil there mate.I used to catch good flatties in that area.

Blooey

Thanks mate. Only had tiny flatties to date, dunno how some of em got the lure in their mouths to be honest. Will keep going though and find the good fish you mention.

Barry

Any tips on heading upstream in a canoe......?

Is it passable.... can you fish and get through to cudgen lake, is it worth the effort.? Any tips or locations worth trying are appreciated..... I live just down the road and have been meaning to give it a go some time.

I have a canoe with electric so paddling isn't an issue. I plan on taken some gulps on the high tide and see how far I can go before the creek gets too shallow.

roydsy
    Last edited by roydsy; 02-04-2007 at 09:58 AM.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Hi Roydsy
    it is possible to canoe all the way to the lake, have done it twice. Its a nice creek trip,not much of a fish. There arent many fish in the upper sections, apart from a few small bream. The creek is pretty skinny also the occasional acid soil run offs following heavy rain have taken a toll on the fish population.
    As others have said there are some small trevors and flatties in the lower reaches

cheers, it would make a nice paddle by the sounds of things.

I will give it a go soon and report back on how it performed.

I Rekon You Would Be Better Off In The Far Far Upper Reaches Of Cudgera Ck Or Pottsville Creek... The Trevs Ar Thick New The Blackrock Bridge And Further Up From There Is Big Lizzard Teritroy ( Dont Mistake Them For Shovelnose Sharks)

Thanks for the tip...... I will be sure to give both places a go and see how i get on.

So is cudgen lake fishable? trevs there you reckon?

not cudgen lake it is too fresh... if you go over near that hotel thing there is a small very shollow entrance that leads to caba... i have caught bass in there but only in two spots.

Yaked from near Salt to the open water a couple of weeks ago. Really nice creek, and some good looking flats, plenty of oyster encrusted rocks. Thought it looked like a great stretch of fishy water.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

I know this is an old thread, I was just doing a search on Cudgeon Lake.
    I had never seen it so last time I was at Boganbar I took a drive down to the end of the road and there is a small ramp there.

I was just walking around the edges checking out the small mullet and then all hell broke loose from just on the edge of the weedbed (would have been about 5 ft of water).

This school of mullet all about 5 inch long came flying up out of the water in a mad rush for the safety of the reeds, these things where going so fast they were jumping out of the water as they made their escape.

Now that was no picker bream chasing them, made me think, bullshark, big flathead, big Jack?
    Whatever it was it must have been sneaking around the edges picking off mullet as they swam a bit too far out.

With this dry weather it's pretty likely there are bullsharks up there terrorising the bigger mullet.
    It would have to be a pretty big jack to really fire up really large mullet that much - depends on how big mullet you're talking about. I've had big flatties eat small squire at the boatside so I don't reckon thare's many mullet around a big flatty would hesitate to eat!