New PB for new reel

Thread: New PB for new reel

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

New PB for new reel

Got a new pb today with a fish of 59cm, nailed him on a 4 inch berkley swimming mullet with my new reel, a diawa 1500 excellor with 8lb crystal fireline, this reel is top value for money, oh and the bay was just perfect on dawn but there wasnt many fish about!!, lots of trawlers though.
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	site.jpg 
Views:	129 
Size:	45.9 KB 
ID:	2796  
    Last edited by alleycat; 12-03-2007 at 12:39 PM.

Re: New PB for new reel

Nice way to break in the new reel Alleycat.Nice eating size.Where abouts were the trawlers working if I may ask??

Hi mate, the trawlers seem to hammer the area from mud south to near peel.

Excellent catch for your new reel what side of mud did you get him?

Cheers Alleycat.There's obviously a few prawns about out there.

Quote Originally Posted by alleycat View Post
    Got a new pb today with a fish of 59cm, nailed him on a 4 inch berkley swimming mullet with my new reel, a diawa 1500 excellor with 8lb crystal fireline, this reel is top value for money, oh and the bay was just perfect on dawn but there wasnt many fish about!!, lots of trawlers though.
    Nice work mate - Got an exceller 4000 and agree....excellent reel for the price.

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Nice fish there alleycat.
    I was out at Wello last night and saw about 6 trawlers working in close to the reef.
    After prawns for sure but i wonder how many other fish get caught in those nets?
    Couldn't even get a small squire last night.
    I THINK I KNOW WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Brent

Patience and perseverence, which you have had both over the last few months Alleycat, so well done on your new PB.

I'll give it till July before you top it again, what's your next goal? 60cm+??? You should have measured this one BEFORE you put him on the ice, it may have been 10mm longer!!

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    Patience and perseverence, which you have had both over the last few months Alleycat, so well done on your new PB.

I'll give it till July before you top it again, what's your next goal? 60cm+??? You should have measured this one BEFORE you put him on the ice, it may have been 10mm longer!!

Scalem scalem scalem!! get with the programe mate!! you measure the big ones "BEFORE" you release them!! and the next goal is 70cm for sure, and my point is this!!! you get a 60 cm snapper and kill it and fillet it and cut out the ribcage and just how much fish are you left with? and is it worth killing that fish to get it?, i love eating fish and will happily pay the 5 bucks to buy the stuff with crumbs on it or keep a few from 40-50 cm, let the big fellas go boys so they can breed and maybe one day give another fisho the fight of his life.
    Last edited by alleycat; 13-03-2007 at 08:24 AM.

Nice work ALLEYCAT!

Personally, i don't think there's anything wrong with keeping fish within the legal parameters that exist! I don't buy fish in shops (unless extremely desperate for a feed when out...) so to me it's either fresh fish or nothing!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

I have to agree with alleycat on letting the bigger breeders go to sustain the snapper population for future generations to enjoy.
    I'm not against taking your 1st trophy fish but i have decided any snapper i catch over 60cms is going back after a quick photo.
    There will be exceptions to this rule like if the fish is gut hooked or for some other reason not able to be released.
    Cheers Brent

Well done alleycat have to be happy with that well done!!

Mickstar

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarius View Post
    i have decided any snapper i catch over 60cms is going back after a quick photo.

Cheers Brent
    Your kidding , fair dinkum .. i'd have it in the esky before ya could blink.

great fish there mate would haave been fun on the 1500
    gotta love that cyrstal

I love snapper, so for me it is catch and kill- or kill and grille- or even kill it and fillet it. It is allways good to have a fresh feed of snapper, it never gets wasted and with all the
    $$$$ i have spent on my boat and fishing gear i feel there is nothing wrong with taking a feed home.
    Marty.