Still have a lot to LEARN...

Thread: Still have a lot to LEARN...

Still have a lot to LEARN...

Hi All

Headed out with ADAMY in fantastic conditions to Mud at 4ish on Saturday morning. We tried a previously shown spot on the south for not a touch however ADAMY lost a decent fish to a 'rub off'! We then motored around to the eastern side for a look at some new found ground from last week and it also was very quiet with only a couple of little tailor coming on board. Packed up and headed off to the North East marker and finally landed the 1st keeper, a 33cm Sweetie.

AQUARIUS dropped by and told us about his success at Green (with envy, I am that is) and took off for the West. We followed and fished some marks that ADAMY had where the only hint of a fish was the one that sent my livefibre rod loaded with a Tailor fillet careering back into the rod holder like a snapback lure only to discover that my main line had snapped under the force of the hit ! We went back to the South and then the East where ADAMY added a 38cm Squire to the esky before a hot 5 min session on Tailor saw 4 of them in the bucket - all mid 30's!

The high came so we headed off to Green on the way home where i managed another 2 Squire at 38 & 47 and ADAMY another at 38cm before we called it quits after a long day!

While it was a magnificent day on the water, one thing is for sure and that is i need a lot more time at Mud! I know i can catch fish on plastics and i know the TMSK specials work, but knowing where is another story altogether! That is the frustrating bit! I can go to Wello confident more often than not but i'm now starting to doubt the worthiness of going all the way to Mud for an occassional 'BIG' one. I'm not one to give up easily though and i will go again but i have to get smarter about where... Gee i still have a lot to learn!!

Take Care T
    Last edited by T1; 11-03-2007 at 12:39 PM.
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Re: Still have a lot to LEARN...

I went out to Mud on friday morning, had to come home by 9 because i was as crook as a dog,(produced my own burley twice over the side),weve always been hit and miss there, but friday morn were were going good, a fish a cast...ive been looking at all these pics of nice snapper....so there was excitement when the first strike was a ripper, lots of real screaming......after 10 mins brought up a PB cayfish......typical........i know one guy that always comes home with a full esky, thinking a plan might be just to follow him....

Hey JUJU

Yeah, that is one way but i prefer someone to invite to take me to their spot (hope hope hope)... Nothing worse than getting excited like that only to see Mr Catty staring at you! Btw, i was about to register my son with your name (JUJU) as that's what we call him and i saw you had done so yourself! Bugger, now I have to find another nick for him, perhaps J1...

Take Care T

Gidday T,

I will have to get out to Mud again soon, if you can't catch a decent feed there there must be something wrong. I will have to try for myself......soon..... and besides, we will need to practice before the river to Mud Comp just to see what's going on there.

Hey Brian

I'm all ears about a practice session - it can double up as a meet and greet for us too! If you're interested, i'm keen! I'll PM my details later...

Take Care T

Yes... a VERY long day on the water - by the time we hit the shore both of us were almost too tired to speak. But nonetheless being on the water is better than cleaning the house or other associated chores and the company was good (at least from my perspective - I felt a bit sorry for the T man though!) The singing with the homemade lyrics didnt bring the fish on either.

Thanks for the great day T and heres a pic of the fish which we were too tired to be buggered with - minus a couple of Tailor - I already started filleting.

Adam

still a good feed guys iv come home empty handed many atime in trouble with the missus for being 4 hrs longer than i said then get even deeper in it when i fall asleep before tea. theres always more to lern

Looks like I have spotted your problem T1 no Tinn no fish better luck next time you go with out me

Yeah perhaps you should have invited Tinn T1? Im sure you'll suss out Mud eventually, look forward to your reports in May/June titled "T1 reaches PB of 94cm Snapper". Fished Wello yesterday (sunday) for one 51cm Snapper, only fish caught all morning, you were certainly right about the tides!

Mickstar

Still mickstar a 51cm squire is better than no fish well done mate now all you have to do is go out this weekend and bagout on 50cm plus fish good luck
    Last edited by Tinn; 12-03-2007 at 08:32 AM.