-
Reds or Barra???
I had to make a big decision whether to chase some Barra with my mates or head to the reef fishing for Reds with Mum, Dad and little brother Blaike. Dad said that Reds were biting and I heard that the Barra were going off!!
With a forecast of 5-10 knots I decided to head out with Dad & Mum. Left early in the morning and after a dream run out got to our first spot at 6.30 am and dropped a line with a great start landing a cobia on my first bait. Dad landed a good Red around 7 kilo and Mum landing a nice grass sweetlip. (Meanwhile Blaike was still sleeping.) Pulled the pick and headed wide to Dad's secret Red Spot with great anticipation. Arrived at spot, good show on sounder, dropped the pick, and for the next three hours Reds, Reds, Reds. With a mix of good sized red throat, grassies & hussar. Headed home early with sore arms, sore back and an esky full of fish. Great Reds - ranging from 7 kilo to 11 kilo, Mum landed the biggest Red at 11 kilo just beating me with mine being 10 kilo, Dad too busy dehooking fish from mine and Mums lines, he only managed 3 Reds. Had a great day, not sure whether Barra fishing is the only fishing because shit Reds pull. Love CQ.
Narby Pup's Son.
-
Re: Reds or Barra???
Hey Narby, sounds like a great trip mate well done, good feed of quality reefies there, will keep you chewing for a while, top stuff! Cheers Tiger
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
WOW!!! What a trip. There is some excellent fish there. Gotta be happy with a catch like that. Well Done
-
-
Ausfish Addict
Great haul there.Looks like dads secret spot paid off.
The young fella looks pretty pleased with his trout too.
Cheers Scott
-
Think you made the choice champ!
Those Red thing's are much better eating than barra anyway!
that to my taste anyway
Welldone
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I reckon you would have to be happy with the choice you made. That's a great looking catch of fish well done.
Ken
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Hi NP's Son,
I have caught Barra before and I don't think they can pull the skin off a rice pudding compared to Reds or even Snapper for that matter.
Stick with Dad mate. If you want to go fishing with your mates get Dad to take them out with you. Great fish mate.
Frank OO
-
Ausfish Advertiser
Allowed back on the computer hey Lochie? Something worth getting back on the computer for though! Looks like we will have to wait a bit longer for Perko's report.
Last edited by Smithy; 12-03-2007 at 09:18 AM.
-
Well done Lachie. Nice blackall I see too. It's good to get a variety of colours! Best to keep Dad away from the rods. From what I hear you and Mum are the gun fishos.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
great job! now thats a nice feed
cheers dave
-
Ausfish New Member
Great decision Lachie. Gotta love them reds. Good to see the family into it. Was CJ still playing cricket. Dads getting the place worked out now. Good to see. Time for a visit again soon.
Cheers Lucas
-
Nice catch, please tell me you got the mother-inlaw before the reds, I think i would have left that out of those great photo's.