Thread: Scarborough reef best tides

Scarborough reef best tides

Can anyone give me any hints when is the best time to go out to scarborough reef as far as tides. Heading out early tomorrow morning for the first time and it's low at around 8am, will i have any problems in a little 12 ft tinny?

Thanks.

Re: Scarborough reef best tides

mate i will be heading out sunday morning myself with nobby. if you see us i have ausfish on the side of my tinny(the big mofo tuna from tis site). 12 ft is ok to get out there but just keep a eye on the wind as it can get bumpy through there when the wind picks up. we will be soft plastic bashing all morning. From the wind reports it should be pretty good there sunday.

P.s be out there early before every tom dick and harry get there

Quote Originally Posted by steve20v View Post
    Can anyone give me any hints when is the best time to go out to scarborough reef as far as tides. Heading out early tomorrow morning for the first time and it's low at around 8am, will i have any problems in a little 12 ft tinny?

Thanks.

would you be steve 20v from twincam.org forums????? if you are, i am trd16rolla (old car was blue 20v turbo)!!!

anyway, good luck with the fishin mate, look forword to your report!

pete
    " Sea 'n' Things " 420 Quintrex-Suzuki 30

G'day pete, yeh it's me mate! Hopefully i will have something worth reporting tomorrow, last time out was in the pine a few wks ago & it was dismal.

Shaneoo thanks heaps for the info. I'll be launching at around 5.30am so hopefully that's early enough. I need at least a few boats to be around else i won't know where i'm going! I'll keep an eye out for you.
    If it looks like being too windy i'll probably just go down to hayes inlet / saltwater creek and try for some flatties.

i should be out there tommorow also. i'll be fishing squid baits early on and when there is enough light i'll be on the drift with plastics. i'll be in a 3.75 stessco with a 20 hp honda so feel free to say hello and see how i'm doing.

Righto matken, might see you there. I'll be in an old Clark Cutter with a white 20hp Johnson.

One more question if anyone can help - will i get away with a sand anchor or is it too rocky?
    Last edited by steve20v; 10-03-2007 at 07:46 PM.

there is some pretty good reef, rubble and bombies out there so you might be working preety hard to pull the anchor up. however, there is also plenty of mud too, so it may be a case of see how you go.