Thread: My Home Away From Home

My Home Away From Home

Well my new Camel Camper Trailer has been towed from Brisbane to Wagga Wagga. Have travelled a few kilometres and taken a few photos. Click on the camel below to check it out.

Derek

Re: My Home Away From Home

Looks good Derek not sure if it's camping though.
    How long does it take to set-up?

That zip on fly screen ( Gazebo ) and walls are a great idea.

In the sand I put some ' shade cloth ' on the ground as a ' ground sheet. Lets the sand fall through, feels good under foot and can be swept off.

Camping 5 star !!!!

Looks good Derek,

But where's the space for the camp oven????

I'm with you I like my comfort now when I'm camping, we've got ourselves a little Jayco camper fully decked out, we just hook her up and drive off.

The tent is still used but only places like Blakesleys where there's only boat access.

Does it take long to set up Derek??

Phill, good idea with the shade cloth, we use it too under the tent as well, stops sticks and things putting holes in the floor. It just happens to be big enough to use in the annex too when we take the jayco.

Last edited by skippa; 10-03-2007 at 07:24 AM.

Guys

It took me an hour to fully set up and take those photos. Thats with a lot of mucking around with camera and tripod and standing back and admiring as I went

The awning, gazebo and annex all just zip on so I reckon I will get it down to 15 to 20 minutes tops after a few more goes. Took just over 10 minutes to pull it down. It's as easy as, even for me on my own. The more difficult part for me was folding the gazebo and annexe up.

I was thinking of the shade cloth for the floor and also under the tent section as well however have also been looking at a rubberised product made especially for caravan annexes. They had it on rolls at BCF when I was up in Brissie. It is similar to shade cloth in that it is all holes and sand and dirt fall through. Tis a little bit more expensive though.

Tony, I can stack around ten camp ovens in the trailer. Pumpkin fruit muffins in quadruple batches. I need more muffin tins.

Derek

Talking Re: My Home Away From Home

Gezzz what do you use that knife for not for cutting scone i hope

Quote Originally Posted by bruce4x4 View Post
    Gezzz what do you use that knife for not for cutting scone i hope

Uuuuuummmmmmm if you are talking about the one in the drawer its just an ordinary Staysharp carving knife.

I'm definately not a lover of caravans, but something like that near an isolated fishing spot would be great.

I am no expert, but yours looks very practical and worthwhile.

Could definately see that set up for a week at Pancake.

regards r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

top looking setup derek
    good photos except for the second last one bit of rough scenery

is the fly screen the midge proof stuff?
    looking to do something similar in the future and i am interested in what you used and how it is going
    dazza

Hi Dazza

Yep, midge proof screens all round.

I visited the Albury 4X4 and Camping show today and saw some great campervans, some cheaper and some up to $15,000 more than what I paid. I still reckon for value for money, useability and simplicity as far as camping goes the Camel Camper Trailers are tops.

Nothing wrong with that old fella in the second last photo.

Derek

Quote Originally Posted by roz View Post
    I'm definately not a lover of caravans, but something like that near an isolated fishing spot would be great.

I am no expert, but yours looks very practical and worthwhile.

Could definately see that set up for a week at Pancake.

regards r.
    What about a month.

Derek

hi derek,
    where are the camel campers made, have been reading a few trailer mags and haven't noticed them
    dazza

They are at Slacks Creek in Brisbane. http://www.camelgroup.com.au/

Derek

what did you pay for yours in the present state it is in with the anex ect?

Mine retails at $11,305 plus rego. There is a calculator on their website at http://www.camelgroup.com.au/default.asp where you can see all the prices

Derek