Thread: Crab Proof Keeper

Re: Crab Proof Keeper

Quote Originally Posted by thedeckie View Post
    Kev,
    We have a guy at work that makes some subsoil drainage fittings for us using similar caps,mainly to suit 100mm PVC,Im sure I could buy them from him really cheap as he buys them by the thousands.

Let me know if you are interested and I will get you some to trial,just PM me.

OK Paul, thanks for that.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by HONKY DORY View Post
    plumber mate uses something very similar.
    obviously he made his. has one end glued and the other is a screw on (i think).
    so looks like the local plumbing stores will have an influx this weekend.

neil
    Neil, gluing one end causes no end of trouble. If you are using frames as bait, when you come to pack up and pull out the old frame, then the chances are that fin bones will catch in the holes of the keeper, cause you'll be pulling em out in reverse of how you put 'em in. Having a two way option for pulling 'em out gives you a chance that the fins will lay flat at least one way, and not catch in the keeper holes.

It all goes to lighten the load of baiting and un-baiting which can be a bugger if you've got mates with you and have quite a few pots out. Push the frames in one end, so the fins lay flat, and pull 'em out the opposite end so they're still laying flat. You can even mark arrows on the keeper with a laundry marker so that you instantly know which end to open when you're baiting up or packing up.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Bloody great idea, the only thing is why didn't you just start selling them......lmao
    thanks for the idea will try in my pots, use to use the plastic mesh stuff.

cheers Chris
    may you get a bend in your rod and your esky open often

Quote Originally Posted by Navi View Post
    Bloody great idea, the only thing is why didn't you just start selling them......lmao

cheers Chris
    By the time you cost materials and time spent drilling the holes etc, they'd have to sell at 10 bucks a piece to cover labour and that's without costing in a profit margin, which is probably why there isn't already one on the market.

When can i pick mine up Kev?

Mickstar

Top idea kingtin. I have been using cheap gutter guard. $2 for a 15m roll and 1/2 dozen small cable ties. Beats payin 4 or 5 bucks for the same thing in a tackle store. So I got enough to last for ages. I love the idea of using plumbing pipe and end caps. It will take forever for the crabs to get through that. I have used small buckets with clip on lids like 500g m&m buckets. drill heaps of holes in and 1 low cost burley bucket. Your idea doubles as both. . Will definately have to make a couple up for myself. If you wanna sell em then burley buckets/cages cost from $5 and up so You may have a market yet