Thread: Ballina Info.

Ballina Info.

Hi guys - posted this first up in offshore by mistake Going to Ballina (lakes caravan park) 31st March- 1st apr - just the weekend.A friend from work as well as my missus and myself are heading down for the weekend, both of us have 4.4m quintrex tinnies with 25hp.Haven't been down that far since I was a kid (live in Bris Vegas) and would like some info on some good spots and some info on what type of rigs/techniques work well down there at this time, I suppose also what type of fish are good to target at this time.Not looking for secret spots Just some general directions and tips.given the weather, some protected areas as well as good weather areas would be great.Thanks

Re: Ballina Info.

the new pontoons near the ferry, up past the ferry around broadwater and wardell, around that little wall over on the south side (its a little bay can't remember the name), up some of the creeks (Emigrant and Fishery) fishing the snags...these places seem to produce all your common species

If you want herring there is a bay where all the sailing boats moor directly opposite the water slide...its called mobbs bay. The gap between the walls is where they usually hang out.

If you want nippers there is heaps of flats at a place called 'the serpentine' to get here head right to the mouth so you can look out over the bar, then, looking back you will see the river divides in two....the left (south) side is the main river, the right (northish) is called North creek (good whiting fishing), it has the missingham bridge running over it. Go under the bridge and at low tide there are mega sand flats there......there is a channel that runs on the left. to keep heading north west though after about 750 meters needs local knowledge, I still get caught there most times.....now 2 starting points to fish.

- Head to the water slideand go directly out from it (south) you will see the water drops to about 25-30 feet.....keep going and you will see it sharply rise up to 7-8 feet...this is called the bream hole......don't fish the shallow area as you will lose rig after rig....just anchor out directly from the waterslide in 25-30 feet and you should get some fish....bream

Drift live herring about 5 or so meters out from the south wall on the bottom ( 30 feet deep early morning and expect some big flathead.....you need to stay in the area just as the bottom levels out. Please release all the big flatties here. If you give me your word you won't keep any big ones send me a PM and I'll give you a technique that has worked for me.

Good luck, Sean

hi quintrex II
    sean is spot on with his info on the porpoise wall, enjoy the fish but i agree with him about releasing the big girls...please...
    if you go up past the ferry on to the sand flats on right side and flick some plastics around you should pick up a feed of nice flattys...
    up the river further you will come across an island....the main channel is the western side....hug the banks of the island for more flattys and some good bream in the shallows on plastic..up further is wardell bridge...deep water around pylons for school jew on liveys and you may even score a jack if your lucky....hope this helps to make your holiday enjoyable....

regards Maxi

Thanks guys - really good info.

Cheers Lizard Lord.

Max and Sean, we fish for the sport, rather than a feed, so very rare that we keep a fish at all. Think we kept 6-7 last year.

Got my PB flattie last year on the western (bay) side of Moreton 87cm - Beautiful yellow colourings - an absolute beauty.

Will post results when we return. Taking a mate from work fishing with us, so should be some fun times.

Exclamation Re: Ballina Info.

Quote Originally Posted by QuintrexII View Post
    Hi guys - posted this first up in offshore by mistake Going to Ballina (lakes caravan park) 31st March- 1st apr - just the weekend.A friend from work as well as my missus and myself are heading down for the weekend, both of us have 4.4m quintrex tinnies with 25hp.Haven't been down that far since I was a kid (live in Bris Vegas) and would like some info on some good spots and some info on what type of rigs/techniques work well down there at this time, I suppose also what type of fish are good to target at this time.Not looking for secret spots Just some general directions and tips.given the weather, some protected areas as well as good weather areas would be great.Thanks

its good fishing off the ballina walls at dusk and early morning fishing at around 6am to 7:30 am
    good for fishing off the beaches in the morning or late afternoon
    no fishing in the richmond river cause of the flood and all the rain

fishing from the outside of the walls is also offlimits at the moment the no fishing area extends from flatrock south to keith hall lane for the exact closure check out the fisheries website

http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/fisheries/...to-all-fishing

Trent

got info today from a reliable source with results from the suvey that things are looking up, there will be another suvey done in 2 weeks time, and then another just before the easter weekend if catches have inproved the river will be open for easter. they netted 3 tonne of fish in one run from the ferry to wardell mostly mullet but plenty of bream, flathead and whiting. all fish were released exept for mullet and the dead other fish which were being tested by fisheries.

My thoughts !!!!! I think the river should be shut for 6 months for comercial fishing but open for catch and release rec fishing only. Lets give this system a fair chane to recover and in the meantime teach a few more people that fishing isnt just go out to catch a feed.

corby

just in addition to my last post, I understand that these commercial fishoes make their money from this river. BUT there is no use flogging a half dead horse with expectations of winning the race. wait a little longer and we will all benefit. expecilly them in the long run

I couldn't agree more! Ballina (richmond river is a beautiful place with so much potential with the possiblities of getting some huge jew!!! But of course its not the recreational fisho's that f*&^ it up!!! My opinion no commercial fisho's should fish in any esturine system Its time to ban 90% of commercial fishing with the technology we have now we can almost farm everything so why not doit? Just like always we've messed u a place for money and I dont think u can put a price tag on a system like the richmond!! this time it was the farmers what will it take for people to change there ways?????
    SIMON