Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Tackling metreys in the sticks

Re: Tackling metreys in the sticks

Nah not me

To McCod, I use a girls hair braider to twist up my leaders, takes about 60 seconds. All you need is a hook on the wall, loop the line around it and tie both ends to the braider with a loop knot, pretwist the line for 30 seconds by using button 1 then twist up with button 2. The pretwisting is important as it makes it less prone to unravelling. when you cut the ends off, hang onto the line and tie a granny knot in it and keep tension on it while you let the excess twists come out of it otherwise it will recoil up into a bunch. Very easy once you've done a couple. cheers scott mcauley

hi guys, I'm a relative newbie compared to your experience, but I have caught a couple over the metre casting at Faust. my favourite setup is 50 lb Fins braid, tied in a bimini (dont bother counting the turns, I dont know why 70 would be any stronger than 40)
    I then use either a "Lethal Leader" which is a twisted leader sold at Monduran, or a home made plaited leader.
    The main wrinkle I want to add to the discussion is to cats paw the leader through the bimini 3 times and then snug it down along the sides of the bimini loop, so it has several points of contact. It is impossible for this knot to come undone, under extreme pressure the leader will break, leaving the bimini to fight another day. BY the way Harro reckons that a seven turn surgeons loop - a loop grannied around itself with seven turns through the hole- is just as strong as a bimini- and easy to do out on the water.

Why bother with a double at all?
    More knots = more places to fail.
    Slim beauty does not require a double, and I have never had one/seen one come undone.
    JW

Bust ups ...yes well .... 17 hookups at Monduran on Friday only three landed .Twisted leaders didnt stand a chance.....The only place that l could find the fish was ..Well lets just say Jas and Les there is no way that you would have your boats in there....Donated a few lures...Will l be doing back....you betcha....top fun....

You'd be surprised where I'd put my skeeter Trev
    If you saw some of the places I fish for Barra in the salt, you'd know what I mean.
    Skeeter have built these boats with forests in mind, full rubber bounce strip allround. Besides, scratch's bumps??? Thats what the wraps for, absorb the scratches. Might look pretty but its a fishing boat. It dont get no babying from me!
    If I cant put my boat in places where the fish are.........no use bloody having it!
    Maybe not to knock tree's down but.......leave that for the Hornets Then the skeeters have a clear path for 70mph lol
    Cheers mate
    Jas

Slim beauty eh?
    And I've only just got my head around a bimini

Is this the right way to do it?
    http://www.midcurrent.com/articles/k...im_beauty.aspx

Is it well suited for braid to mono?
    Owen

The whole world's mad save thee & me (but I'm not too sure about thee)

Owen,
    Sorry to confuse you mate, Im trying to simpify it really.
    Yep thats the one, and its the most simple, effective knot I have ever used.
    It is perfect for braid to mono, braid to wire, anything to anything really.
    I would TOTALLY recommend you try it out................... I reckon bimini's are best used for what they were designed for,game fishing.
    It goes through the guides a treat, as the name suggests, wont slip (providing you tension correctly). I tension it between my knee's, grab a wrap of each , knees closed then open your knee's to weld the knot.
    You wont go back to doubles, cats paws, uni's, albrights etc again.
    Childs play knot.
    Jas

Yeah Paul sorry for thr late reply..... Yeah can't get up to Monduran till a few days after your end date would of been good to catch up! If ya like i can get sample of one of my braid leaders to ya before ya trip. Not the perfect Barra leader i know but before i started using Braid it was common to get busted off almost every day in Monduran! Another plus is the lure action is so crisp. I used twisted mono leaders for round 12 months or so and they are great but ya can loose some lure action on some lures...... anyway hope you have an Awesome trip!

PS did ya have a play with the braid idea yet? was thinking that 80lb that ya got would probably go OK plaited 3 ply if its faily thick!!

Gday Scott! Thanks for the hair braider tip!! I did try using my daughters hair braider a few years ago but with not much luck...... but i think it was the operator at fault May need some training LOL . Will catch ya up one day!

Cheers Les

Quote Originally Posted by McCod View Post
    Yeah Paul sorry for thr late reply..... Yeah can't get up to Monduran till a few days after your end date would of been good to catch up! If ya like i can get sample of one of my braid leaders to ya before ya trip. Not the perfect Barra leader i know but before i started using Braid it was common to get busted off almost every day in Monduran! Another plus is the lure action is so crisp. I used twisted mono leaders for round 12 months or so and they are great but ya can loose some lure action on some lures...... anyway hope you have an Awesome trip!

PS did ya have a play with the braid idea yet? was thinking that 80lb that ya got would probably go OK plaited 3 ply if its faily thick!!

Cheers Les
    Thanks Les....would love to have a look at how you do it....I'll PM you my details if that's easy.

Might also experiment with Jas's slim beauty connections (without a double).....I'm definitely up for trying new ideas.......I might even try poppering around the timber early morning and dusk to see if a big boy wants to come up top and play

It's been since January since we've been to Monduran so I'm really looking forward to casting my arms off again and looking for some of my many donated gold Vipers

Myself and The Missus have just come back from Monduran. We had varied success that I'm sure SHE will elaborate on in a Full and Detailed Report, But to add here we used both the Slim Beauty and Allbright knots to connect leader to mainline. The Missus Reel only had 20lb Platil braid to connect to single length of 60lb Penn 10X which worked better with an allbright knot.....but I had to lightly crush the top of the fold in the knot when tightened up before giving it another snug up. otherwise a gap would be left at the top of the knot where the 60lb did the "u-turn". Had one fail due to this. the first cast of the morning sent the missus' slick rig and leader to "barra jones locker" leaving just a pig tailed end of the double. tried a slim beauty but found the gaps in the top section couldn't be closed up with all my meagre strength. I used gloves on my hands and several wraps of line plus pliers to the tag end. ended up going back to the albright but it also kept coming undone untill I added the little crush to the U-turn and had no further problems... in fact the same leader, knot and crosslock snap landed 3 more fish (80, 78.5 and 99cm) without any worries.

my reel had 50lb braid which tied up to 60lb 10X (no double) without any dramas.....although the only test of its strength were Trees and 3 catfish.

cheers, Roo.

Roo, yeh heavy leader esp flurocarbon, knots dont like to sit tight.(no matter how hard you pull hehe)
    I use zappa gap glue, its designed for plastic etc wont damage your leader, and will lock that bit of mono that wont pull in.
    Jas

Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    Roo, yeh heavy leader esp flurocarbon, knots dont like to sit tight.(no matter how hard you pull hehe)
    I use zappa gap glue, its designed for plastic etc wont damage your leader, and will lock that bit of mono that wont pull in.
    Jas
    Jas

Is that similar to something like Loctite 401, which I use in making wind-on leaders?

Speaking of wind-ons, has anyone tried one with success? The dacron would have to be 80lb at the most (with 60 leader material maybe) I'd say to retain an acceptable small diametre.

Paul,
    Yeh Im guessing so. I havent used loc tite, but sounds like your using it with success. Probably the same as Zappa gap, and probably the same price too. Bloody expensive but lasts for ages, as you only need a small drop.
    Jas

Ah Ha! I remember thinking I needed to take some glue with me..... Cheers Jas I'll look out for a suitable goop for next time. What about ordinary supa glue?? cheap as chips and available at the local corner store!!

cheers, roo.

PS. I used the slim beauty knot on my rig. It looks ugly but casts through the guides so smooth.