All Round Fisher Person - Page 2

Thread: All Round Fisher Person

Re: All Round Fisher Person

Most of time he hides behind a computer screen keeping the ferets in line.

I have just about settled back into the big smoke and will be getting the Skanky Hoe wet more often.

Been busy building rods, making slugs and doing things offroad. I heard a rumour Brian, that you've put a curse on the fish........ I can't tell you that Greg told me this !!

We'll catch up at the Show.

I consider myself an all rounder when it comes to fishing as I have targeted a wide variety of fish in fresh and salt water from rivers to ocean with a fair bit of success. The only reason this has happened is because I love the challenge of targeting the different species in different situations. Once I get an area wired I never keep going back time after time to flog the same species in the same areas, as where is the challenge in that? I've had plenty of trips where I go and catch heaps of great size fish and then not go back there for a year or much longer unless I'm taking a mate or a family member to expierence a really hot bite or get a fish they REALLY want to catch. It just seems that the more places and situations you fish in with success the quicker you know what to do when presented with a new fishing situation or location. I wouldn't consider myself an expert though.

drawn
    Last edited by drawn; 08-03-2007 at 08:03 PM.

I'll fish wherever there is water and using whatever technique is likely to work. I agree with Phil that there's a great deal of satisfaction to be had in being responsible for the most parts of the process (making and using the gear correctly, then finding the right location etc.) but the catching part's the most fun and shimano do a much better job than I could! You shouldn't be afraid to try techniques used in different styles of fishing in new situations either. That's the advantage of trying plenty of different styles.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

I have been extremely lucky and have had the opportunity to fish all over Australia and around the world. It is amazing seeing and using some of the inventive techniques that anglers have developed to catch different species in their own waters and also imparting any knowledge that may help them out.
    I have always classed fishing as a form of art, and appreciate anyone who gets out there and uses their Skill, Gear, Surroundings, And Ingenuity to come up with something special for themselves and those who care to listen and learn.

Cheers Dave.

bloody hell Phill, have you slept at all in the past 40 years. when's your next tour of your 'everything fishy with Dr. Phill' show coming around, I'll buy a ticket in that.

how's that saying - 'give a man a fish & he'll eat for a day, teach a man every goddam thing about fishing & he'll conquer the world'

top effort mate.

Talking Re: All Round Fisher Person

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    vb4me,

I didn't even get to tell you that I Goggle Earth to find remote landbased headlands from which to track through K's of scrub just to chuck a poppa !

Funny you should say that I do that quite often its not bad hey I have managed to find a couple of wiers near me that I ended up fishing at

I've often described myself as a fishing tragic and it's true, been that way since the age of 5.

I've been extremely lucky or ar$ie which ever way you want to look at it.
    Spent years lure fishing the quiet creeks in the Murwillumbah area for bass, catch and release only.
    Fished the lower reaches of the Tweed, Kingscliff & Pottsville for flathead, jacks, bream etc all on SPs, been lucky to catch a very nice jewie one night near the mouth of the tweed.
    Fished off shore from Point Danger down to Kingscliff & caught every thing from marlin, wahoo, mackeral, kings, dollies, tuna, samsons, trevelly, cobia and many others.
    Caught my share of tailor off the beach, although I am not too flash hot catching beach worms.
    Fished the Namoi and Keepit Dam for yellowbelly, cod, catties, silver perch and 100's of carp unfortunately, even caught a mussel once...true story!!

Fished Moruya on the NSW south coast for drummer & off shore with my Dad for snapper and lizards & also Montague for kings.
    Been lucky to taste the fishing out off Lizard Island many years ago, nothing has ever come close to that place yet.
    Now fish off shore from 1770 trolling for mackeral, cobia, trevelly a magic sailfish once. Tagg & release through a.n.s.a. and a sometime member of native fish Australia.
    Also the bottom bashing for all the nice red fish that live up that way.
    Fished the Hawksbury for hairtail, jewies & bream.
    Fished lake Awoonga for my first, but not last barra
    Fished the beaches of Perth for tailor & whiting, prawned the Swan River and as far north as Derby and Broome.
    Love building rods and do the crosswrap thing as well, I've made the ugliest looking poppers you have ever seen...but they've caught tuna on the nine, made a skirted lure out of a winecask that caught a wahoo as well.
    Mostly out of my beloved old seafarer VC that I've owned for well over 16 years.
    From time to time I get out and fish off the Coffs coast... think that about covers it

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

I will go on the other tact..I would have to be close to being the laziest angler...I did all the serious comp fishing stuff 30 years ago..SQAFCA titles, Telegraph Shield etc..now I go out and sometimes wet a line..if I don't catch anything I don't care...I just love being on the water..quite happy sitting back and reading a book or just watching the world go by.

isnt it a funny thing this fishing, variaty is the spice of life they say, i fished the islands here off mackay this morning(saturday), caught some largeish coral trout 3 to 4 kilo on 80 pound handlines, a spanish bout 8 kilo, and tomorrow i am going to the river to catch jacks and bream using lightly weighted softies, throw in the bycatch of trevally, queenfish and the ever present cod, also love to cast poppers to sootys in the freashwater reaches of the river, i like trying every thing, cant say i have mastered all techs but one day i might.

maybe in forty years i might be able to call myself an all round fisher person .
    but if not i will have enjoyed trying !
    cheers fae haggis .