PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 jewie update
Well as some of you are aware i have been putting in some serious hours in the hope to catch some decent jewies. Put the boat in late sunday arvo , the tide was high just afterdaurk and armed with some fresh occy and live herring i thught my chances were high. I deployed the first rod with some occy and let it sit while i prepared the second rod when the sound i have been longing to hear began. the slow but strong tick of the drag. I grabed the rod and went over thing is my head while my heart rate picked up with anticipation. Wait for the second run, wait for the second run. The second run came in a big way. she took off and with it abour 100m line. Take it easy , take it east i said, and then into the second run , whack, i am on. You bloody ripper! She took off like a freight train and i was loosing line fast, managed to turnsits head and gain some line before she was off again aven stronger than before. About another ten minutes later and no line really gained my heart began to sink, from what i ahve learned this bugger shold be coming in belly up or it is a true beast or it is no Jewie. Unfortantely the later was correct. With my trusty deckie with gaff at the ready, we both peered into the murky water to be greeted with a set of nasty teeth thrashing at the boat. IT WAS A BLOODY SHARK! About three foot long. My heart sank and i just about thrrewe my gear over board. Oh well, had fun, my knots held and the new rod worked well. Back to the tide chart and my next mission.
Still Jewienewie
gday jewie should start to get better tides at night towards end of month.think i will start puttn in the time soon.well done with the shark.p.s you seem to get more jew in the river in winter !
Where do you get your octopus. Ive only seen the imported vietnamese variety and it is crap. Did manage to score some fresh occy a while back ,and would like to get some more.
Rando
Rando, i get my occy from the local seafod shop in Byron, the stuff is bloody fresh, that fresh that when i got home i cooked up the left over bait in a stir fry with some sweet chilli sauce, wife said it was awsome, didnt tell her it was left over bait though!!
Aussiefool, havent done alot of surf fishing for jewies yet, been off northwall at ballina a few times butvery frustrating. Have hooked a few but had a prick of a time dealing with the rocks and have not been able to get them up, need a very long gaff and a mate who kows how to use it. I was using the occy and live herring but the occy gave me more runs than the herring this night but i was using a hook to small for the size of the occy, the bait was crowding the hook, had a few runs but failed to hook up, i was usinga 4/o red mustard hook, think i should hae been using something bigger due to the size of the occy?
I will persist, I will persist!
Ida, yeah, everyone tells me winter is the go, but i have the bug, cant wait till winter, would like to get a few under my belt before the season kicks in so i can get really stuck into them when there on.
Still Jewienewie
Try using a stinger hook with the occy, i think it will improve your hookup rates a fair bit. I will down there at easter giving them a crack off the rocks and in the holes.
A stinger hook is another hook usually below or above your baited hook, this can be used of your main line with some mono or used like a gang but not used to hold the bait. They are mainly the set hook.