Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

Re: Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

I have had some beauty sleep and feeling sort of awake. Now for the things I can remember.

Arriving at the camp site the ‘ girls ‘ decided that we should pitch the tents in the gully. After a brief explanation about gravity and water, sun and shade, we erected the ‘ palace ‘ on the flat close to the fire-ring and tap. Set up the kitchen ( how many stoves / bbq;s did we have ? )

All up in no time thanks to thedeckie and crew. Lunch consisted of fresh buns and a cooked chook we grabbed at Woodford on the way through. Time to hit the roads. I left my ‘ dirty weekends ‘ book at camp with some visitors ( Kimbras sister and bro-in-law ) as they were maybe going to hit the lookout, but not straight away as they only had a ‘ softroader ‘.

‘A’ Break was good so far as steep stuff and views, then came the Hill. Ok, for those with diff locks it probably is nothing, but there is a gap in between two trees that we’ll say is narrow. I hit both mirrors. Prior to me going up, I walked it a bit to get myself aquainted with the ‘ obstacles “. Upon return, I asked my passengers ( 2 x 10y/o’s ) to hop out. They agreed quickly. They could see the ‘ issues ‘ that may occur.

Tackled the hill and reached the top with a relief that not only did I make it without rolling back down, breaking anything or embarrassing myself. Go the Nissan.

Poodroo, Mal and Black_Rat followed, with the Poo and Damo having a second shot at the rock due to a mis-alignment. But, all’s good and to the top they went. Mal did it easy. All agreed it was an experience and that they have a new found appreciation of what a true ( and standard ) 4WD can do.

Headed home and ran into Brett at the bitumen, as we were about to head off for a nature walk. Some of us did the ‘ loop ‘ twice……..DOH ! No, it wasn’t me.

The track alluded to in an above post by Brett… Yes, I saw it and took off , but before you realize it, you are going skywards and I ain’t stopping to slame it into low range. That’d mean…..going backwards. Seriously, I am still amazed we got up that hill/ track in 2WD. OK, we got bounced a little, spun the wheels just about all the way up, but we made it.

Had a swim and settled in for the night. Dinner was cooked and eaten, although the organized cook for our crew became entangled with a stranger called “ Black Douglas “ and resorted to only doing the salad.

The conversation ring of chairs…………plenty of lubrication…….full moon.. does it get any better ?

The kids were all great, tending the fire, sparklers, glow sticks etc. Really a credit to the parents.

Well, one by one the gang headed to bed, with the boys, Damo, Mike, Brett, Paul and myself left at the death. With Brett holding a beer and sleeping we decided that maybe we can use some shuteye for tomorrow. In the morning, Mike told me it was 2.45am when we hit the mattress. Bugga, as I was up daybreak along with some of the kids.

A wake up swim, cuppa and time to cook breakie. Bacon, snags, eggs, onions, toast. Yummo. Again, one by one the troops arose looking a little worse for wear.

Off we head again I took an interesting side track and managed to put us at the A Break Y junction, which meant we bypassed ‘ The Gantry Day Use Area “. The Hill was in our sites once again. Myself, Poodroo and Brett beat it. Damo said that once was enough, Mike is, as he said, still a novice and may have a crack next time, Paul is taking the “ not my 4WD “ approach. It’d be hard to explain to the boss !!!

Headed back to camp and packed. ( thanks for the assist, Trudey and Andrew ) Did I gloss over it ? Yep. Why, well, turn up at the next one and you will find out. Ya just hadda be there !!!!!!!

Who turned up… mmm memory, we’ll have a try:-

Phill ( me ) , Kimbra, Amber, Thomas, Paul, Liz, Mitchell, Mike, Bec, Andrew, Trudey, Kyle, Sheray, Mal, Tanya ( didn’t get meet the kids ), Damo, Brett, Greg, Sue, Andy, Linley and Niel. Goanna’s, Kookaburras and the rest of the wildlife.

Poodroo, Mal and Black_Rat followed, with the Poo and Damo having a second shot at the rock due to a mis-alignment. But, all’s good and to the top they went. Mal did it easy. All agreed it was an experience and that they have a new found appreciation of what a true ( and standard ) 4WD can do.
    I was suprised what they can do ! My first comment to someone when seeing the hill and Lucky_Phil at the bottom was "..is he (expleitive) serious ??? "

Getting up the hill made my weekend, only a few superfical scratches from the deadend tracks

And a few minor chips out of the rear tyres, self inflicted in 2WD going around corners with a bit too much right boot

Pic of the offending rock with Lucky_Phil giving guidence, check out the rear wheel
    Last edited by Black_Rat; 06-03-2007 at 06:03 PM.

All i can say is the pics dont do it justice, that was a steep track, well done guys

Yes, it was quite a challenging hill. I'm lucky, the diff locks made it an easy job. But it was still technically challenging trying to get the 'lux through without taking out the sides of the ute or removing the awning via a tree. Some VERY tight turns while negotiating huge washouts.

Cudos to the standard 4WDs, champion effort getting them up there!!

PS: I may have fallen asleap, BUT I DIDN'T SPILL THE BEER!!!!

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

What can I say..........that hill was abit nasty for a novice like me and of course not wanting to damage the new girl.

I think someone else may have said it,no matter how many photo's or video you had of that hill it's not the same as being there.

Had a great weekend,finally put a few more faces to names.Thanks to the organisers and those people who couldn't be there all weekend but came up to say gidday.

can I make a suggestion for the next one.........Double Island Point,that way we could have a fish as well,maybe there are other spots that people could nominate.

Quote Originally Posted by thedeckie View Post
    What can I say..........that hill was abit nasty for a novice like me and of course not wanting to damage the new girl.

I think someone else may have said it,no matter how many photo's or video you had of that hill it's not the same as being there.

Had a great weekend,finally put a few more faces to names.Thanks to the organisers and those people who couldn't be there all weekend but came up to say gidday.

can I make a suggestion for the next one.........Double Island Point,that way we could have a fish as well,maybe there are other spots that people could nominate.

G'day Paul. Always open to suggestions mate. Some time ago I did a thread which basically started the ball rolling. There were some very good ideas as to places to go in that thread. This is the link to it if you want to have a look through. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=88402

Sounds like a good time was had by all.

I'd love to say I was wondering how the M&G was going while I was sitting on a beach in Fiji drinking rum, but that'd be a lie.

Hopefully my ute will be back on the road this/next week, so we'll be ready for the next outing.

See you there.

C.J.

GBC,
    glad your trucks back on the road soon, Fiji drinking rum, now that wouldnt have been too bad either.

who is the good looking bloke next to my missus in the pic????

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    who is the good looking bloke next to my missus in the pic????
    Um that would be you I believe Greg. Once again thanks for dropping in on Sunday. Was good to see you and Sue again.

Ausfish Platinum Member thedeckie's Avatar

That's not Greg,that's Sue's toy boy..........good looking young fella too!!!!!

LOL Paul...good looking is one thing I doubt I would ever be called...usually the grumpy old bugger.

Retrieved a couple of shots off the other camera that Trudy was using and realized a couple of photos she took actually show to a slightly better degree of steepness and also difficulty with trees with the hill climb so I thought I would share them as well. One is of Phill heading up in the Navara and me in the Pajero. The shots also show the washouts we had to negotiate.

On a side note, I found ( or at least I think I have ) the whistling noise that started on the way up to Mt Mee on Saturday and bugged me the whole weekend.

It appears that a piece of plastic was broken on the radiator shroud and was getting caught in the fan, this only happen at speed as the air was sucking it towards the fan and therefore touching it making THAT sound. So, it was not the turbo, zippy tie around the tailshaft or a leaf caught in the aircon vents.

Also found a couple of small dings in the drivers door. looks like I threw up a stick or two !!!

Good to see NO incriminating photos went up. I will say that the folk at Woodford on Sunday were bemused at the sight of a person filling their ' onstreet ' wheelie bin with many things making glass like sounds. 4 bags of bottles and one carton. mmmmm somebody likes the giggle juice ????

bring on the rain I say. Good idea Paul, hit the beach next time, Bribie, Double Island, Rainbow.............. Sittin next to the fire, sucking a coldie watching the tailor cook on the barbie........ yep, I can live with that...!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    Retrieved a couple of shots off the other camera that Trudy was using and realized a couple of photos she took actually show to a slightly better degree of steepness and also difficulty with trees with the hill climb so I thought I would share them as well. One is of Phill heading up in the Navara and me in the Pajero. The shots also show the washouts we had to negotiate.

That looks to be a nice warm up track that one...was there anything else out there apart from this one hillclimb...anything more challenging? Could be worth a look if there is more challenging tracks out there.