Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

Well the much anticipated event for '07 for the Ausfish explorers has finally happened and what a time we had. It all began with an idea and was well organized and implemented by our great organizer Lucky_Phill so once again a huge thanks on behalf of everyone who attended for the amount of work that was put into the trip. I thought I would get the post started same day because I just couldn't wait until tomorrow.

The weekend started with all vehicles packed and on their way with a view to set up camp as early as possible so we could get more 4wd'ing time. Meeting time was roughly 10am at Mt.Mee and I have to say that considering most of us came from different directions we all seemed to be close to the time and were busy setting up camp. For me personally my day started with Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) meeting at my place and following me to our first meet up point being the Caltex servo at Carseldine where we were joined by Black_Rat (Damo) and Igutso (Mike&Bec). Setting off from there at a little after 9am we arrived at Mt.Mee just after 10am and the flurry of activity happened as soon as we arrived getting the camp set up in almost record time. Soon after Phill and crew turn up and organized the official campsite complete with Ausfish sign. Also arriving with Lucky_Phill and crew was The_Deckie (Paul and Liz) in his Navara AKA fuel sucking rocket.

With the camp all set up we wasted no time in jumping in the cars and setting off on the first adventure. Loads of dust and some moderate to challenging hills were experienced but then we found "THE HILL" which was steep and all washed out. With fear in everyone's eyes we all watched in dismay as Phill (after having all of his passengers bail out) proceeded to send his "repaired" Navara up the hill crunching and grinding his way up slowly but surely. He did indeed make it all the way to the top and then left all the rest of the party shaking their heads mostly saying "That's mad, I am not going up there!" To show what Toyotas are made of Mal (Cruiser93) puts his Cruiser into gear and up he goes also with a full car load of passengers . Next thing Poodroo (Me) cranks life into his Pajero and selects low range and off he goes with son Kyle barracking excited chants. One word quickly came to mind as I started up the hill but I cannot type that word here beause this is a family site but you all get the idea. Whilst doing the insane climb I saw Phill running down the hill because he discovered a lovely not so well positioned rock in the middle of the track near the top and there was only one way to get over it and with his guidance I would pick the correct way to get over it. Misreading the hand signals I tried clearing it by going straight over the top only to hear that infamous crunch followed by an abrupt stop. Once momentum is halted on such a climb things get rather hairy especially when one has to reverse partially back down the hill. With some manouvering I was back on the climb and up and over the rock and made it to the top which I reckoned had to be worth 10 on the bragometer.

Not to be outdone I hear the noise of yet another vehicle doing the climb and to my surprise it was Damo (Black_Rat) coming up the hill. My guess is that he thought if a ratty Pajero can do it then so could his Navara. Crunch on the same rock I believe and exactly the same run he did but he also made it to the top.

After the hill we set for camp looking forward to some dinner and laughs over a camp fire and of course some drinks. What a great time and it just seemed to get better. Mal and family were only doing the day trip so before it got too late we said our goodbyes and he set the Cruiser up for the homeward journey. Late Saturday night another vehicle pulls up and all we could see in the fireglow was the reflective jacket on someone who looked rather official and we assumed it was the local ranger coming to check things out. Wrong, it was actually fellow Ausfisher Andy (Dirt_Dag) coming to say g'day. After some socializing he set off home and left the permenant campers to continue the good times.

After minimal sleep some rather sorry looking campers (not mentioning names at this point because the photos will tell all) got up for breakfast only to hear yet another vehicle pulling up. A huge surprise when we realized it was Pinhead (Greg) and his lovely wife Sue who decided to join us for breakfast. Some more laughs were had and once they left it was back into some serious offroad again. Mt. Mee will never be the same but we saw a lot of it and yes we had to do the big hill again for Brett1907's sakes seeing as he arrived late "AGAIN" and missed some of the action experienced by the on time crew earlier Saturday. We did not disappoint and once again Phill sends the Navara up a second time as did I in the Pajero followed by Brett in his Hilux.

With Sunday quickly drawing to a close we set off back to camp to pack up and take in the weekend that we shared. Everyone who turned up I think weren't disappointed. The kids all had a ball as well and the waterhole was a popular venue for them. Thanks to all who came to the first official M&G and hope we can do another one soon. Sorry Mike if I got in before you in putting the report up but I was putting in photos from the camera and thought I may as well keep going. Once again congratulations to Mike and Bec for your engagement. The cake was lovely thanks Phill and it even doubled up as a birthday cake for Pinhead when he turned up. Win win situation!!!!!

Last edited by Poodroo; 05-03-2007 at 05:33 AM.

Re: Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

More pics of the trip.

And because you liked the last lot of photos so much here is some more.
    Last edited by Poodroo; 04-03-2007 at 09:59 PM.

And finally congratulations to the engaged couple.
    Last edited by Poodroo; 04-03-2007 at 09:55 PM.

Just a couple of more shots.

Last edited by Poodroo; 04-03-2007 at 09:57 PM.

I didn't hear any of Poodroo's bush poetry,

I was not enlightened by the_deckies, mudcrab secrets, but

As promised, I conducted the Mixed drinks experiment. ( some ) XXXX, ( many ) Jimmy Beam, ( plenty ) Champers, assorted ( found ) Reds, more cold and gold XXXX. So, who was last to bed and who was first to rise ?

Others here will enligthen you on the following subjects:-

Exhuast or not to Exhuast.

I'm Late again !

Campfire Dancing !

Sleeping during conversations !

Can I buy fuel somewhere ?

We did that hill in 2WD......!!!

Donut corner .. !

" Nope, this roads a dead end ".

NO, head the ' other ' south . >>> ???

Yes, he often cuts down trees in the middle of the night !

" are we there yet ? "

" when was the last time you recharged that battery ? "

" I'll have to show you how to operate that shower ?? !!!! "

Who is the right man for the job ? tail end Charlie !!

I only hit that tree twice ?

Don't follow me, I DO break stuff !

Where does this track go.....who cares........Left turn .....!

I turn it on, it goes out, I turn it off , it stays lit..............ffs !!!

I've had about 2 and a bit hours sleep since sat morning. Feeling a bit drowsey. Might hit the hay.

I will try to get the Video footage up and running by Tuesday night, The guilty should respond to the abovementioned . occurances ".

My report will follow with the footage.

G'night ............Phill

Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) also made it up THE HILL on the Saturday once was enough for me up that thing

Quote Originally Posted by Black_Rat View Post
    Cruiser93 (Mal & Family) also made it up THE HILL on the Saturday once was enough for me up that thing
    Oh but of course. That will teach me to do a report when I should have been in bed asleep. I added in the appropriate "forgotten" bit of information into the main post. Thanks Damo.

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    I didn't hear any of Poodroo's bush poetry,

I was not enlightened by the_deckies, mudcrab secrets, but

As promised, I conducted the Mixed drinks experiment. ( some ) XXXX, ( many ) Jimmy Beam, ( plenty ) Champers, assorted ( found ) Reds, more cold and gold XXXX. So, who was last to bed and who was first to rise ?

Others here will enligthen you on the following subjects:-

Exhuast or not to Exhuast.

I'm Late again !

Campfire Dancing !

Can I buy fuel somewhere ?

Donut corner .. !

" Nope, this roads a dead end ".

NO, head the ' other ' south . >>> ???

Yes, he often cuts down trees in the middle of the night !

" are we there yet ? "

" when was the last time you recharged that battery ? "

" I'll have to show you how to operate that shower ?? !!!! "

Who is the right man for the job ? tail end Charlie !!

I only hit that tree twice ?

Don't follow me, I DO break stuff !

Where does this track go.....who cares........Left turn .....!

I've had about 2 and a bit hours sleep since sat morning. Feeling a bit drowsey. Might hit the hay.

I will try to get the Video footage up and running by Tuesday night, The guilty should respond to the abovementioned . occurances ".

My report will follow with the footage.

G'night ............Phill
    Okay okay. I have to assume the exhaust thing was in relation to me so I'll go first in explaining it. Quite early in the trip I noticed I had a rattle under the car. Didn't worry about it too much because everyone assured me that after doing this sort of driving all 4wd's develop extra rattles however after my first extreme hill climb the rattle was a lot louder and to me and everyone who heard it we immediately thought of the exhaust system esoecially since I got hung up a little on a rock during my first climb. The rattle by day 2 became a thumping noise so I decided to have a look under the car only to discover that the exhaust is fine but all the rubber stops for the suspension system are perished and stuffed and one in particular had flogged right out and was non-existent. Once I hit bitumen on my way home I realized that the car was handling strangely and in fact it was downright dangerous. Had to limp it home and decide that I can't use it for work until it is fixed. Will see what damage was done today when I drop the car into the workshop.

HI All,

Podroo beat me to the report, Bec and I had a great time, company was great, the laughs many, the driving fun,, for someone like me I went from a complete novice to just a novice. I learnt so much about what a 4Wd is capable of.

Thanks everyone for the cake and champers for Bec and our engagement, we where very touched, our highlight of the weekend.

As for the driving, doing A break for the first time for a novice like me had the eyes bulging especially downhill.... I was in 4WD high ( later at the bottom was told should have been in 4WD Low.. you get that... next time we did it I was far more relaxed, (discovered engine breaking... now thats a good thing) the following day when we tackled it again, Bec was looking around commenting on the scenery, that says it all.

As for that hill, well all i can say is the photo doesnt do it justice, when Phil went off I didnt expect him to reappear, then Poodroo, Cruiser and Black Rat all went up. That left me and Paul. Paul and I looked at each other, decided that we where more than happy a Nissan had made it up and met them the otherside. Next time knowing what i do now id probably tackle it.

All i can say to all who went, thanks for the good times and laughs. Ill post some piccies later when i find the camera charger.

Now that was a fun weekend. Met some great poeple, found some great tracks and lookouts, saw some wildlife and drank some amber and red fluids! Now to the explanations!!!

I'm Late again !

Well, this time it was anticipated. Had to take my daughter to dancing in the morning so couldn't get up there till after lunch anyway. Then I had every car on the D'Aguilera Highway doing 80 in the 100 zone. But I made it, and after dropping the more breakable supplies off at the camp site I was able to catch up to the convoy for some gravel road driving. 2WD is all you need in the 'lux!!

It started with the deckie showing off his new gas lantern. No matches needed! So out ame all the lights. I had a nice new dual fuel this with a clear glass so should have been the brightest. Well, first of all my flash clicker thingy broke so I couldn't light it. I borrowed Poodroos and got it lit. It was too bright so I turned it down. By the time I sat down it had decided to turn itself off. Over I go again and its still too bright. There is enough light so I just turn it off. IT STAYS ON for about 10 minutes!!

Campfire Dancing !

If a lady asks me to dance (& I've had enough to drink) I will always dance with her (whether or not I can dance).

Thats what too much red wine does to you.

Now, I decided to follow Phill back to camp on Saturday. We lost the rest of the group on one of his 'famous' short cuts. I was also the only one with enough courage (read: INSANITY) to keep up with him. Phill then turns into this little track and proceeds up the hill. By the time we were half way up I'm sure we were both thinking 'I should be in 4WD for this'! Too late now, I wasn't going to stop. So the right foot guts flattened to keep momentum (and engine revs) up. My spare tyre came loose in the back and I could hear it flying around in the canopy. Near the top the 'lux starts to labour a little (thats the problem with petrol, you need the revs if in 2WD) and I'm trying to push the pedal through the floor. We got to the top!! What a rush!!

Donut corner .. !

Some others may have experienced this, but I'm approaching an intersection only to see dust and Phills ute going in circles. I've heard of 'eenie meenie miny moe' to choose which way to go but thats rediculous! So after he started off down a track I just had to have some fun too!

I think thats it. It was a great weekend and 'The Hill' was interesting. As I came up and around one of the trees there is Phill pointing at the rock, Oh #^%$ I said and line it up with the left tyre. Over, bang, and continued up the hill. At the top there was smoke coming from under the bonnet!!!!! Checked it out and it was just a bit of old oil caught in the oil filter drain point. Thank #%^* for that. I'd never have lived that down!

Oh yeh, SOMEONE put a glow stick in my beer!!! At least I couldn't loose it that way!!

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Smile Re: Mt.Mee 4x4 M&G Report

Sorry guys but time was against me on this one.

Caloundra and I did intend to pop out an see you on Sunday.

That hill I remember it well along with a few others out there and for the first time you can just see this is just going to hurt the back pocket, but it is a buz when you get there in one piece.

No doubt there will be many more of there trips in the future cause it sounds like a real Hoot was had by all.

Will be looking out for the next one.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Sounds like you all had a ball!!! Great stuff My dad (with a slightly bigger boat to me) was crook and didn't want to go fishing this weekend and a mate of mine who was keen missed a dentist appointment friday and had to rebook for sat morning so I never made it out
    Went sunday morning instead up the creek and caught nothing but catfish Going by this I should have come up to mt mee

Next time guys

Brandon...

Hopefully this little video says something. Obviously you cannot begin to understand how steep this is without being there.

There is no audio......... I have more video and may produce it later.

If you notice Poodroo's Paj coming up the hill, just after he hits the ' rock ' you'll see them front end hit hard and it left a good impression in the centre of the rod.

That's right Brett, forgot about the > night time illuminated beer bottle !!

Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 05-03-2007 at 11:58 AM.

Cool video clip Phill. Here's a quick cryptic one for you.
    What is the relation between a natural gas pipeline and chilly beans?
    Got my car over to Brad this morning and all is fixed and good again. Needed new trailing arm bushes. Mine were gone completely.