Thread: Bloody Beaut Bait

Thumbs up Bloody Beaut Bait

g'day all
    with the fraser classic fast approaching our team is in search of good size quality pillies so i called into Bremer Bait's packing plant to see what they have on offer .
    After explaining to Trevor that we need up to about 45kilos of pillies and squid to present to the local reds(hungry i hope)over our two week stint at fraser , he said come and have a look in the freezer room at what we have .
    They do 15kilo boxes of loose good to large size pillies that he was only to happy to open up and show me and he let me dig right to the bottom and there is no frozen juice or broken fish laying in there , they also have mega arrow squid 3 to a criovacked(sp) bag , also bags of 4 slimiy macs and souries(they look like a extra long pillie but tougher) that have the second highest oil content of any fish .

i took a bag of each out yesterday(see offshore report) to try and let me tell ya that some of the pillies are the biggest i've ever seen and when thawed werent all mushy like some i've used before and the snapper and grassies loved em , the souries went well as a cubed bait being that they are so long and the squid are freaky they are so big but cut up they worked best if we put a tenticle on first up the hook so it waved in the water like a worm and then filled the rest of the hook with a ring , but i can't wait to float a whole one down into the face of a huge red or snapper up at fraser.
    Trevor also said if we had trouble storing our bait before we go that he was happy to box it all up and keep it there untill we go .
    If anyone wants to check it out for themselves they are at 19 tubbs street in the industrial area of clontarf or ya can ring Trevor or his wife Karen on 32843844 and they will be only to happy to help ausfishers out with a good deal.

cheers swano

coupla piccies
    Last edited by swano; 04-03-2007 at 03:26 PM.

Re: Bloody Beaut Bait

thansk for the info swano.
    its always hard to find a good bait shop

Thanks for that info Swano, didn't know such a place existed at Clontarf. The bait they have on offer sounds very good and you would know just how hard it is to find good quality bait.
    Thanks again mate.
    Obi_Wan.

forgot to mention the best part is their price heaps cheaper than other places , just tell them that i recommended them and they will look after you
    cheers swano

Great info swano, just wish I was a few 00ks closer!
    Used to be able to buy fresh squid at the local co-op, but nowadays mostly sold before it hits the floor!
    Cheers!

Quote Originally Posted by nigelr View Post
    Great info swano, just wish I was a few 00ks closer!
    Used to be able to buy fresh squid at the local co-op, but nowadays mostly sold before it hits the floor!
    Cheers!
    where abouts are ya nigelr ? they do truck stuff up to townsville and down to gosford might be worth a phone call
    cheers swano

Hmm,

The Bremer bait that I have bought here in Cairns has always been substandard.

I've bought bags of poddy mullet here at reputable tackle shops (not one of those mega tackle shops that can't be named); and it is barely on the hooks for longer than 30 seconds before it's gone.

The other week I bought two bags of prawns to take the kids fishing with and the price that i paid for it ($4.50 odd per bag) was disgusting when the majority of the stuff you struggled to get a 2/0 hook into without demolishing the bait the prawns were so small. Probably a third of the bag ended up getting tossed in as berley they were that small...

These two experiences have led me to believe that Bremer is a warning label, not a brand

I suppose that fair is fair when you can get it from the packing plant it's going to be a better quality, but this stuff is shocking. Even taking into account that they probably truck it up here in fridge trucks, it's like the stuff has been defrosted about two times and then refrozen on the way up

Andrew.
    =============
    W: www.agt.id.au
    M: 0410 834 486

Quote Originally Posted by Synful View Post
    Hmm,

The Bremer bait that I have bought here in Cairns has always been substandard.

I suppose that fair is fair when you can get it from the packing plant it's going to be a better quality, but this stuff is shocking. Even taking into account that they probably truck it up here in fridge trucks, it's like the stuff has been defrosted about two times and then refrozen on the way up
    synful
    thats got to be the problem right there with the transport or may be the fact that there is so many poddy mullet and prawns to be caught in the creeks rivers and drains around cairns that the frozen stuff sits in the freezer for years until sum chump buys it .
    i suppose i am spoilt that i only live 10 mins from the plant but the information was more directed at locals.
    cheers swano

Quote Originally Posted by swano View Post
    synful
    thats got to be the problem right there with the transport or may be the fact that there is so many poddy mullet and prawns to be caught in the creeks rivers and drains around cairns that the frozen stuff sits in the freezer for years until sum chump buys it .
    i suppose i am spoilt that i only live 10 mins from the plant but the information was more directed at locals.
    cheers swano

Hi Swano,

I tend to agree that the problem is most likely the transport issue (that poses a lot more questions that it answers) more than anything else.

The amount of bait fish in Cairns a possible contributor but more a case of the time of year than anything else I feel.

I went out with another Ausfisher recently here and we spent about an hour trying to get some live bait with no luck - the amount of fresh in the water was ridiculous. Others at the ramp also commented that there was next to no bait around either; I'd say this is when most of the frozen bait shipped from Brisbane or elsewhere is sold.

It's just frustrating that when you do have no alternative to frozen bait it's all crap and falls off the hook(s) within one or two bites.

Based on what you are saying I don't feel (now) that the problem is with the bait vendor, perhaps the transport methods as earlier indicated.

Cheers!!!

Andrew.
    =============

sounds like it's time to give some of the scented plastics a go or just big paddle tails like the tsunami's , barra love em
    cheers swano

Quote Originally Posted by swano View Post
    sounds like it's time to give some of the scented plastics a go or just big paddle tails like the tsunami's , barra love em
    cheers swano

Swano, just sent you a PM.

Andrew.
    =============