Thread: Noob - please help

Noob - please help

hey everyone.
    i've never ever been freshwater fishing. from what i'm led to believe i can pretty much go into any little creek around here (i live in Lismore north NSW) and expect to catch bass or EP's.

is this true, and is it worth me going for a walk? i have a creek in mind and lots of little SP grubs and things to play with

Re: Noob - please help

Quote Originally Posted by LizardLord View Post
    hey everyone.
    i've never ever been freshwater fishing. from what i'm led to believe i can pretty much go into any little creek around here (i live in Lismore north NSW) and expect to catch bass or EP's.

is this true, and is it worth me going for a walk? i have a creek in mind and lots of little SP grubs and things to play with

It's always worth a try mate, you never know if you dont try! I've pretty much fished every stream around canberra and i have my favourite spots, so do the same thing in your area and keep your favourite spots close to hand.

Take a few lures with you and some bait and see what you catch!

Best of luck hey

Clean fresh water with a bit of flow + weed beds + lots of mullet of varied size = wild bass. Don't know the area but be prepared to go for a walk and wade through some of the shallow stretches to get to the deep holes. Best wild bass snags tend to be overhanging grevillia, big dead trees sticking out of weed beds or back eddies beneath a set of rapids. Good luck. If you have any small hardbodies or surface poppers around 50-60mm give them a flick.

I lived in Victoria for 25 of my 32 years and have done heaps of E.P fishing in the Gippsland systems etc. They are hard to find but great fun as they school up in the snags and you can catch heaps if your lucky-and release heaps too. They were under threat down there from all the info i could get on them. Drop us a pm i you need specifics on trace and lures!

thanks for all the info so far. is there anyone who knows the area at all willing to shed some light on their tactics??

and yes Ben i would be releasing all my fish

emigrant creek, duck creek, woodburn, casino, clarrie hall dam, toonumbar, any where around the kyogle area. did my 9 years at uni there in aquaculture and know the area like the back of my hand. any more info just email me. if you go towards nimbin (clarrie hall) there is some kick ass spots for wildies. heaps of areas around this area. are you at uni, as i know a few guys who have done their phd on the species in the area.

kind regards

Get down there early and give it a go with some poppa's.