Thread: Camping Bribie Beach

Camping Bribie Beach

G'day all, haven't been to Bribie in years, see that the sites are numbered and require registration(good thing), looking at taking the family, wife, 3 young kids and woundering about the different sites, what is your faviorate site, can you recomond any. We are under a 30x24 tarp, vehicle + trailer( the days of travelling light are long gone) and don't wan't to be in a mass site. Definately won't be going school hols.

Re: Camping Bribie Beach

mate are you looking at a camp site in a park or on the beach,,,,

the surf beach allows camping in designated areas only....which is more to the northern end of the island,,,, access by 4b only and yes permits are needed,,, i buy an annual permit,,, but i think its around 13-14 bucks a day

the calm side has only just extended the tracks north to get you as far as coochin creek on the mainland side,,, again camping in designated areas,,,, gallaghers point,,, poverty creek etc etc and once more permits are required

the caravan park at bongaree just up from the bowls club is the safest bet to acquire permits,,, as this is manned during business hours,,, or else take your chances at the ranger station in whitepatch which happens to be next door to the track heading up the calm side

if your chasing a park,,,, the safest by far is either the council park at bongaree,,,, close to all amenities,,, water,,,ramp,,, and parks,,,, or the surf side park at woorim which again has the beach,,,shops parkland etc on its doorstep,,,

if all else fails give the tourist info mob a call,,, they can fill you in with all the parks etc avail

hope this helps

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Thanks for the info, looking for peoples prefered sites on the ocean side and why.

watto,,, on the surf side you have no choice,,,,, theres only one area where they allow,,,, no preference's,,, thats it

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Red face Re: Camping Bribie Beach

Hi Watto
    We were up Bribie not long ago. Camp site 47 is pretty good. Shade and room to park vehicle. not far from loo either!!!!!!!
    Best advice is to drive up and have a look for yourself or go up and then check out all the camp sites. If you go online they will tell you the availability of the sites available and you can also book on line which i usually do. If you haven't a beach permit you can also organise this online. 12 months is your best bet.
    They give you the approximate size--- 1 tent, camper trailer, 8 persons etc but this is not something i would go off. Like I said best bet is to check things out for yourself.
    Hope this helps.

Ronnie h
    Last edited by Mrs Ronnie H; 03-03-2007 at 09:57 AM. Reason: name

I have never driven on the Bribie beach. I just checked out the permits on-line. The yearly permit is a bit exorbitant at $102!! Straddie is about $35 for 1 year.
    Still, I guess it keeps the bulk of the hoons/idiots off the beach.

Has it always been this expensive ... I seem to recall getting told it was a lot less, but that was 5 years ago.

Chisel
    As far as I can remember it used to be alot less around 65 for a year but like everything else prices go up. $100 bucks last year. As for keeping the hoons away--- not always. We had a group of yuppies camp nearby last time. Wide screen TV, DVD--- all the luxuries of home I suppose. The whole campsite was ready to shove it all in certain anatomy places around 3 in the morning. ???????
    No regard for anyone and we couldn,t even use the track as mr Yuppy parked his 4b right in the middle of it so no one could get past.

Great place to camp if you don't mind the inconsiderate disposition of some people.
    Apparently the camping area at White patch is quieter. Although it is on the passage. Maybe worth checking out at some stage.

Ronnie

Thanks to all, we live to far inland for a reckie of the area so appreciate peoples views of the different sites and alternate areas.
    Cheers Watto

Hi Watto

We camped on the furthest campsite up the beach, on the oceanside, at Christmas. I think it was number 66. Reasonably secluded, with neighbours on one side only.

Was a good site, plenty of shade and not too far from some composting loos.

mate havent camped on bribie before as i always thought you couldn,t
    have driven up there years ago ( maybe 10 )and yes the permit was 65bucks
    I to am looking at bribie beach side as an alternative to DI as am gettin sick of all the people up there at holiday time so could be doin a recky real soon to see what they have done

just as an update.... unbeknown to m good self,,,,until yesterday

day passes are no longer avail

thats right,,, you can no longer obtain a day pass on bribie,,, and its been this way for the past few years apparently,,,

i've been a yearly man,,, and most of the crew around me also,,, so i've always assumed that the """2""" prices given were for a yearly or day pass,,, not so

$32/ WEEK or $102/ YEAR

it all changed (including the exorbinant price increase) when the Caboolture Shire Council gave the passes back to the NP&WS,,, they in turn have the control over the tracks,, and upkeep,, so therefore they also control the pricing

after speaking with the local guys yesterday the event of daily becoming avail again is very remote,,, so beware,,, a few extra coins are required to obtain your pass,,, and then you need a permit to camp on top

Just a quick note and its a personal opinion, we just did a reccie this Sat of the Bribie camping areas,,, I'd personally forget the western side as heaps of Mozzies ( but facilities like toilets etc). I'd go the beach and especially the higher number camp sites, they generally seemed pretty good, good shade, views, level camping sites etc

heres some general notes for you
    Gallaghers Point (6 camp sites... mozzies... no facilities) Prime Site 1 or 3 due to size
    Poverty creek: Lots of Space, Facilities best sites 1, 9, 10 and 11, 11 the pick with the trees

Beach: Campsites 62-64 great but no facilities or fires allowed... note we did a few reccies around some of them, the best ones generally where higher numbers, the worst the lower numbers as beach exposed: Note no facilities on beach:

On the beach all id say is higher numbers seemed to have better camp sites, they got worst as you went lower numbers, but thats my opinion

hope this helps

62-64 great but no facilities
    Actually there is a brand new toilet block behind 64 as you enter a newly opened track.
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

stand corrected manchild, thanks for the info,, we didnt see it mate when we drove around it

Glad to help .That thing even got its own rainwater tank
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'