Thread: Eucumbene Trip before Christmas

Eucumbene Trip before Christmas

Hey guys, thought I'd share my photo's and experience from my recent trip to Braemar at Lake Eucumbene. Its up in the snowy mountains for those who dont know.

Myself and my uncle got up there at about 11am in the morning and decided to go for a troll for a while. We didnt catch anything for the first 2 hours as it was a really hot day and we couldnt get the tassie devils down deep enough. Then as we were heading back in to the shore my bright pink tassie got nailed by a nice 1kg rainbow. As i was taking the hook out of its mouth, my uncle decided to have a few flicks into the tree stumps hanging out of the water, within 2 casts he also had a nice 1kg rainbow.

We'd had enough of being in the boat so we decided to have a go at the bait on the shore. We weren't expecting to get many fish but to our surprise the wattle grubs we were using were liked very much by the trout. I was burlying up with chicken pellets and I'd also made up some burley balls, but i wont tell you my secret. The main thing i found about fishing off the bank is, you need to have burley to attract them into your area. We fished the bank for about 4 hours and ended up with 10 fish, this was due to them being enticed into our fishing area. There were plenty of other people around, but they were only getting the odd one every now and then. We were averaging 3 an hour.

Wattle grubs were the main bait of choice and they worked really well, we also used power bait but we didnt catch one on it.

Here's a pic of the fish we took home and also one of the lake.

Happy fishing guys

Re: Eucumbene Trip before Christmas

JoshvL,
    Great lake isn't it, I use to fish the Middling Bank area. It's a shame the lake level is down so much.

Quote Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post
    JoshvL,
    Great lake isn't it, I use to fish the Middling Bank area. It's a shame the lake level is down so much.

Hey Myles,

Yeah it is a great place to fish and such a nice view from anywhere on the lake.
    It is a real shame about the level, i was speaking to a guy from Eucumbene Lodge yesterday and he was saying the level is dropping about 1m per fortnight, that is a lot in my books.
    We have had a lot of rain but no where near enough to fill it up at the same level it is dropping. Hopefully the farmers downstream who nned the water get some good rain so they can stop draining one of the best places to fish in the mountains!

Middling Bank is a really nice place to fish as well, used to fish there as a kid with my old man. I also fish at buckenderra too and my mate has recently bought a little cabin there. Only $27,000 it cost him! Almost worth doing it myself!

Yeah I use to stay at Buckenderra, fish what I call the graves bay, I think now the abandoned house is now ocuppied. Use to also take the punters horse riding for Herbie Hain there as well. Great place to grow up, before I could drive would spend probably about 3-4 trips a year, when I got my license travel down from Sydney about every 3 weeks for a fish.

Hey JoshvL,

well done at Braemar mate. Eucumbene is certainly still firing even though the water levels are extremely low. I fish both Jindabyne and Eucumbene fairly regularly, although Jindabyne is never as consistenet as Eucumbene. Haven't fished at Braemar for many years as I normally fish out of Old Adaminaby or Anglers Reach, but this has been a tad difficult with the launching ramps as I don't own a 4x4, and most of them are a bit dicey for a normal sedan. Whats it like launching at Braemar?
    I was up at Anglers Reach about 3 weeks ago and managed 9 fish on the Saturday, all caught on tassies on lead core line! Next day the Barometric pressure was down and got none! But hey, sh.t happens eh.

Quote Originally Posted by Hot_Snappa View Post
    Hey JoshvL,

well done at Braemar mate. Eucumbene is certainly still firing even though the water levels are extremely low. I fish both Jindabyne and Eucumbene fairly regularly, although Jindabyne is never as consistenet as Eucumbene. Haven't fished at Braemar for many years as I normally fish out of Old Adaminaby or Anglers Reach, but this has been a tad difficult with the launching ramps as I don't own a 4x4, and most of them are a bit dicey for a normal sedan. Whats it like launching at Braemar?
    I was up at Anglers Reach about 3 weeks ago and managed 9 fish on the Saturday, all caught on tassies on lead core line! Next day the Barometric pressure was down and got none! But hey, sh.t happens eh.

Cheers Dave

Yeah Eucumbene still fires real well even though the levels are low, must be because all the fish are falling over each other in the one area haha.
    I havent fished Anglers Reach or Adaminaby for a while now, no reason why, just changed locations to try something different and ended up doing very well for it. Good to hear Anglers reach is still doing well though, i know the submerged trees around there can pick up some nice big fish!
    Launching the boat at Braemar was very difficult, i only own a subaru liberty sedan so getting the car and boat over the many dusty bumps was a tad hard, i scraped the car a few times but i was very eager to get the boat in, so that wasnt going to stop me! There was however quite a few other boats in the water there that had also launched there, so not sure where they did it. Not sure if I'd try launching it there now as the water has dropped even further down, we did better off the bank anyway and i still have a fair few grubs left in my freezer so might give it a try again in the next few weeks, as i hear the fish have plenty of food washed in after the rain!

Quote Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post
    Yeah I use to stay at Buckenderra, fish what I call the graves bay, I think now the abandoned house is now ocuppied. Use to also take the punters horse riding for Herbie Hain there as well. Great place to grow up, before I could drive would spend probably about 3-4 trips a year, when I got my license travel down from Sydney about every 3 weeks for a fish.

Yeah sweet, graves bay is a nice little spot when its not windy. Used to fish there a bit when we stayed at buckenderra. I reckon it would be a nice place to go horse riding too, good one

I just love fishing in the mountains, so picturesque and at night the stars are so bright its not funny! Sure beats all the lights in canberra!