PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Stanage bay????
I'm hopeful that atleast 1 of the knowledgable gents who frequent this forum can help me out on a bit of info on the area..... i'm looking at heading up to stanage for 5 days, but unfortunately my holidays are already set in concrete and it happens that the tides are rather large.....the day i would get there the high tide is in the high 5 mtrs, then it dops off through the week.....the question is am i wasting my time on these big tides or is it still worth the trip...???????
Gday mate,
I was up there 2 weeks ago for 7days. The tides were smaller at the start of our week and got bigger towards the end of the week, 6+m I think.
We found we caught more fish when the tide wasnt running, so top and bottom of the tired is the prime time. However we did find a few nice eddies and backcurrents where the run wasnt so bad and did alright. The key is to definitely find the slower moving water. A lot of water runs through that place. There is some awesome looking spots up there that just scream fish but the results werent always there for us.
We mostly trolled lures and done a bit of bait fishing.
Also be aware that you cant use the ramp at the bottom of the big tides as it gets to shallow and there are a lot of nasty rock bars in the water to that pop out at low tide. We went for a cruise around a low tide just to scope them out and know where not to go.
The fishing was a little slow when we were there but dont let that put you off as it was our first trip so we were still figuring things out at the end. We ended up with a few nice fingermark some salmon and a lots of little sharks.
The track in was in pretty good knick and considwering we got a few good dumps of rain while we were there the track out was still good.
Hope that helps
5we found the other side of the cut through productive, and you can hide from the run. just leave the cut through at half tide or you will get stuck on a rock bar!!!!(yes we did!!!) speak to tony and von when you get there, they own the bait and tackle shop, and are good friends.
Hey Lippa,
The big tides are the best for crabbing which has been good of late. Make sure you tie some extra weight( cut off bits of reo bar) in your pots or you will lose them. The best policy is to stick them well up the smaller drains etc to the left of the boatramp up the sound.
A couple of my mates got a window in the weather and ventured out to the Percy Islands( a fair run from the bay ) from there a month ago and had a fantastic trip, cleaning up on Coral Trout in the 4-5 kg range as well as 3 big Maori Wrasse( released) and Spanish Macks.
There is usually good Barra around the rock bars on the land side of Quaill Is on the bottom third of the tide and the start of the run in. You will also get solid hookups on large vermin landbased if you fish near the oyster rocks down to the left of the ramp at Plum Tree using live mullet or flesh baits.
Good Luck !!!
We did try the deep holes opposite the boat ramp a few times on the top and bottom of the tide. We used live mullet, live sprat, squid and flesh, we managed a few little cod and 2 fingermark, 1 keeper. They reckon you can pull all sorts of things out of those holes.
To find them just head out across from the boat ramp and sound around opposite the house on the other side of the bay till you find the drop offs, we found some nice looking holes there. Some got down to 30+m. Spose to be a good jew spot.
Have a yarn to Tony and Von in the tackle shop, they will give you some good advice.
Thanks for all the responses fella's.....have any of you guy's stayed at the camp grounds.... can i use my cast net up there...... what do you's think would be a realistic travel time from brissy to there.... newish navara towing a 4.1m tinny.....
Jared,
We stayed in the Pacific Oasis just opposite the camp grounds, it was great. From what I could see the camp ground was pretty basic, I dont think it had too many facilities. You can use your cast net up there, just be carefull where you throw it as there are a few hidden snags along the banks that can make a nasty mess of your net. We found live poddy mullet up the little creeks and over the mud flats, also lots of sprat, herring whatever you want to call them at night on the surface.
I would say give yourself about 10 hours to get there. I went from gladstone and it took us around 4 hours to get there. Depends on the condition of the road in to, give them the local tackle shop a call and they will let you know what condition the track is in
10 hrs sounds about right. NO water or TOILET facillities at campground. must be self suffient. the rates up there are bugger all $70 a night??????????? call von on 49373145. great people they willl look after you(if ya can get 'em outa bed!!!!!!) won't hurt to drop my name.
Cheers Lippa....I gave von a ring about accomodation, seems like an extremely nice person...100 a night, pretty good i reckon, see what happens might just go that way instead... is porter's creek part of the same camping area or is it an entirely different spot
We are heading up there as well sometime in April....dates TBC.
I have a quick question for those in the know. We have a couple of options with boats to take up there. We are thinking at the moment of taking up a 4.6m centre console, but also have a 5.3m tinnie and a big Haines at our disposal. Would the 4.6m tinnie be ok for all purposes up there?? We plan on fishing both in the creeks as well as offshore, and since there is only two of us going at this stage we figured the CC would be big enough for us, plus it's a lot easier to tow and we won't be flogging the ar*e out of a big boat on the drive in.
Has anyone got any tips on which way we should go?? Sorry to jump in on ya Jared, I was going to start a new thread but since we are after the same info I thought this could help us both.