bribie island opens up the tracks
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: bribie island opens up the tracks

Thumbs up bribie island opens up the tracks

one of the ""usual"" questions that one gets asked frequently living on bribie is

""how much access do you have with the 4b on the tracks???????""

well as we all know,, the surf side has been open for a large number of years,, but on the calm side,, access has been limited to Gallaghers Point and Poverty Creek areas only,,, which is roughly opposite Donnybrook and the local ranger stacey's use to police the area hard

Until now,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, earlier this month the access tracks have opened to allow you to get as far north as Lightening Point,,, which is just north of Coochin Creek,,

with a hundred and one spots to explore in between,,,

the last time i was up there, was when i got a tour of the top end and can only say its definitely fishy territory,, with some spots only accessible by land and not boat,,

i'm heading up for a look this sunday for an hour or so,,, its definitely 4x4 only,, but only due to the soft stuff,,, no hard 4bing required,,, AND yes you still need a permit to access

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Re: bribie island opens up the tracks

Good news Choppa. Might have to check them out soon time permitting.

Lets just hope that people dont abuse the great privelage that has just been given to them!

Might have to do a M&G there in the future!

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Quote Originally Posted by Leigh77 View Post
    Lets just hope that people dont abuse the great privelage that has just been given to them!
    i think i'm safe in saying leigh that they wont get too much of a chance,,,, the local ranger works/lives right next door to the calm side access track,,, he has a fairly good idea of the local trucks,,, and we in turn keep an eye out on those that are passing through,,,,

funnily enough,, i've heard that they originally closed the top end track due to the number of horticulturists,,, who would appear,, plant some nice plants,,, and then come back a while later and take em home again,,,,, they mustn't have much room in their own gardens i 'spose

anyway,,, i'll post a few pics after the trek on sunday

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

Do you access the tracks via the same place as the track for gallaghers and poverty creek. I might have to get myself a permit again soon from the sounds of things.

Kev

Great news mate.Does the annual permit i got cover this, or do i have to get an additional one?I could ring them i just feeling even more lazy than usual today,so i try to pick your remaining braincells
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

kev & george,,,,, the answer to both is yes,,,,,

the track to gallaghers/poverty is situated next door to the ranger station at the top of whitepatch,,, for those of you who have ventured to poverty before, they use to have bollards in the ground at the end of that part of the track,,,, they've gone,,,

george,,, good to hear from you again mate,,, permit is for entire island,, i was originally under the impression that it was only good for the surf,,, and use to sneak up to poverty,,,, (with the lights on),,,,,,,,,,,,,lol

update on track access

went for a drive up the track this morning,,, and the first thing you come across is a sign saying my info above is wrong on 2 counts

the new access road is closed again,, 'til the end of this month,,,, there're installing new toilet facilities,,, and wont allow access until there completed,,

the other point is,,, the road will now be opened as far as lighthouse reach again,,, which is a further 4-5 km's north of where i thought it finished,,,

the area around gallaghers point,, and poverty creek is still well maintained """and patrolled"",, i've always preferred poverty if you intend on camping though as this area is more like a park enviroment, with abundant camp sites and a short stroll to the water,,,, gallaghers has 6 sites that back onto bushland,, right on the waterfront,,

one point to remember,,, you need a camping permit all over bribie if you intend to camp,,,, as well as a vehicle access permit,,,

we ( need i say who was accompanying me),, wet a quick line whilst at poverty and even though i have no proof in way of a pic,,,, can honestly say that the bream and flathead that was landed in a space of 10 minutes are currently being prepared by mrs choppa for his little lordships lunch,,,,

the track up there hasn't changed,,, no need for 4x4 traction,,, theres a couple of soft spots but nothing that 4x2 can't handle

the entrance however to the new access track looks a bit softer and longer,,, but this may be due to the plant and equipment trucks that are transporting all the material to the top end

i'll keep you all posted,,, and promise to be one of the first up there once the gates are opened

Last edited by choppa; 04-03-2007 at 09:53 AM.

G'day Choppa

This lighthouse reach you speak of, Is this the lighthouse on bribie, approximatly opposite the caloundra powerboat club on the mainland?

also, is it possible to take a 12' tinny on a trailer through this track and launch it somewhere up the passage from the bank?

Quote Originally Posted by Blackened View Post
    G'day Choppa

This lighthouse reach you speak of, Is this the lighthouse on bribie, approximatly opposite the caloundra powerboat club on the mainland?

also, is it possible to take a 12' tinny on a trailer through this track and launch it somewhere up the passage from the bank?

dave,,, your a man who thinks like me,,,, hence why we done the ""exploring"" run yesterday,,,,

theres oodles of tracks that run off the main that allow this,,, but alas,, No Vehicle Access signs are posted on all of em,,,

gallaghers and poverty still have bollards in place around the end of each track in,, and hence why i'm hoping that lightning bay is going to be allowed access as you can launch from there,,

we'll have to wait and see

Thanx choppa, I await your report.

I used to hang around bribie alot in the inlets opposite bells creek during the school holidays years ago.

All i remember is mud crabs

Can't wait to get into them again

where abouts can u get a permit (4WD and camping) for Bribie from?

Does it get busy over weekends camping up that way ?
    just one more cast........

Quote Originally Posted by chiefsimo View Post
    where abouts can u get a permit (4WD and camping) for Bribie from?

Does it get busy over weekends camping up that way ?

Just google queensland parks and wildlife service, I'm sure it has a list there of where to get a permit.

Also a few places on the island you can get one

Any more news on these tracks choppa?

guys,,,, permits are easier to pick up from the caravan park store at bongaree,,,, (opposite the boat ramp near the jetty),,,, cost $107/year or you can get daily passes,,, dont forget,,, you need to also get a camping permit if you stay o/nite

as of tomorrow,, i'm in the RBWH (again),,,,,,,, for a surgery procedure that is allowing 10-15 days recouperating time,,,,,, that means one thing with new tinny in the driveway,,,, 4b with full tanks,,,, and chopjr eager to wet a line somewhere,,,,, look out for the reports,,,