Thread: Shorncliffe Pier enquiries

Re: Shorncliffe Pier enquiries

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    Yes there are some drongo's who frequent that pier at night, as Kev said
    Kev, you should take the boys down there now they have their black belts

I got mine last September so I'll join you and we can clean the place up a bit... I'd like a close reliable land based place to wet a line in the evening !!

Russ
    They both got 1st dan last grading. Unfortunately, the foster boy did a runner couple of weeks back and is no longer with us............just hope he puts the discipline he's learned to good use, sooner, rather than later. Josh is missing him as they've been together for over 7 yrs

I'd love to do more evening fishing mate, but what with tae kwon do, for one, piano lessons for another, and the deckie's late shifts, I'm lucky if I get 2 evenings a week that aren't spoke for.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

i fish there often i have been for about 2 years and it has its bad and good moments mostly bad unless your fishing for sharks. i usually use prawns peeled with the heads off and the tail on and flick it under the jetty for some bream or tailor, and i usually chuck out a pillie or a live herring, i actually somtyimes use the fillets of the herring put them on the ganged side by side and you will get a stingray, or even a tiny shark (2ft), and use a light sinker for bream, and i use no sinker for the pillie havent fished there for while because of school, but i heard by a friend that someone got murded there on wednsday or thursday , im not completly sure about this, but anyway becareful and its usful to have a knife on you just incase ,and try the techniques, and i usually go from about 3-8, somtimes if the tailor are on the bight i will stay until 11 or so, and make sure you have a fishing buddy!!!

cam
    Last edited by Cammy; 02-03-2007 at 03:55 PM.
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

the latest is that the fella was in a tinny and it overturned? dunno, thats what i heard today. either way one should be very careful after dark. cammy, i'd try and stay away from using a knife unless you really know what youre doing, besides, a formidable opponent may turn it against you, and if there's a group, you may stick one, but the rest will surely overcome you and seek retribution for sticking their mate. have seen it happen. not good. try and think of some objexts that are more creative but equally as effective - there are plenty of things you can use. but yeah, try and keep the knife outta anyone's view or they'll grab it!!! better still, leave as soon as your gut tells you to. better to be safe...

cuzza

Not only that, but as bad as getting flogged up might scare ya, in reality it doesn't happen anywhere near as often as bravado does, and living with the death of some silly bastard hanging over ya head as murder is not something to look forward to for life. Things can get out of hand quick when you make people feel they ave to protect their reputation kinda thing.

But then I do know what you mean. A bloke was raped on Coloundra beach fishing fro whiting one night about 17 years back, and a bloke who I met at my regular visitis to the pain clinic is prescribed morphine for the reat of his life because he was fishing at Skirmish point, in the middle of the day. Some clown king hit him with a steel bar , the first he knew of it was waking in the ICU at RBH. He's had serious brain surgery and suffers crippling headaches all the time now. And all it was in aid of it seems, was some bastard wanted to steal his fishing gear, and it wasn't anything flash at all either. I fish at night almost exclsuively and in reent years I've considered protection.

So, so far Shorncliffe's good for sharks, rays, bream whiting Tailor and the occassional dead human and vampires. Now that is an interesting place, and I remember it as a boreing old joint.

Actually I lived there for a couple years, and the fishing can be quet allright, as others have mentioned. I remember in the good old days when I wagged school from Banyo (30 odd years back) and caught the old timber rattler down to the jetty, the odd spotty mackeral would be caught too. Dunno about that these days now but.

If ya looking for a better chance at catching a fish, and it's bream season, maybe going down to the trawlers is more likely. I worked at Shorncliffe train stataion as a porter when I was a youngster, and we'd slip down the creek when on night shift, just using prawns and always pick up a few bream. And now days there's the mariner, gotta be a bream dream there for you guys that use soft plastics. I was there with my daughter the other day and the algae on those floating pontoons was thick as mud. Mind you, I had to get around the fence first as it's private property; but on low tide the fence doesn't go right to the water edge, and the pontoons are just right "there". But the public boat ramp is right between those mariner floaties and the trawlers, yellowfin whiting where always a big deal to be caught right from the boat ramp in times past too, again dunno about now.

The best I did for whiting (or anything) around that jetty area (and I know you still don't believe this Jim), was between 40 and 60 odd whiting on the sand flats on the sandgate side of the jetty.
    It was about 1987, it had rained heaps for a few weeks, and work had been slowed up (plastering). I lived in a place on the top of those white cliffs, and so I grabbed some worms, stretched on the waders and went out from those white cliffs, where the stairs are. I went out on low as the tide was starting to run up, and walked out until I was in line with the end of the jetty and sandgate pool. when the tide's in, that's one hell of a ways out.

I was throwing a rig with a very long trace, with a triple zero sinker, . Only managed to cast a couple rod lengths , but I was way out and the tide was running in. I was using a very light 9 foot 6 whiting rod.

Every cast was a fish, and for the week it went on, the least I picked up was 40, the most was 60 odd. I dont know how long it could have fired for, because the boss was by then fireing up as I had stopped comming to work,even though the weather had cleared up. Bugger work when there's fishing to be done. But he won in the nd and I had to leave them alone.
    They weren't all horses, most more like 24 cm, but there were some good ones amongst them.

I did it again over the next few months from time to time and managed a dozen or two at times, but never again like the first week.

I'm sure the unreal heavy rain we had was responsible. Must have flushed all the whiting out of cabbage tree creek I suppose.

rob

PS. From watching the old blokes, it seems to me the idea is right, that to not venture out too far for a decent shot at some bream. I'd reckon as far as the rubble starts on the Sandgate side maybe.
    But if you want to have a go at some choppers, I think the go is to travel out the end, and cast as if you are aiming for woody point. Blokes seem to use floats there with a half pillie, on a small gang of 2 x 3"O"s.

It used to be a gun spot for flicking up yellowtail pike too when I was a kid. Don't know if it still is (or what the heck you'd want to catch them for either really), the huge amounts of baitfish that useed to be around those jetties as a kid seem to be gone now days. Maybe I just don't get out there enough?
    Last edited by robyoung2; 03-03-2007 at 08:49 PM.

Rob, long kinda post and it seems from what I read, like you know what it's like to experience the "other side of the tracks".

The experience of fishing ain't as rosy for some as others, and sometimes the escape from the drudgeries of everyday life is really all fishing has to offer, whether you catch a feed or not.

I think I know what your post really refers to when you refer to your daughter.........times long gone and times anew...........we mature.

Nice post mate, if somewhat unnerving re the reality of life when some people feel they have something to live up to eg protecting what they consider their heritage or manhood by knocking some poor bastard on the head simply because they are different. Sorry if I have misinterpreted what you are saying here

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

[quote=kingtin;583689]They dunno the exact circumstances yet, but they found a body (of Asian appearance) in the water with a large bump on the forehead.

That might be the reason. (asian Appearance) Not meaning to be derogitive but they always take undersized fish and female and undersized crabs and frankly im sick of it maybe some 1 has taken the step in doing to him what he probly did to the small fish.

Jpart10

[quote=kingtin;584044]They both got 1st dan last grading. Unfortunately, the foster boy did a runner couple of weeks back and is no longer with us............just hope he puts the discipline he's learned to good use, sooner, rather than later. Josh is missing him as they've been together for over 7 yrs

I also do Taekwondo and id love to join you guys in the clean up mission. LOL

We didn't end up going to Shorncliffe on Friday, coz my bf rang up the Sandgate police station, and was advised againest going there for a couple of weeks by the constable as they are still doing investigations.

So we went south instead to a little jetty on a creek at Paradise Point.. I think it's called Combabah creek (?) .. caught a couple of undersize fish amongest three of us using pipis and prawns as bait, and just about when I want to call it a night, a nice lady returning from her fishing trip in a boat gave us her left over live yabbies for bait!! Now that's the first time we see live yabbies, I've only seen them in books before (yes, we are all inexperienced). As soon as we put them in water, we got hits and we managed to catch something on almost every cast!!! Still undersize fish, but that was good fun for us and although we still didn't catch anything we can take home, it was the best fishing trip we had since we caught a good size buck at Bribie during the Christmas break

Thanks everybody for all your responses, we'll definately visit Shorncliffe in a few weeks time, probably with a bigger group.

Yuffie

jpart10 - It's unfair for you to imply that all people of Asian appearance take undersize fish and female crabs. I for one have never even considered taking undersize fish and female crabs, and always take care when releasing fish to ensure survival. It's like saying all Asians are bad drivers when you've met a few who are... I admit I am not much of a driver though, so I catch the bus or let my bf who's a good driver to drive me aroud.

i would imagine during winter the shorncliffe jetty is safe enough? when i was there last year there were always a dozen or so blokes on it fishing for squid... has it changed that much in a year?

redcliffe is also a jetty i frequent in winter for bream. Has it gone the way of shorncliffe, or is it still safe?

I do a lot of night fishing, and really enjoy the quietness of fishing alone, but this is making me think maybe i should drag a mate along??