Thread: Shorncliffe Pier enquiries

Shorncliffe Pier enquiries

Hello everyone,

We will be fishing off the Shorncliffe Pier this Friday, and after trying a few months of fishing with nothing to take home, I thought we should be more prepared this time. So, I've got a few questions which I hope I will get some assistance on.. We all have light estuary gears, and would be taking some crab pots with us.

1. What can you catch off the Shorncliffe Pier?

2. What bait or SPs to use?

Anything else I should pay attention to increase my chances of catching something legal to take home for a feed?

Any help is appreciated..

Thanks in advance.

Yuffie

Re: Shorncliffe Pier enquiries

call me on. 0402592708
    i have been fishing there for a year and know much about bait fishing on the jetty.

Quote Originally Posted by kevin1987316 View Post
    call me on. DELETED
    i have been fishing there for a year and know much about bait fishing on the jetty.
    Mate, if I was you I'd delete your phone number off an open forum. I know you mean well, and that the members here are in the main, good sorts, but there are all sorts of nutters in cyberspace.

A while back someone figured my email address just from my members name and I was receiving abusive mail for weeks. Had to change my email address in the end, and yes, the "stalker" derived originally from this site.

Send any personal info by pm if you're sure about who you're sending it to.

Last edited by kingtin; 28-02-2007 at 12:36 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

mate the pier itself isnt to good but the stone wall off to the right produces good numbers of bream and whiting at dark, probablly because no one fishes off there due to lack of light but thats what makes it good. fresh bloodworms on the high end of a run in tide is always good. but if your fishing during the day ive seen a few ppl `succeed throwing HB's n SP's on the left hand side of the pier on a run in tide. they just wade in when its low becuase of all the rocks and flick n walk. lots of fish can be caught around the pier but i live just behind the cliffe and very rarely do i see anyone with good catches other than sharks and toad fish off the actual pier. if you want any more info just pm, ive lived there long enough to write a book on the area!

you'll get the occasional squid

you'll get the occasional squid from the pier as Westerly winds start.

I met a Vampire there one night a couple of years ago. There were enough other people on the pier to make me feel safe enough, that and the garlic pizza the night before. Yes, I am serious, a blood consuming daylight is bad for you person.

hey mate I only usually go there to catch squid when the weather gets colder but theres two old blokes about half way down the pier they fish with prawns and no weight just drop your bait straight down beside the pillon and hang on these 2 old fellas always nail a few really nice bream every time Im down there only go to the end and use heavier gear if you intend to catch black tip reef sharks ,good luck Snas
    THOUGHT OF THE DAY

Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
    pee on it and walk away.

I go a bit during winter, and have a go at the squid. At high tide in the cooler months at night there are good bream off the jetty. DONT go to far out. On a good high tide walk out 20 m or so from the jetty start and fish with no weight ( 20m might be to far actually. a local told me 10 - 15 max) I use chicken breast fillets. Gets through the pickers, and seems to work better

Hae fun.

Did I see on the news last night (Wed 28/02/07) that they reckon some poor bloke got bashed and thrown off this jetty ?
    They found his body washed up in the morning

Maybe thats your vampire Rick K ?

Be careful down there fellas

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    Did I see on the news last night (Wed 28/02/07) that they reckon some poor bloke got bashed and thrown off this jetty ?
    They found his body washed up in the morning

Maybe thats your vampire Rick K ?

Be careful down there fellas
    They dunno the exact circumstances yet, but they found a body (of Asian appearance) in the water with a large bump on the forehead.

Either way, it isn't a nice place to be on at night or early morning. I used to fish it early/late at least twice a week but I'll only go on there mid day now..............not that any of the pricks can handle themselves, but they're always mob handed and full of dutch courage.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Thanks everyone for all your help, hopefully I'll be able to post a report for the first time on this weekend..

btw, what about this body found washed up? I had a quick search on google, and didn't find anything... is it not safe on the pier at night?

Quote Originally Posted by Yuffie View Post
    Thanks everyone for all your help, hopefully I'll be able to post a report for the first time on this weekend..

btw, what about this body found washed up? I had a quick search on google, and didn't find anything... is it not safe on the pier at night?
    Couple of pubs in the very near vicinity and also there is quite an "itinerant" population in Sandgate, some of whom sleep in the shelter on the pier..........if they're grogged up and mob handed, it leads to trouble.

I think the vampyre was benign, except he could talk a lot.

He was drinking fish and other blood according to him, not people's and was fishing for squid. Also said he'd cured himself of cancer etc etc etc.

Maybe it was just a strategy to get a spot at the end of the pier?

There are usually heaps of people there when the squid are on, so I felt safe enough. By myself I may have been reaching for the garlic and departing.

I also heard of the body, male, early 20's, floating the other morning wearing one of those puffy vest things.

Makes you realise what happens out at certain places sometimes, just play it safe.

Yes there are some drongo's who frequent that pier at night, as Kev said
    Kev, you should take the boys down there now they have their black belts

I got mine last September so I'll join you and we can clean the place up a bit... I'd like a close reliable land based place to wet a line in the evening !!

Russ